Humanities Mellon Scholars

Gleeson Library provides several practical and concise YouTube tutorial videos to help you with your research and navigating the library website.

A library database is an organized and searchable collection of electronic information. It offers access to a wide range of resources, including articles, eBooks, images, and more, many of which are not freely available on the open internet. These databases are curated and often require a subscription or institutional access.

Subject Databases: these databases are subject-specific resources helpful for in-depth subject exploration.

Multisubject Databases: these databases cover various subjects and are typically the first step in your research.

This is a short list​ of interdisciplinary databases. To view the complete list available through the ​G​leeson Library, visit our A-Z Databases link! 

• FUSION: a multidisciplinary database that allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library's books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog, Ignacio, as well as the content of most of our databases.
• JSTOR: a digital library that provides access to a wide range of scholarly content, including journals, books, and primary sources. Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes the Archive Collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Public Health Journals, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
• ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE: a database designed specifically for academic institutions, is among the most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
• PROJECT MUSE: hundreds of full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences.
• PUBMED: a database that provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations primarily drawn from MEDLINE, as well as publisher-supplied citations, in-process and "ahead-of-print" citations.
• SCOPUS: the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features innovative tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
• ERIC: the world's largest source of education information, contains more than a million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.