Campus Resources
This guide was created in collaboration with Student Disability Services to celebrate Disability Awareness Week. It is a compilation of library and community resources on disability. Whether you need support or would like to learn more about the lives of disabled people, USF and Gleeson Library have resources available. From graphic memoirs and instructional works of fiction to educational texts, a myriad of Disability Studies and Disability Justice resources are available in our collection.
- Counseling and Psychology Services (CAPS)CAPS provides mental health services to USF students, including brief therapy, single session therapy, groups, workshops, consultations, crisis services, mental health referrals, outreach, and education.
- Disabled Student UnionThe purpose of the Disabled Student Union is to create an environment for education, community, and advocacy for those who resonate with themes of disability pride.
- Student Disability Services (SDS)SDS assists USF students in obtaining reasonable accommodations and auxiliary aids. SDS also provides assistance with issues related to on-campus housing, accessibility, transportation services, and advocacy.
- Universal Design for Learning ToolkitThis toolkit is a living resource and guide for faculty, staff, and students who want their course, program, event, work, or website to be accessible to users of all abilities.
- Working Group on Universal AccessComprised of faculty, staff, and students, this group aims to create a culture of universal access by sharing best practices, educating the campus community, and connecting ongoing community efforts towards universal access through a central hub.
Books
Below is a selection of books available from Gleeson Library - new titles are forthcoming.
Academic Ableism by Academic Ableism brings together disability studies and institutional critique to recognize the ways that disability is composed in and by higher education, and rewrites the spaces, times, and economies of disability in higher education to place disability front and center.
Disabled Faculty & Staff: Intersecting Identities in Higher Education (Volume 2) by In this second volume of DISABLED, coeditors Mary Lee Vance, PhD and Elizabeth G. Harrison, PhD have curated a collection of writings by 28 contributing authors who have provided personal narratives of what it is like to “work while disabled” in higher education.
Black Disability Politics by In Black Disability Politics Sami Schalk explores how issues of disability have been and continue to be central to Black activism from the 1970s to the present. Schalk shows how Black people have long engaged with disability as a political issue deeply tied to race and racism.
Care Work: Dreaming Disability Justice by Discussing subjects such as the creation of care webs, collective access, and radically accessible spaces, Leah Piepzna-Samarasinha imparts her own survivor skills and wisdom based on her years of activist work, empowering the disabled - in particular, those in queer and/or BIPOC communities - and granting them the necessary tools by which they can imagine a future where no one is left behind.
Crip Kinship: The Disability Justice & Art Activism of Sins Invalid by Crip Kinship explores the art-activism of Sins Invalid, a San Francisco Bay Area-based performance project, and its radical imaginings of what disabled, queer, trans, and gender nonconforming bodyminds of color can do: how they can rewrite oppression, and how they can gift us with transformational lessons for our collective survival.
Demystifying Disability: What to Know, What to Say, and How to Be an Ally by An approachable guide to being a thoughtful, informed ally to disabled people, with actionable steps for what to say and do (and what not to do) and how you can help make the world a more inclusive place.
Disability Visibility by Activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people,just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
DisCrit: Disability Studies and Critical Race Theory in Education by In this groundbreaking volume, scholars examine the achievement/opportunity gaps from both historical and contemporary perspectives, as well as the overrepresentation of minority students in special education and the school-to-prison pipeline.
Haben: The Deafblind Woman Who Conquered Harvard Law by The incredible life story of Haben Girma, the first Deafblind graduate of Harvard Law School, and her amazing journey from isolation to the world stage.
Unmasking Autism by A deep dive into the spectrum of Autistic experience and the phenomenon of masked Autism, giving individuals the tools to safely uncover their true selves while broadening society's narrow understanding of neurodiversity.
Graphic Novels
Below are selections that include graphic novels purchased with the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) Collection Equity Award granted to Gleeson Library in 2023. The full list of titles purchased with the NNLM Collection Equity Grant can be found in our catalog with the keyword phrase "nnlm collection equity."
Dancing after TEN by In late 2004, Vivian Chong's life was changed forever when a rare skin disease, TEN (Toxic Epidermal Necrolysis), left her with scar tissue that would eventually blind her. As she was losing her sight, she put down as many drawings on paper as she could to document the experience. In Dancing After TEN, Chong teams up with cartoonist Georgia Webber -- whose graphic autobiography, Dumb, chronicled her own disability -- to trace her journey out of the darkness and into the spotlight.
Mis(h)adra by An Arab-American college student struggles to live with epilepsy in this starkly colored and deeply-cutting graphic novel. Based on the author's own experiences as an epileptic, Mis(h)adra is a boldly visual depiction of the daily struggles of living with a misunderstood condition in today's hectic and uninformed world.
A Quick and Easy Guide to Sex and Disability by This easy-to-read guide covers the basics of disability sexuality, common myths about disabled bodies, communication tips, and practical suggestions for having the best sexual experience possible. Whether you yourself are disabled, you love someone who is, or you just want to know more, consider this your handy starter kit to understanding disability sexuality, and your path to achieving accessible (and fulfilling) sex
