Gleeson Library: THRS 390 Ethics of Friendship (Antokhin): Research Guide

Journal Articles and More

Ethics

Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher’s Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books since 1940.
On-Campus Link
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Full-text content is included for more than 425 journals.
Includes indexing from the Catholic Periodical and Literature Indes (CPLI).

On-Campus Link

Friendship / Relationships

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

On-Campus Link
APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Formerly called PsycINFO.
Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

On Campus Link
Communication Source
Developed from a merger of the EBSCO databases Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), this is the premier research database for Communication Studies. This comprehensive resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Communication Source features full text for more than 800 titles, including over 600 active full-text titles.

Indexing and abstracting is included for more than 1000 Core titles. Also featured is backfile coverage of top titles in Communication, reaching deep into the 20th century. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Content development for Communication Source is guided by expert advisors who are academic librarians and Communication bibliographers from leading international institutions.

On-Campus Link

Multidisciplinary Databases

Humanities Source
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, and indexing back to 1907.
The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Sourceprovides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

On-Campus Link
JSTOR
Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
On-Campus Link
Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link
Google Scholar
Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
Customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Gleeson Library subscriptions:

If you are on campus, Google Scholar should recognize you as a USF user and link you to the full text.

If you are working from an off-campus location, you will need to manually activate USF's Full Text Finder in Google Scholar Library Links:

1. Go to the Google Scholar search page.
2. In the upper left corner of the page, press the button made of three horizontal lines to open a new menu.
3. Click "Settings."
4. Select "Library links" and search for "University of San Francisco."
5. Check "University of San Francisco – Full Text Finder" in the search results, then click Save.

When you search Google Scholar, you should now see "Full Text Finder" links to the right of your results. Click on these links to check if USF has access to your article.

Books

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.

Reference Sources

Oxford Bibliographies: Philosophy
An annotated bibliography of the best scholarship in the discipline.
On Campus Link
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Open access encyclopedia maintained by scholarly experts in philosophy. Gleeson Library is a Full Contributor supporting the encyclopedia.

Research tips

Research Tips

■Start research by brainstorming keywords for your topic and write them down.

–Determine what are your key terms

–Think about synonyms and related terms

–Think about broader terms and narrower terms

■Strategize your research

–Think about what kinds of information will be helpful

–Think about who would have information about your topic

■Keep track of where you have looked

–Consider using a research log

Research Log

■Keep track of what you find

–Consider using a reference manager like RefWorks or Zotero

Searching Tips

We use boolean operators locate articles with our search terms.

The two basic boolean operators are: AND and OR

Use them to either narrow or broaden your results.

AND narrows the results: ALL search terms connected with AND must be present in the article records returned.

OR Broadens the results: ANY search terms connected with OR can be present in the article records returned.

Broaden a search by using the truncation. The truncation symbol is an asterisk (*) put it at the end of the root of the word. Example, immigra* retrieves immigration, immigrant, immigrants, immigrate, immigrates.

If your search term has more than one word, and those word must stay in that order to make sense, use quotation marks around your search term for exact phrase searching. Example: ”Global warming"

Most databases offer facets to limit your results further (typically on the left)

■To a specific date range

■to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals

■by source type (magazines, newspapers, academic journals)

THRS 390 Ethics of Friendship (Antokhin)

Philosophy Liaison Librarian

Journal Articles and More

Journal Articles and More

Ethics

Friendship / Relationships

Multidisciplinary Databases

Books

Books

Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Research tips

Research Tips

Searching Tips

Follow Us