New Books
Introduction to CRISPR-Cas9 Techniques: Strategies for the Laboratory and the Classroom
This textbook offers a comprehensive introduction to CRISPR-Cas9 technology, covering its fundamentals and applications across various biological model systems. Edited by experts in molecular biology and education, it guides students in understanding and ethically using CRISPR-Cas9 in research and classroom settings. Designed for undergraduates and advanced high school students in molecular biology, genetics, genomics, and bioengineering, the book serves as an ideal resource for both learners and instructors, providing clear explanations and practical teaching tools for integrating CRISPR-Cas9 into the curriculum.
The Risks and Ethics of Human Gene Editing: A Philosophical Guide to the Arguments
The Risks and Ethics of Human Gene Editing: A Philosophical Guide to the Arguments explores the ethical and philosophical challenges of editing the human germline—heritable changes to embryos or germ cells. The book maps the current scholarly debate, critically examines key arguments, and considers whether germline editing is uniquely problematic or justifiable in certain cases. Applying an ethics of risk perspective, it advocates for a morally cautious approach to human gene editing. This guide is essential for anyone seeking a clear, balanced overview of the complex risks and ethical questions surrounding the future of human genetic modification.
Crop Biofortification: Biotechnological Approaches for Achieving Nutritional Security under Changing Climate
Crop Biofortification provides a current, comprehensive overview of strategies to enhance crop nutrient levels—using plant breeding, agronomic practices, and biotechnology—to address global hunger. The book details advanced methodologies, omics technologies, and climate change impacts on biofortified crops, aiming for sustainable food production. It guides researchers, policymakers, and students in agronomy, plant sciences, and biotechnology, offering practical approaches to increase food’s nutritional value and support a 70% boost in global food production by 2050. This timely resource is vital for anyone committed to combating malnutrition and food insecurity worldwide.
Biotechnology, Gestation, and the Law
Biotechnology, Gestation and the Law offers the first comprehensive ethico-legal analysis of emerging gestational technologies like uterus transplantation and ectogestation. Elizabeth Chloe Romanis explores how these innovations challenge traditional concepts of gestation, parenthood, and gender, using a framework grounded in ontology, phenomenology, politics, and law. The book examines ethical and legal questions about access, parenthood, and the classification of procreative technologies, highlighting how such advances could reshape gender roles and reproductive rights. Romanis calls for legal and social reform to address the harms of gendered assumptions in procreation and considers the future of reproductive technology regulation.
Mushroom Biotechnology for Improved Agriculture and Human Health
This book explores the transformative potential of mushroom biotechnology in addressing global food insecurity and health challenges. It highlights recent advances in using mushrooms for sustainable agriculture, enhanced nutrition, pest and disease management, and the discovery of novel bioactive compounds with pharmaceutical applications. The volume offers practical, adaptable methodologies and detailed insights into maximizing the benefits and profitability of mushroom biotechnology. An essential reference for researchers in agriculture, microbiology, biotechnology, and pharmaceutical sciences, the book demonstrates how mushrooms can drive innovative, sustainable solutions for food, health, and environmental sectors.
Patenting Life: Tales from the Front Lines of Intellectual Property and the New Biology
Patenting Life explores how the rise of genetic engineering in the 1970s transformed biologists into inventors and entrepreneurs. Goldstein recounts legal battles over patented organisms, crops, and gene-editing technologies like CRISPR, as well as issues of ownership and access to life-saving treatments. The book highlights both the benefits and controversies of biotechnology patents, from breakthrough drugs to genetically modified crops and global medicine access. With firsthand stories and expert analysis, “Patenting Life” offers a compelling look at how patent law shapes scientific innovation and is essential reading for those interested in biotechnology, innovation, and the law.
Microbial Colorants: Chemistry, Biosynthesis and Applications
Microbial Colorants: Chemistry, Biosynthesis and Applications offers a comprehensive overview of microbial pigments, detailing their sources, chemistry, biosynthesis, and wide-ranging applications in food, cosmetics, textiles, and technology. The book addresses extraction methods, production enhancement, environmental sustainability, and regulatory issues, highlighting microbial colorants as eco-friendly alternatives to synthetic dyes. Covering both scientific and practical aspects, it provides valuable insights for researchers, students, and industry professionals seeking sustainable solutions and innovations in pigment production and use. This volume is an essential resource for anyone interested in the science and industry of natural colorants.
Diatom Cultivation for Biofuel, Food and High-Value Products
Diatom Cultivation for Biofuel, Food and High-Value Products explores the scientific, economic, and technical aspects of harnessing diatoms for sustainable solutions. It examines innovative cultivation reactors, harvesting methods (e.g., chitosan flocculation, “bubble farming”), and genetic engineering tools like CRISPR-Cas9 to boost lipid yields for biofuels. The book also highlights diatom applications in bioremediation, functional foods, and industrial materials, alongside challenges in scaling production and ethical considerations. With insights into stress-induced lipid enhancement, nano-biorefineries, and heavy metal cleanup, this guide is a vital resource for researchers in phycology, bioengineering, environmental science, and nutrition seeking eco-friendly energy and product innovations.
