Investigative files of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) covering Asian, Mexican, and European immigration as well as the regulation of prostitution, white slavery, and the suppression of radical immigrants.
Contains over 4 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts currently drawn from more than 3,000 journals and serials, and 180,000 books from all areas of pure mathematics, as well as applications particularly in the natural sciences, computer science, economics and engineering.
Images and descriptive data related to works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. Includes secular subjects as well as those from medieval Christian, Jewish, and Islamic culture.
Access provided by the Office of Contracts and Grants. A comprehensive database of over 1,200 public and private funding sources, including federal, state, and foundation opportunities for all academic disciplines. You must create a profile to access this resource, see: InfoED SPIN User Guide. Email email@example.com if you have questions.
Registration Required. See "more" below for more information. The American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges.
The first time you access American Energy Society, you will be asked to create an account. Register with your academic email address (@usfca.edu). With your own account, you will gain access to the resources of an organization representing over 135,000 energy professionals in every field and sector in academia, national laboratories, government, and industry in the United States and internationally. All current publications, archives, media, tools, and services are available to you through the Member Portal.
Search across multiple Gale resources, including general research databases, primary sources databases, literature databases, and more. Contains scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and other sources.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) Library is an open access, peer-reviewed platform that includes over 15,000 books and chapters in 55 different languages, predominantly in the areas of humanities and social sciences. Most books and chapters in the OAPEN Library are available for direct download without any cost or registration requirements for the user (some titles only have a portion of chapters available as open access).
OAPEN provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation with the goal of building a branded collection of OA titles, increase visibility and retrievability of these publications, and to promote open access book publishing.
Resource for automotive help, providing vehicle maintenance, repair, and technical service bulletins for most years, makes, and models. Includes step-by-step service and repair procedures; wiring diagrams; maintenance and specification tables; troubleshooting guides and diagnostic trouble codes; photos, illustrations, diagrams and multimedia (videos and animations); ASE test prep; etc.
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes. Includes hundreds of sample business plans, eBooks, as well as content from over 300 business journals and magazines.
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. This comprehensive consumer health resource includes authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Provides coverage of the most searched and studied people, built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Includes authoritative reference content alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Provides interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Includes full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
Provides access to comprehensive information regarding the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, automobile emissions, food safety, and environmental disasters.
Provides access to information about important issues of the modern world from a global perspective. Topics explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more by way of news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more. Includes millions of full-text articles that from national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant U.S. people, events and topics ranging from the arrival of the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
Provides access to literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Includes 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included.
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators. Includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. Includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Provides access to current and historical full text coverage of issues that influence women's lives across the globe. Content covers topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. Includes coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Provides access to primary source documents organized by topic, including: African American studies, American Indian studies, Asian studies, British history, Holocaust studies, LGBT studies, Latin America and Caribbean studies, Middle East studies, political science, religious studies, and women’s studies.
Reviews and criticism on literature from all eras.Full-text and excerpted criticism, essays, and reviews of literary works beginning from the date of publication, up to the present. Particularly useful for looking at the reception of a work in its own time, or to view the changing reputation of a work or author over time. Formerly called Literature Criticism Online.
Online version of the following print series:
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Literature Criticism 1400-1800
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Children’s Literature Review
Comprises the run of the renowned newsweekly (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Following an initial emphasis on China and Hong Kong, the scope of the magazine’s coverage subsequently expanded to encompass other regions and countries, including Japan, India and Australia, as well as smaller Asian states.
Includes all issues of Rolling Stone Magazine, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors who have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe.
Culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within — and about — the South Asian region. Subjects included archaeology, industry, parliamentary debates and concerns, and law case reports. Other reports include a near complete set of the Calcutta riots of 1946 and gazetteers from a range of districts and territories, providing insight into colonial India.
Substantial runs of more than two hundred journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researchers (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review, and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra.
A diverse collection of reports from colonial and post-colonial India, including volumes of the 1901, 1911, 1931, and 1951 Indian Census documents, and the near complete set of Calcutta Riots of 1946 Gazetteers from a range of Indian states such as Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharastra are also available.
An extensive range of books consisting of series such as The Bibliotheca Indica, a collection of oriental works published by the Asiatic Society of Bengal. It includes translations of the Upanishads, commentaries on Sanskrit grammatical, philosophical, and legal treatises, and such works as the Suddhikaumudi, a Sanskrit treatise on Hindu laws of defilement and purification.
Legislations, Acts, regulations, law books/cases
A myriad collection of legislations, Acts, regulations, and case documents from the colonial period, invaluable for any work on colonial Indian history.
Indian film booklets, 1930–1949
A collection of rare publicity booklets in a mixture of English, Hindi, Urdu, and Bengali, as sold outside India film theaters. Highlights from the collection include: Mukti, Street Singer, My Sister, Devdas and Sita. Each booklet includes lists of the film's cast and leading technical personnel, a plot summary, photographs of the lead actors or key moments in the film, and song lyrics.