Linking to Library Resources
What is a Permalink?
Permalinks are the easiest way to link to library resources in Canvas, course syllabi, reading lists, websites, and email. A permalink (also called a persistent link, permanent link, stable link, static link, or durable link) is a URL or web address that will consistently point to a specific library resource, such as a full-text article, ebook, ejournal, streaming video, database, or record in a database.
For specific formats, also see the following:
Why should I use permalinks?
- URLs or links that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's databases are often temporary and will not link back to the original source when accessed later.
- Licensing restrictions require the library to ensure that only current USF students, faculty and staff access our subscribed e-resources. To comply with this restriction, the library uses an identity and access management service called OpenAthens to authenticate users. The library's OpenAthens proxy prefix is added to many permalinks. After clicking on a permalink that includes the OpenAthens prefix you will be asked to login using your MyUSF username and password in order to access the resource.
- Linking to licensed library resources in Canvas, syllabi, and course reading lists is copyright-compliant. Linking is recommended over posting digital copies of the full text of an article, a book chapter, or an image.
- Each time a library resource is accessed, a use is counted. The librarians review usage statistics and consider usage when making decisions about journal or database cancellations.
- Databases often offer better resolution, text-to-speech, and easy-to-read fonts. They also usually work better with screen readers than PDF documents.
How Do I Create a Permalink?
Many databases have an option for creating a permalink. In most cases you can simply click a permalink button to generate a permalink, and copy and paste the URL to access later. Some databases and other resources such as journals, do not offer permalinks. In other instances, permalinks generated in library databases lack our OpenAthens prefix and may result in blocked access (hitting a paywall) or going through extra steps to access the resource.
For both of these cases, you will want to add the library's OpenAthens proxy prefix to resource links to create your own permalinks. This is a process called Athenizing links. Links from EBSCO, Gale, ProQuest, Kanopy, and O'Reilly resources do not need to be Athenized. These resources are exceptions to Athenized links.
How do I Athenize links?
Use the OpenAthens Link Generator to create Athenized permalinks to library resources:
- Go to OpenAthens Link Generator.
- Input a direct, stable publisher or vendor-provided URL for the article, ebook, or video you would like to link to in the box and press enter.
- Click "Copy" to copy the generated OpenAthens link.
- Use the copied URL to link to the resource.
Be sure to test your links before sharing.
As a reminder, Athenized links start with the prefix https://go.openathens.net/redirector/usfca.edu?url=.
This is not an Athenized link: https://www-chronicle-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/article/the-fafsa-isnt-fixed-for-everyone.
To convert this to an Athenized link, you will need to convert the link above to a direct publisher link first and then Athenize it:
https://www-chronicle-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/article/the-fafsa-isnt-fixed-for-everyone
New link to input into the OpenAthens Link Generator:
https://www.chronicle.com/article/the-fafsa-isnt-fixed-for-everyone
Athenized link to share:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/usfca.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.chronicle.com%2Farticle%2Fthe-fafsa-isnt-fixed-for-everyone
Linking to Library Databases
The easiest way to obtain a permalink to a database is on the Databases A to Z page.
- Click the share icon to the right of each database.
- Copy the URL that appears in the pop-up box.
Linking to eBooks and Streaming Videos
Each record in Ignacio: Library Catalog has its own permalink.
Click the Permanent Link button in your selected record. The permalink for that record will appear in the browser address bar and you may copy and use that link.
Linking to Journals
In Journal Finder, search for your journal (the "Exact match" search option usually yields best results). You can create a permalink for a result list by copying and saving the URL in your browser bar.
If you want to link to a specific publication, click View details in each entry to see a detailed record.
Copy the web address URL from your browser bar and paste it to save or share as a permalink. Alternatively, you can create a permalink to a publication detail record by shortening the URL and dropping additional parameters, following this pattern: https://publications.ebsco.com/details/{kbid}?custid=s3818721&groupId=main&profileId=pfui
As an example:
https://publications.ebsco.com/details/41824?alphamenufacet=&count=20&custId=s3818721&groupId=main&highlightTag=&includeFacets=true&offset=1&orderBy=relevance&profileId=pfui&resourceTypeOptionSelected=1%2C6%2C2&search=journal%20of%20nursing%20education&searchField=titlename&searchtype=exactmatch&subjectFacetSchemaFilter=library%20of%20congress
could be shortened to:
https://publications.ebsco.com/details/41824?custID=s3818721&groupID=main&profileid=pfui
