Gleeson Library: THRS 357 Performing Texts from Religious Literature (Antokhin): Performing Texts from Religious Literature (THRS 357)

Introduction

This guide provides resources for professor Andrei Antokhin's class: Performing Texts from Religious Literature (THRS 357) This page focuses on resources specific to the assignments in that classs. On the left are pages for general theology and religious studies and that that focus on particular religions, and/or themes.

The thematic pages are under construction. More resources are being added and new thematic pages are being created. Please schedule an appointment if you need assistance finding resources for your topic.

Journal Articles

Journal article search tips

When looking for a specific text or an article: Enter the full title in the first search box. Select Title as the search type. The search types are typically in a drop down menu on the right of the search box. (Usually the search type defaults as a keyword search.)

When looking for articles about a specific text: Put the full title in quotation marks in the first search box. Select keyword as the search type. additional search boxes can be used to narrow to articles focused on the text and specific themes.

When you have found a good article, review the bibliography for other possible good sources. Alternatively you can use Google Scholar and its cited by feature to locate articles that cite the article you originally found.

If we do not have a specific article you are looking for, use Inter Library Loan

Religion Article Databases

EBSCO Religion
Ebsco Religion allows you to search the following databases simultaneously:
ATLA Religion Database
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Index to Jewish Periodicals
New Testament Abstracts
Old Testament Abstracts
On-Campus Link
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Full-text content is included for more than 425 journals.
Includes indexing from the Catholic Periodical and Literature Indes (CPLI).

On-Campus Link

Humanities Article Databases

Humanities Source
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, and indexing back to 1907.
The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Sourceprovides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

On-Campus Link
JSTOR
Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
On-Campus Link

Miltidiciplinary Databases

Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link
Google Scholar
Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
Customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Gleeson Library subscriptions:

If you are on campus, Google Scholar should recognize you as a USF user and link you to the full text.

If you are working from an off-campus location, you will need to manually activate USF's Full Text Finder in Google Scholar Library Links:

1. Go to the Google Scholar search page.
2. In the upper left corner of the page, press the button made of three horizontal lines to open a new menu.
3. Click "Settings."
4. Select "Library links" and search for "University of San Francisco."
5. Check "University of San Francisco – Full Text Finder" in the search results, then click Save.

When you search Google Scholar, you should now see "Full Text Finder" links to the right of your results. Click on these links to check if USF has access to your article.

Books

Book Search Tips

I recommend starting your search with Ignacio. Ignacio is the catalog of books held by Gleeson Library. The next step is searching Link + a consortium of 40 libraries in California, we can get the item in about 3 days. If you want to search for books that exist on a topic use World Cat. World Cat is a Union catalog, in other words, the catalog of thousands of libraries all at once. Once you have identified a book in World Cat, see if we have it in either Ignacio or Link+. If not available through these systems use Inter Library Loan. Books via Inter Library Loan take longer than articles or book chapters so plan ahead.

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.
Link+
Search across more than 60 libraries in California and Nevada, and request available books to be delivered to Gleeson Library in 2-4 business days. LINK+ was cancelled at the end of spring semester 2024. More information.
WorldCat
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.