Photograph Collections
Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar
Library of Congress
In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's most well-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese-Americans interned there during World War II.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
Library of Congress
Collection from the Records of the National Woman's Party depicts the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members.
Rosetti Studios, Stanley Park Collection, University of British Columbia Open Collections
This small collection of sixty glass plate negatives created by Rosetti Photographic Studios document Vancouver's Stanley Park in 1912.
China Through the Eyes of CJM Missionaries, Hong Kong Baptist University Archives
Hand-tinted glass lantern slides, glass plate negatives and plastic negatives contain images of portraits, landscapes, scenery and architecture in China as well as shots documenting the social conditions and economic activities of the Chinese from the 1900s to the 1930s.
Poster Collections
Berkeley 1968-1973 Poster Collection, University of British Columbia
The UBC Library’s Rare Books and Special Collections holds 250 posters concerned with the advocacy for peace, equality, and harmony during the Vietnam War era from the University of California's Berkeley campus and other regions in the San Francisco Bay Area.
Poster Collection of La Bibliothèque municipale de Lyon
The poster collection includes more than 1000 pieces produced between 1890 to 1950, including great masters of the poster (Chéret, Toulouse-Lautrec, Cappiello, et al) and a large set of posters from the First World War.
Museum Collections
Narodni Muzeum e-Collections-Cultural Heritage Online
Narodni Muzeum’s eCollections: Cultural Heritage Online is a presentation portal used for searching and browsing digitized collections of museum items. The collection has over 49,000 digitized items from 47 Czech museums.
Bookplate Collections
Trapalanda Digital Library, Argentina
The National Library of Argentina owns the most important collection of bookplates in the Americas, with 26,000 original pieces.
Manuscript Collections
Greek Catholic Diocese of Aleppo
This manuscript contains the canons of the Synod of ‘Ain Traz, which was convened in 1835 by Patriarch Maximos III.
The Bodleian Library Medieval Manuscripts Collection, Oxford Digital Library
Over 1100 images of medieval (and a few later) manuscripts are offered for browsing, in date order. They are taken from the Library's filmstrips and slide collection, and include illuminations and text-pages.
Other Digital Collections
A Boston University Guide for African Digital Collections
Digital collections on Africa that are openly accessible on the Internet
The Commons
Hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives and cultural heritage institutions.
Europeana
An aggregator of content from many digital contributors in Europe.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films
Oxford University Digital Collections
Wide array of materials from the University and associated cultural institutions including the Ashmolean Museum, Bodleian Library, Queen Elizabeth House, and more
Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance
Thirty-one academic libraries surrounding the Pacific have joined together to improve access to scholarly resources.
A Princeton LibGuide of Collected Digital Collections from Latin America, Spain, and Portugal
Guide to Internet portals and digital libraries compiled by expert librarians at Princeton University
The Tibetan and Himalayan Library Collections
Contains audio and video collections, Tibetan texts, 60,000+ images, and maps.
The World Digital Library
Library of Congress project. carried out with the support of UNESCO in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from 193 countries.
African Rock Art Digital Archive
The goal of the Ringing Rocks Digital Laboratory and The African Rock Art Digital Archive (SARADA) is to digitise rock art collections on the African continent, conveying the importance of protecting and preserving the continent's rich archaeological heritage, and facilitating ongoing research and interest in its fascinating past.
The Bodleian Library. Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, Oxford Digital Library
The John Johnson Collection is one of the largest and most important collections of printed ephemera in the world. It offers a fresh view of British history through primary, uninterpreted printed documents which, produced for short-term use, have survived by chance, including advertisements, handbills, playbills and programmes, menus, greetings cards, posters, postcards.
Pablo Neruda, 1904-1973
Mi alma es un carrusel vacío en el crepúsculo
(My Soul is an Empty Carousel at Twilight)
One of the most important poets of 20th century world literature. The influence of his life and work transcends the literary field, permeating all fields of popular culture and academic, political and social history of the country.
Casanatense Library
Historia Plantarum (On plants) is a natural science encyclopedia, in which animals, plants, and minerals are illustrated and described for their medicinal properties.