Articles and News
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more. To find trade journal articles in Hospitality and Tourism Complete: Once you are in this database, and you have typed in your search words, scroll down the screen until you see Publication Type, and under that heading select Trade Publication. Then click the Search button. - ProQuest One Business
Includes citations and summaries and full text from about 1000 business periodicals that contain company and industry information, as well as products, services and notable people. Useful for hospitality news and trends, industry and company information, some industry and company reports. To find trade journal articles in ABI/Inform Complete: Once you are in this database, and you have typed in your search words, scroll down the screen and under Source Type select Trade Journals. Then click the Search button. - Business Source Complete
Offers full-text articles for more than 2150 titles including the Harvard Business Review. Also provides country reports, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analyses. Useful for hospitality news and trends, industry and company information, some industry and company reports. To find trade journal articles in Business Source Premier: Once you are in this database, and you have typed in your search words, scroll down the screen until you see Publication Type, and under that heading select Trade Publication. Then click the Search button. - Access World News
Through nearly 7000 news sources, find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more. - Nexis Uni
Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
More than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Industry Information
- Hospitality & Tourism CompleteYou can find global industry reports with this database too. On the main search screen, type in your industry word (hotel, tourism, etc.) then below the search box find the Publication Type area and select Industry Profile from the list. Once you have a list of results you can sort them to Date Newest.
Company Information
- PrivCo
Registration Required. See "more" for access information. PrivCo.com is a source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. - Nexis UniReplaces LexisNexis Academic.
More than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Topic Overviews
- Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Statistics and Data
- Statista
Easy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts.
Professional Associations
These are great for finding out what people in the profession or industry area are reading and thinking about, as well as current trends, events, and training. For many associations, some of the content is freely available, while other content is available to members only. To find industry associations, try these tools:
Encyclopedia of Associations This ebook allows you to search for associations that are based in the United States, in a variety of categories.
Association Directory This is a freely available web site that allows you to search for professional and industry associations by region, category, state, and more.
Google A simple search for your area of interest (hotels, food service, event planning, etc.) with the word association or organization will lead you to professional association web sites.
Citing Your Sources
Whenever you do research, you will need to cite the information sources that you use. Most business scholars use APA style. Here are some tools that can help you with this task:
Gleeson Library's guide to citations: How? Why? When?
- APA 7th Edition Citations for Business SourcesAn excellent guide to using APA 7th edition style for popular business sources. Scroll through the guide to find an example for the business source you are using in your research. Compiled by librarians Naomi Schemm, Marcia Dellenbach, Zachary Grisham, Marianne Hageman, Natalia Tingle, Matt Trowbridge, and Amanda Wheatley
- Citing Business Databases in APA: Michigan State University GuideThis guide was created to help with citing some common business databases
- Citing Business Databases from the University of North Carolina at GreensboroThis guide has some additional business database examples in APA style.
- MLA Business Citations: Youngstown State UniversityScroll down the page to see citations for specific business web sites, reports, and databases cited in MLA style.
- Purdue OWLOur favorite style guide web site is the OWL from Purdue University.
- RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.
Getting Help!
There are several ways to obtain assistance with your research. Read on!
You have your very own librarian! She is Penny Scott, and you can contact her for help.
Her contact information is: email: plscott@usfca.edu * phone: 415-422-5389
It is best to email ahead, or make an appointment, to make sure she is available! Appointments are available virtually via Zoom, or in person, and are great for groups or individuals. If you don't see a time that works for you, email Penny.
If Penny is not available, or any time you need help, you can always get help, just Ask a Librarian!
You can also take a look at our Research Guides on many topics!