Suggested Resources on the Politics of Popular Music
- Political Science CompletePolitical Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product.
- Project MUSEHundreds of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- JSTORFull text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection. To support online learning, JSTOR has made additional journal and primary source archival collections, 26 public health journals and over 6,000 articles related to COVID-19, openly accessible through June 30, 2023.
- Humanities SourceHumanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, and indexing back to 1907.
- Google ScholarArticles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
Library of Congress and the Songs of America
Songs, videos, and essays about historical and political topics, social movements, and popular song throughout American history.
Music Collections Online
Mostly free digital collections on the Internet.
- Alan Lomax Sound ArchivesOver 17,000 digital audio files, beginning with musicologist Lomax’s first recordings onto tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. In addition to a wide spectrum of musical performances from around the world, it includes stories, jokes, sermons, personal narratives, interviews conducted by Lomax and his associates, and unique ambient artifacts captured in transit from radio broadcasts, sometimes inadvertently, when Alan left the tape machine running.
- Audio Archive from the Internet ArchiveDownload or stream tens of thousands of free music and audio recordings that includes popular music from Old Time Radio Hour to the Grateful Dead, from the early 20th century to the present day.
- DIVA"DIVA is an open digital collections archive built and managed at San Francisco State University. ... From unique artifacts from the 1968 Student Strike to thousands of videos from the Bay Area Television Archive to poetry readings from the past and cutting-edge present, DIVA collections bring to life the campus commitment to social justice and our place in the San Francisco Bay Area community." -- diva.sfsu.edu.
- Music and Social Justice Resources ProjectThe Society for Ethnomusicology’s Music and Social Justice Resources Project is a repository of material on how people worldwide are currently using music to address issues of social conflict, exclusion/inclusion, and justice.
- National JukeboxSound recordings dating from 1910 to 1929 from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Find vocal and instrumental music and spoken word recordings by artists such as singer Enrico Caruso, Broadway legend Al Jolson, whistling virtuoso Charles Kellogg, composer and band leader John Philip Sousa, and thousands more.
- UbuWebA wide-ranging source of avant-garde film, video, sound, digital texts and technical resources concerning avant-garde and experimental media. Includes thousands of full-length films and videos, and many kinds of sound art.
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicSubscription database from USF Gleeson Library, an online resource of expert research and high quality audio recordings from all over the world.
- DocuseekDocuseek provides social-issue and environmental films from leading documentary film distributors.
- Filmakers Library OnlineFilmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- Films On DemandFilms On Demand delivers more than 90,000 educational online videos ideal for students and faculty.
- Media Education Foundation CollectionThe films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.