Online Museum Collections and Image Databases
You can search Online Museum Collections and Image Databases to find quality, high resolution images of works of design that you're studying.
Check out the "Digital Museum Collections" page of the Free Art, Design, and Museums Resources Guide to find a list of digital museums collections that you can search for images and information.
- Artstor
Artstor features an unparalleled range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor has moved to JSTOR. Registration on JSTOR is required to access your personal Workspace to save images and articles, organize your saved items with folders, share folders, and export your research. - Official Museum DirectorySearchable database of over 15,200 museum listings based on numerous criteria including institution name, location, category, personnel names, attendance, and keyword. Only one user can access this resource at a time. There is a slight delay when logging in. Resource does not work well on Firefox browser.
- The Eames Archive
Ray and Charles Eames’s boundless curiosity and passion for problem-solving drove a practice that spanned furniture, architecture, film, exhibition design, and more. Located in Richmond, California, the Eames Archives holds one of the world’s most significant Eames collections—40,000+ objects, including industrial designs, prototypes, ephemera, tools, and personal items the pioneering design duo created and collected.