PHIL 253 Problems in Democracy (Parris) -02

PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms (7,366 preferred and 10,175 non-preferred terms), to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.

On-Campus Link

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

On-Campus Link

Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

On Campus Link

Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:

• If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
• If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
• If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
• I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
• Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.

So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link

Customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Gleeson Library subscriptions:

If you are on campus, Google Scholar should recognize you as a USF user and link you to the full text.

If you are working from an off-campus location, you will need to manually activate USF's Full Text Finder in Google Scholar Library Links:

1. Go to the Google Scholar search page.
2. In the upper left corner of the page, press the button made of three horizontal lines to open a new menu.
3. Click "Settings."
4. Select "Library links" and search for "University of San Francisco."
5. Check "University of San Francisco – Full Text Finder" in the search results, then click Save.

When you search Google Scholar, you should now see "Full Text Finder" links to the right of your results. Click on these links to check if USF has access to your article.

Sources include a variety of current and retrospective news media: newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.

Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Access World News includes many California News Sources including the current San Francisco Chronicle.

On Campus Link

ProQuest Congressional provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting of Congressional publications, CIS legislative histories, and bill tracking. It includes the full text of Congressional reports, documents, prints, bills, the Congressional Record, selected testimony in hearings before Congress, Public laws, Statutes at Large, the United States Code Service, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. It also provides information about members of Congress, Congressional committees, and recent legislative activities and public policy issues in the news.

Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.

Collections Include:

Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983-1988
Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
The Philippines: U.S. Policy during the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations, and Management, 1947-1989
U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
U.S. Nuclear Non-proliferation Policy, 1945–1991
Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
U. S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs, and Democracy: 1980-2000
US Intelligence Community after 9/11
The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
The United States and The Two Koreas, 1969-2000
The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
US Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis, and Covert Action
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970-1990
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
Electronic Surveillance: From the Cold War to the War on Terror
CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975

Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

On-campus link