Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harmful Language Statement

Glossary

Catalog: A comprehensive list of the books, periodicals, maps, and other materials in a given collection, arranged in systematic order to facilitate retrieval (usually alphabetically by author, title, and/or subject). In most modern libraries, the card catalog has been converted to machine-readable bibliographic records and is available online.

Catalog record: An entry representing a specific item in a library catalog or bibliographic database, containing all the data elements necessary for a full description, presented in a specific bibliographic format. In modern cataloging, the standard format is online, but prior to the use of computers, the traditional format was the catalog card.

Classification: The process of dividing objects or concepts into logically hierarchical classes, subclasses, and sub-subclasses based on the characteristics they have in common and those that distinguish them.

Finding aid: A published or unpublished guide, inventory, index, register, calendar, list, or other system for retrieving archival primary source materials that provides more detailed description of each item than is customary in a library catalog record. Often a finding aid places archival resources in context by consolidating information about the collection, such as acquisition, processing, or provenance, including administrative history or biographical notes.

Metadata: Literally, "data about data." Structured information describing information resources/objects for a variety of purposes.

Subject heading: The most specific word or phrase that describes the subject, or one of the subjects, of a work, selected from a list of preferred terms (controlled vocabulary).

Glossary source: Reitz, Joan M. (2014) ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. https://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/ Retrieved April 19, 2022.

Published September 27, 2022

Ask A Librarian