The 17 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
-
UN Sustainable Development Goals ResourcesA collection of resources about each of the Sustainable Development Goals, presented by the United Nations.
-
SDG Knowledge HubNews, analysis, and events around the SDGs, compiled by the International Institute for Sustainable Development.
The Sustainable Development Goals in Business
-
How Your Company Can Advance Each of the SDGsActions that companies and stakeholders can take to support the SDGs.
-
SDG CompassSelect Full Publication to read tips and strategies for incorporating the SDGs into business practices.
-
The Global Goals are in BusinessExplains that businesses and companies are a key part of achieving the SDGs. Here you will find projects, Business Avengers (top supporters of the SDGs), and ideas for getting started as a business owner or an employee.
-
The SDGs Explained for BusinessInformation and resources about how companies can support the Sustainable Development Goals.
-
Ethical ConsumerThis website out of the UK details sustainability actions in a number of industries. Use these ideas to match with SDGs and your company's actions.
Company Information from the Company Itself
Company's web site: Start with the company’s web site; look for Investor Relations, About the Company, etc. There may be a CEO message, or you can also find mission statements, values, financial information, and other information to help you analyze the company’s strategies.
EDGAR the web site of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). In the US, public companies must file information with the SEC. A 10-K is the annual filing a company must make. Type your company name or Ticker symbol into Company and Person Lookup and select your company from the list.
Company Information from Outside Sources
-
ProQuest One Business
A comprehensive business database containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal. Formerly called ABI/INFORM Collection -
Mergent Market Atlas
Provides in-depth information about public companies, industries, countries, and more. Formerly called Mergent Online.
Library Databases for Sustainable Development Goals Research
-
Access World News
Through nearly 7000 news sources, find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more. -
Statista
Easy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts. -
ProQuest One BusinessA comprehensive business database containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal. Formerly called ABI/INFORM Collection
-
Business Source Complete
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Citing Your Sources
Whenever you do research, you will need to cite the information sources that you use. Most business scholars use APA style. Here are some tools that can help you with this task:
Gleeson Library's guide to citations: How? Why? When?
Tip: Look for citation tools within the databases that you use! These can be so helpful in helping you formulate your citations and works cited/bibliography. NOTE: Sometimes there are errors in these database-created citations, so it is a good idea to review them before submitting your paper/project/slides!!!
-
APA 7th Edition Citations for Business SourcesAn excellent guide to using APA 7th edition style for popular business sources. Scroll through the guide to find an example for the business source you are using in your research. Compiled by librarians Naomi Schemm, Marcia Dellenbach, Zachary Grisham, Marianne Hageman, Natalia Tingle, Matt Trowbridge, and Amanda Wheatley
-
Citing Business Databases in APA: Michigan State University GuideThis guide was created to help with citing some common business databases
-
Citing Business Databases from the University of North Carolina at GreensboroThis guide has some additional business database examples in APA style.
-
MLA Business Citations: Youngstown State UniversityScroll down the page to see citations for specific business web sites, reports, and databases cited in MLA style.
-
Purdue OWLOur favorite style guide web site is the OWL from Purdue University.
-
RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.
Getting Help!
There are several ways to obtain assistance with your research. Read on!
You have your very own librarian! She is Penny Scott, and you can contact her for help.
Her contact information is: email: plscott@usfca.edu * phone: 415-422-5389
It is best to email ahead, or make an appointment, to make sure she is available! Appointments are available virtually via Zoom, or in person, and are great for groups or individuals. If you don't see a time that works for you, email Penny.
If Penny is not available, or any time you need help, you can always get help, just Ask a Librarian!
You can also take a look at our Research Guides on many topics!