The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Brings together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more.
Historical Collections
Delve into over 1.3 million pages of historical material from archives in the United States and Europe. The historical collections available through World Scholar provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more from sources such as:
Bauza Maps and Manuscripts Collection
Brazil's Popular Groups, 1966-1986
Coleccion De Documentos Ineditos Relativos Al Descubrimiento, Conquista Y Organizacion De Las Antiguas Posesiones Espanolas De America Y Oceania. — Madrid : M.B. de Quyros, 1864-1884
Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825
Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record, Series 1: The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts, Parts 1-7
Latin American and Iberian biographies
Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera
Papers of Agustin de Iturbide, 1799-1880
Topics
The content-rich Topic pages in World Scholar bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources to provide context through authoritative subject overviews, primary sources, studies and reports, academic journals, multimedia, and more. Vetted by our advisory board, the editorially-crafted Topic pages cover countries in the region (e.g. Chile), people (e.g. Hugo Chavez, Simón Bolívar), commerce and industry (e.g. Petroleum Industry), history (e.g. Archaeology), politics (e.g. China-Latin American Relations), and more.
In addition to the Topic pages, World Scholar contains thousands of other, diverse resources that comprehensively cover the breadth of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Series 1 & 2: Key historical newspapers published in Latin America and the Caribbean between 1805 and 1922. Coverage features significant titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps. This is only thanks to the archives and libraries that were open to the idea and provided their online content.
The David Rumsey Map Collection contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
An annotated bibliography of the best scholarship in the discipline.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Brings together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more.
Series 1 & 2: Key historical newspapers published in Latin America and the Caribbean between 1805 and 1922. Coverage features significant titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps. This is only thanks to the archives and libraries that were open to the idea and provided their online content.
The David Rumsey Map Collection contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.