Streaming Video Collections
Search our licensed streaming video collections by title or find videos and segments with full-text transcript searching.
Faculty, to request video orders please see our guide to streaming videos and media for faculty.
- Alexander Street VideoEducational videos for a variety of disciplines. To see the video collections USF subscribes to, open the menu on the Alexander Street website and select "Collections." The individual subject collections are also described below.
- DocuseekDocuseek provides exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Women Make Movies, Good Docs, Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and KimStim.
- Films On DemandFilms On Demand delivers more than 90,000 educational online videos ideal for students and faculty.
- Filmakers Library OnlineFilmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- PBS Video CollectionThis collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides a range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.
Subject Video Collections
- Films on Demand: Allied HealthThis collection will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby. The videos include titles from trusted producers such as Medcom-Trainex, Elsevier, NEVCO, Center for Phlebotomy Education, InJoy Health Education, Classroom Productions, and others.To support online learning, Infobase has made this collection freely accessible temporarily.
- Art and Architecture in VideoArt and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.
- Asian Film OnlineAsian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of hundreds of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
- Black Studies in VideoContains over 500 hours of seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. Black Studies in Video features the SNCC Legacy Video Collection, a series of over fifty hours of formal addresses, panel discussions, and programs that took place at the 50th anniversary conference and reunion commemorating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.
- Counseling & Therapy in VideoThis series contains more than 2,500 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
- Dance Online: Dance in VideoDance in Video is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos—comprising 500 hours of high-caliber content.
- LGBT Studies in VideoA cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
- Media Education Foundation CollectionThe films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
- Music Online: Opera in VideoOpera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
- Nursing Assessment in VideoNursing Assessment in Video is an online database that provides anywhere, anytime access to the best-selling assessment series of training videos from Medcom Trainex, acclaimed provider of nursing education programs worldwide. Each title features leading industry experts providing hands-on demonstrations and step-by-step instructions in key assessment areas. And because all content was produced since 2012, users can depend on the collection to deliver the most accurate, up-to-date information available.
- psychotherapy.netPsychotherapy.net features the richest and most diverse collections of high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction. The majority of the videos show therapists actually conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post session discussions.
Free and Open Access Video and Sound Collections Online
A selection of freely available digital audiovisual collections on the Internet. Note that these collections may change or be taken down without notice.
- Alan Lomax ArchiveThousands of hours of field recordings, radio programs, lectures, film, video, and photographs of the world's traditional music and musicians by musicologist, writer and producer Alan Lomax.
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingHistoric programs of publicly funded radio and television across America, a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH.
- American Indian Film Gallery"Over 450 films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, ranging from a 1922 silent newsreel to pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking, after World War II, allowing for study of Native representation from outside and inside indigenous communities across the Americas over nearly a century." -- from aifg.arizona.edu.
- American RhetoricCollection of text, audio, and video versions of thousands of speeches, sermons, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded events. Includes sections for Christian rhetoric, "Top 100 Speeches," "Rhetoric of 9-11," speeches from movies, and more.
- Annenberg LearnerVideo courses and multimedia resources for teaching and learning. Some courses are designed for use of K-12 teachers and others are for college and adult learners.
- BBC Sound Effects16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for personal, educational or research purposes. For commercial use, you can license the sound effects.
- Black Film ArchiveCollection with links and descriptions of currently streaming Black films made between 1910 and 1979. Many of the films may be viewed free, though some are available only through paid services.
- British Library SoundsThe British Library’s public collections of unique sound recordings come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
- C-SPAN Video LibraryStreams over 250,000 videos that focus on government and politics, dating back to 1976.
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryPrimary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. Media types include a variety of texts, sound recordings, photographs and moving image works.
- DCEFFEnvironmental Film Festival in the Nation's Capital presents over 300 past festival selections online, including many that are viewable free of charge.
- DIVA"DIVA is an open digital collections archive built and managed at San Francisco State University. ... From unique artifacts from the 1968 Student Strike to thousands of videos from the Bay Area Television Archive to poetry readings from the past and cutting-edge present, DIVA collections bring to life the campus commitment to social justice and our place in the San Francisco Bay Area community." -- diva.sfsu.edu.
- EVIA: Ethnographic Video for Instruction and AnalysisDigital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors, who are required to register for a free account.
- FolkstreamsDocumentary films by independent filmmakers and folklorists showcasing American traditional cultures.
- The Mike Wallace InterviewNationally televised prime-time interviews with prominent authors, scholars, entertainers and politicians, televised in the U.S. from 1957 and 1958.
- Moving Image Archive from the Internet ArchiveMostly unrestricted access to digitized collections of moving images. Includes many thousands of clips from the TV News Archive, the Prelinger Archives of ephemeral (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films, diverse feature films, shorts, documentaries and silent films, and historical Cultural and Academic Films dating back to the Edison Company in 1901.
- NASA Image and Video LibraryNASA’s entire library -- over 140,000 images, sounds and videos -- is publicly accessible, searchable, downloadable, and copyright-free. NASA also has a fun giphy channel at https://giphy.com/nasa/.
- National JukeboxSound recordings dating from 1910 to 1929 from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Find vocal and instrumental music and spoken word recordings by artists such as singer Enrico Caruso, Broadway legend Al Jolson, whistling virtuoso Charles Kellogg, composer and band leader John Philip Sousa, and thousands more.
- National Screening RoomThe National Screening Room showcases the riches of the vast moving image collection of the Library of Congress, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to viewers worldwide.
- NFB.ca, the National Film Board of CanadaThe National Film Board of Canada's online Screening Room includes over 4,000 films -- documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. It showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance -- the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
- Open Health CollectionsOpenly licensed audio, video, data, image, software, and text collections and tools for health sciences from organizations such as Doctors Without Borders, IRC, National Institutes for Health, and the Global Health Media Project. Subjects include clinical skills, clean water and hygiene campaigns, bedside manner, newborn care, and more.
- San Francisco Bay Area Television ArchiveThe San Francisco Bay Area Television Archive preserves much of the Bay Area's rich television history on film and broadcast video. As archive videos are remastered, they are made available online for free.
- Science CinemaVideo and audio files from the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
- TIB AV-PortalA portal for scientific videos from the realms of technology/engineering, architecture, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, and physics. Developed by the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB). Some of the films may be viewed, downloaded and distributed online; some may not, depending on the terms by which the licensor has made the film available to TIB.
- UbuWebA wide-ranging source of avant-garde film, video, sound, digital texts and technical resources concerning avant-garde and experimental media. Includes thousands of full-length films and videos, and many kinds of sound art.
- UNESCO Digital ArchiveDigitized collections af film, video, sound recordings and photographs covering a wide range of activities of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) from 1945 to the present.
- United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumFilm, audio and video documenting the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators and others, including documentary footage as well as oral history videos.
- USC Optical Sound Effects LibraryThe Internet Archive hosts this collection of over 1000 digitized tapes of sound effects for movies, TV shows, radio, and more, collected by a prominent sound editor who worked in the Hollywood movie industry for 44 years. The fragile optical elements were donated to USC and transferred to tape in the early 1970s.