The Library's special collections are housed in the Donohue Rare Book Room, and feature more than 17,000 items including books, manuscripts, photographs, drawings, engravings, and other artworks.
Access to Collections
Special Collections materials are available to students, staff, faculty and the University Community; non-affiliated patrons and researchers may access the collection by calling the Rare Book Room in advance to schedule an appointment.
- Special Collections and University Archives materials do not circulate.
- Only pencils may be used in the Rare Book Room. Pencils are available from staff.
- The Rare Book Room is for use by Library patrons using special collections material and is not intended for study hall use.
- Photocopying of special collections material may be available at a cost of 50 cents per page.
The Donohue Rare Book Room is on the 3rd floor of the library and is open Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m..
Materials located in the Donohue Rare Book Room are cataloged in the Online Catalog. To request material located in the Rare Book Room, record the title and call number and take it to the Rare Book Room, where staff will retrieve the item for you.
- Donohue Rare Book Room Reopening Celebration
- Time for a Study Break? Get Lost in the Rare Book Room
- Open Mic Poetry Reading
- Library Faculty Reading
- Richard Greggory Johnson III Reading
- Walls Exhibition
- Read A Rare Book This Summer
- From the Archives: Bill Cosby
- Annick Wibben Reading
- Dean Rader Poetry Reading
- Poetry Month
- California Native Wildflowers
- Library Program on Black Nationalism
- Follow the Yellow Brick Road
- David Vann Reading
- Student Curated: Illustrated Books
- Arthur Szyk Program on April 14
- Program on Black Womanhood
- Two Recent Acquisitions
- Chertsey Breviary Digitized
- Muir Manuscripts Digitized
- Galleons and Globalization
- Baseball in the Rare Book Room
- Ernest Hemingway
- Exhibition of Mezzotints
- Remembering Fauno Cordes
- Printing on the RBR Hand Press
- New Digital Collections: Eric Gill
- Program: Seven Wonders of the World
- RBR on Flickr
- Hand Bookbinders Exhibition