Applied Biotechnology and Bioinformatics: Agriculture, Pharmaceutical Research and Environment
Applied Biotechnology and Bioinformatics: Agriculture, Pharmaceutical Research and Environment is a comprehensive reference exploring the latest technologies and multidisciplinary advances in biotechnology and bioinformatics. Covering applications in agriculture, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, and environmental management, the book highlights gene editing, drug development, crop improvement, and bioremediation. It emphasizes the crucial role of bioinformatics in analyzing complex biological data for innovation in disease management, sustainable agriculture, and clean energy. Ideal for researchers and professionals in biotechnology, bioinformatics, and related fields, this book provides practical insights into next-generation solutions for real-world challenges.
Stand Out with Your Scientific Poster: A Step by Step Approach
This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to making a scientific poster that has real impact. Are you a researcher who struggles when it comes to creating scientific posters? Or do you simply want to get better at it? This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to making a poster that has real impact to ensure you stand out from the crowd at your next poster fair. A practical guide that gives you answers to questions like: what to put on a poster (and mainly: what not to)? How do you come up with a title that immediately grabs people's attention? What are the best images to use? How many words can you include on your poster? And much, much more... Everything you need to get started step-by-step and quickly achieve the best result.
Our Future Is Biotech: A Plain English Guide to the Next Tech Revolution
“Our Future is Biotech” posits biotechnology as the next revolutionary industry, poised to address humanity’s most pressing biological challenges. The book highlights biotech’s potential to solve major health issues, enhance quality of life, and tackle environmental problems. It showcases the industry’s achievements in developing breakthrough treatments and emphasizes its future impact on various aspects of human existence. The authors aim to raise awareness about biotech’s progress and opportunities, positioning it as the successor to the tech revolution in driving human advancement and offering potential for investment.
DNA Logic Design: Computing with DNA
DNA computing uses DNA strands to solve computational problems, storing information in bases A, T, C, and G instead of binary 1s and 0s. This approach offers advantages like dense data storage, parallel computation, and energy efficiency. The book “DNA Logic Design: Computing with DNA” explores this field, covering basics, fundamental operations, and translating various logical designs into DNA computing. It discusses arithmetic and combinational circuits, sequential circuits, memory devices, programmable logic devices, and nano processors. The book also includes heat and speed calculation techniques, providing a comprehensive overview of this innovative intersection between biology and computer science.
Bioresources and Bioprocess in Biotechnology for a Sustainable Future
This volume reviews achievements in bioprocess and biosystems engineering, biosynthesis, food, agriculture, and biotechnology-related issues. Considering the fact that biological alternatives can replace harmful chemical products in order to maintain ecosystems for a sustainable future, the book covers the role of biotechnology in industrial products, environmental remediation, and agriculture biotechnology, with updated research and case studies.
Trends in Plant Biotechnology
This book offers a comprehensive overview of plant biotechnology advancements, focusing on molecular biology techniques that enhance conventional breeding methods. It explores tools for developing resilient and biofortified plants, and covers various aspects of secondary metabolite production in medicinal plants. The text delves into topics such as pathway engineering, transformation, elicitation, and bioreactor scaling. It also addresses often-overlooked factors in developing stress-tolerant plants and specialized plant products. This resource serves as an up-to-date reference for researchers, students, and professionals in agriculture and pharmaceuticals, providing valuable insights into modern plant biotechnology applications.
Algal Biotechnology: Current Trends, Challenges and Future Prospects for a Sustainable Environment
This comprehensive book explores the multifaceted world of microalgae and algal biotechnology. It covers key topics such as bioremediation, nanotechnology applications, and the use of algae as biofertilizers and sources of bioactive compounds. The text delves into algal-omics, large-scale bioprocesses, and environmental impacts. It highlights algae's potential in sustainable practices, including bioplastic production and phycoremediation. The book addresses cultivation challenges and is tailored for graduate students and researchers in fields like biotechnology, renewable energy, and environmental science.
Medicinal Plants: Biodiversity, Biotechnology and Conservation
This comprehensive volume explores the current status, sustainable use, and conservation of endangered medicinal plants. It covers conventional and biotechnological approaches to biodiversity preservation, addressing the decline in plant diversity due to human activities and environmental factors. The book provides in-depth reviews on ecology, species diversity, and genetic diversity, as well as assessments of threats to medicinal plants. It also discusses advancements in conservation research and future perspectives. With contributions from recognized scientists, this 25-chapter work is valuable for students, researchers, policymakers, and industries involved in medicinal plant research and biodiversity conservation.
