Encyclopedias
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to performances in playhouses, it covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions. Entries range from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres and movements.
Plays and Videos
Finding Plays
To find plays and playscripts at Gleeson, go to:
- Gleeson's Catalog Ignacio
- Click the Advanced Search link
- Under Enter Search Terms, select Genre/Form from the drop down menu on the left and enter PLAYSCRIPTS
- You can limit your search by adding additional search terms. Try changing the drop down menu to TITLE and entering the specific title of a play. Alternately, you can change the drop down menu to keyword, and search for a general word like "women" which might return plays by or about women, for example.
- Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.
Videos
To search across all of Gleeson's videos, use this link. (You can request that we mail you DVDs, if available)
To search across all of Gleeson's STREAMING videos, use this link.
- Films On Demand
Films On Demand delivers more than 90,000 educational online videos ideal for students and faculty. - Music Online: Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. - Dance Online: Dance in Video
Dance in Video is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos—comprising 500 hours of high-caliber content.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming video service that provides an excellent selection of films. Gleeson Library only provides access to a few faculty requested films through Kanopy because it is a very expensive service. However, many public libraries provide access to Kanopy, so if you have a local public library card, you can see if your library carries Kanopy and use the streaming service through them.
San Francisco Public Library does carry Kanopy. All residents of San Francisco can apply for a San Francisco Library Public Library Card.