Superconvergence: How the Genetics, Biotech, and AI Revolutions Will Transform Our Lives, Work, and World
In "Superconvergence," futurist Jamie Metzl explores the transformative impact of emerging technologies like AI, genome sequencing, and gene editing on our world. Metzl argues that these rapidly advancing and interconnected technologies have immense potential to improve lives but also pose significant risks. He highlights the critical challenge of our time: the gap between our exponentially growing technological capabilities and our limited ability to understand and manage their implications. Metzl's interdisciplinary approach offers a unique perspective on our technological future, providing readers with a comprehensive overview of the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.
Mutant Ecologies: Manufacturing Life in the Age of Genomic Capital
Mutant Ecologies explores how capitalism is reshaping life through advancements in genomic science and biotechnology. The book maps the changing landscapes of capital accumulation driven by innovations like CRISPR crops, genetically modified animals, and humanized organisms. These developments, emerging from corporate and academic labs, aim to enhance capital flows across sectors such as agriculture and pharmaceuticals. While hailed as a new epoch in life sciences, the authors argue these technologies perpetuate capitalist competition and exploitation. Capitalism now designs the internal metabolism of living organisms, driving a biological revolution that impacts global ecosystems and everyday life.
The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race
Walter Isaacson's book chronicles Jennifer Doudna's journey from a curious sixth-grader to a Nobel Prize-winning scientist who co-discovered CRISPR, a revolutionary gene-editing tool. Despite discouragement, Doudna pursued her passion for understanding nature and making groundbreaking discoveries. The book explores the intense competition in scientific research and the moral implications of CRISPR technology. Isaacson highlights how this innovation marks the beginning of a life-science revolution, potentially allowing us to cure diseases, create vaccines, and even enhance human traits. The author also delves into the ethical questions surrounding these advancements, making it a compelling read about science and its impact on society.
Building Backwards to Biotech: The Power of Entrepreneurship to Drive Cutting-Edge Science to Market
"Building Backwards to Biotech" by Stephanie A. Wisner demystifies the process of creating successful biotechnology startups. Wisner introduces the concept of "Building Backwards," a strategy that increases the likelihood of success, guides capital raising, strengthens clinical and scientific strategies, and mitigates risks from the outset. The book explains how medicines and vaccines enter the market, why they're expensive, and how biotech startups can thrive. Wisner emphasizes the potential of entrepreneurship to drive cutting-edge science to market, ultimately saving and enriching lives by addressing previously untreatable diseases. This guide aims to make biotech entrepreneurship more accessible to those interested in bringing innovative medical solutions to the world.
Breaking Through: My Life in Science
Katalin Karikó's memoir "Breaking Through" chronicles her remarkable journey from a humble upbringing in communist Hungary to becoming a Nobel Prize-winning biochemist. Despite facing numerous obstacles, including derision from colleagues and threats of deportation, Karikó persevered in her research on messenger RNA. Her unwavering belief in mRNA's potential led to the development of COVID-19 vaccines, saving millions of lives. The book highlights Karikó's determination, resilience, and dedication to science in the face of adversity. It serves as an inspiration and a testament to the power of perseverance in scientific research, while also critiquing the culture of prestige and privilege in academia.
Editing Humanity: The CRISPR Revolution and the New Era of Genome Editing
Kevin Davies' "Editing Humanity" explores the revolutionary gene-editing technology CRISPR, which allows scientists to modify DNA with unprecedented precision. The book delves into CRISPR's potential to eradicate hereditary diseases and disabilities, while also addressing the ethical concerns and risks of misuse. Davies provides an engaging narrative that follows scientists at the forefront of CRISPR research and patients whose lives could be transformed by this breakthrough. He examines the far-reaching implications of this technology, from the controversial "CRISPR babies" in China to its potential impact on future generations.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
This encyclopedia explores the role of theories in STEM disciplines, examining how they shape understanding and learning in these fields. It delves into the construction, evolution, and significance of theories, highlighting their importance in unlocking the mysteries of the world. The work features over 200 expert-authored articles, organized thematically with a Reader's Guide. Each entry includes further readings, cross-references, and a Resource Guide listing key books, journals, associations, and websites. This comprehensive reference provides valuable insights into the theoretical foundations of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Being Human in STEM: Partnering with Students to Shape Inclusive Practices and Communities
This book presents the Being Human in STEM Initiative (HSTEM), a model for creating inclusive environments in undergraduate STEM education. Born from student protests at Amherst College, HSTEM challenges assumptions about who belongs in STEM fields. The authors provide a framework for developing HSTEM courses, evaluating inclusive change initiatives, and adapting the model to various institutions. The book offers strategies for making any course more inclusive through active listening, validation, and reflective practice. It emphasizes the importance of institutional culture shifts and provides resources for educators to implement these changes. Each chapter includes reflective questions and practical exercises to foster inclusivity in STEM classrooms and laboratories.
Book summaries composed with AI-assistance.