New Books
Reentry: SpaceX, Elon Musk, and the Reusable Rockets That Launched a Second Space Age
SpaceX, founded by Elon Musk in 2002, has become the dominant force in the modern space industry, launching more payloads into orbit than all other companies combined. “Reentry” by Eric Berger chronicles the untold story of the diverse team behind SpaceX’s success. The book details their journey from a shaky startup to a game-changing spaceflight company, overcoming numerous challenges including launchpad explosions, technical issues, and Musk’s demanding management style. It highlights key innovations like reusable rockets and ambitious goals such as sending NASA astronauts to space and potentially colonizing Mars. The narrative showcases how SpaceX’s innovative approach and perseverance reshaped the space industry.
The Odd Quantum
“The Odd Quantum” by Sam Treiman offers a concise yet comprehensive introduction to quantum mechanics for non-experts. Treiman, a renowned physicist, explains the field’s core concepts, including its probabilistic nature, the uncertainty principle, and wave-particle duality. He explores how particles can exist in multiple states simultaneously and move through seemingly impenetrable barriers. The book delves into quantum field theory, discussing particle indistinguishability and creation/annihilation. While addressing deep philosophical questions, Treiman maintains accessibility, combining scientific rigor with engaging prose to illuminate the strange and fascinating world of quantum physics.
Archimedes: Fulcrum of Science
Archimedes of Syracuse, revered by scientific giants like Galileo and Newton, was a groundbreaking mathematician and engineer in 212 BCE. Nicholas Nicastro's reimagining dispels the myth of an aloof, physically inept figure, portraying Archimedes as ambitious, competitive, and combative. This ancient polymath challenged an empire with his intellect, possessing knowledge that surpassed Europe's understanding for nearly two millennia. Nicastro presents Archimedes as the world's first truly modern scientist, a genius whose work laid the foundation for transformative discoveries centuries before his intellectual successors reshaped our understanding of the world.
The Elements of Marie Curie: How the Glow of Radium Lit a Path for Women in Science
Marie Curie, the only person to win Nobel Prizes in two scientific fields, was a pioneering physicist and chemist who revolutionized our understanding of radioactivity. Dava Sobel's biography not only highlights Curie's groundbreaking research but also her personal life, including her role as a professor, mother, and wartime volunteer. The book explores Curie's lasting impact on science and her inspiration to generations of women scientists. Sobel uniquely frames Curie's story alongside the achievements of her female protégés and her daughter Irène, showcasing the far-reaching legacy of this remarkable scientist who broke barriers in a male-dominated field.
From Nuclear Weapons to Global Security: 75 Years of Research and Development at Sandia National Laboratories
Sandia National Laboratories, originally focused on nuclear weapons development, has evolved into a multifaceted scientific institution addressing complex global security challenges. This book traces Sandia's history from its World War II origins to its current role as a leader in innovation. It covers pivotal events that shaped national security missions, including the Sputnik launch, Vietnam War, energy crises, Cold War's end, and 9/11. The narrative highlights Sandia's adaptability and its contributions to various fields beyond weapons, encompassing economic, energy, environmental, and nonproliferation issues. The book serves as a comprehensive resource on Sandia's technological developments and its crucial role in ensuring US and global security.
Eruptions on the Sun
This book explores solar eruptive phenomena, the primary sources of space weather disturbances. It covers the Sun's role in human history, its structure, and the drivers of solar activity. The text delves into solar magnetic fields, their characteristics, and their role in energy release during flares, prominence eruptions, and coronal mass ejections (CMEs). Particular attention is given to prominences and filaments as potential CME progenitors, discussing their equilibrium and stability. The book highlights the importance of predicting CME arrivals for space weather forecasting and presents measurable characteristics that indicate a prominence's proximity to instability. Rich in illustrations and scientific references, it serves as a valuable resource for astrophysicists, solar physicists, geophysicists, and students in related fields.
Hidden in the Heavens: How the Kepler Mission's Quest for New Planets Changed How We View Our Own
The Kepler space telescope mission, led by NASA, revolutionized our understanding of exoplanets and planetary systems. Jason Steffen, a former Kepler scientist, provides an insider's account of the mission in "Hidden in the Heavens." The telescope discovered thousands of diverse planets orbiting distant stars, including rocky worlds, super-Earths, sub-Neptunes, and gas giants. These findings challenged centuries of theoretical and observational work. Steffen details the mission's progress from launch to data analysis, offering insights into the science team's work and interactions. The book highlights Kepler's significant contributions to answering the fundamental question: Are we alone in the universe?
Quantum Drama: From the Bohr-Einstein Debate to the Riddle of Entanglement
The Bohr-Einstein debate of 1927 on quantum theory's interpretation became one of science's most famous discussions. It questioned the limits of scientific understanding of physical reality. As physics shifted to post-war America, the debate was sidelined. However, physicists like Bohm and Bell revived it, proving its relevance to real physics. Their work led to breakthroughs in quantum entanglement, spawning new fields like quantum computing and cryptography. The 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics recognized these efforts. While experiments advanced the debate, the fundamental questions remain unresolved, ensuring ongoing scientific discourse on the nature of reality.
Escape from Shadow Physics: The Quest to End the Dark Ages of Quantum Theory
"Escape from Shadow Physics" by Adam Forrest Kay challenges the prevailing interpretation of quantum mechanics, which suggests reality is dependent on human observation. Kay argues for a more intuitive understanding of quantum phenomena, drawing on Einstein's skepticism and recent research with oil droplets. These droplets exhibit quantum-like behavior while obeying classical physics, potentially bridging the gap between classical and quantum realms. Kay proposes a revolutionary view of quantum mechanics that aligns with a predictable, observer-independent reality, potentially reshaping our understanding of the universe.
Accidental Astronomy: How Random Discoveries Shape the Science of Space
"Accidental Astronomy" by Chris Lintott explores the serendipitous nature of astronomical discoveries. Lintott argues that luck plays a crucial role in astronomy, as many significant findings occur unexpectedly. The book highlights the importance of constant observation and global collaboration between professionals and amateurs to capture fleeting celestial events. Lintott's engaging writing style and humor make complex concepts accessible, while emphasizing the wonder of the universe. This celebration of astronomy showcases how chance encounters with the cosmos shape our understanding of the night sky.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The 105th Edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics offers expanded coverage across various scientific disciplines. Key updates include new data sets in x-ray analytical chemistry, critical compilations of metal-carbon and metal oxyanion transition data, and revised datasets for water properties. The edition features 369 topics with 771 data tables and figures, including 8 new topics and 26 major updates. It provides reliable, traceable data on over 20,000 compounds, covering atomic elements, isotopes, and common properties. New sections focus on environmental chemistry and solid-state chemistry and physics, enhancing its value for research, industry, and modeling applications.
Putting Ourselves Back in the Equation: Why Physicists Are Studying Human Consciousness and AI to Unravel the Mysteries of the Universe
George Musser's "Putting Ourselves Back in the Equation" explores the intricate connection between physics, consciousness, and the pursuit of a unified theory. The book delves into how observation affects both quantum mechanics and cosmology, necessitating an understanding of human consciousness to fully grasp the universe. Musser examines the potential synergy between neuroscience and physics, suggesting that insights from each field could inform the other. By interweaving quantum mechanics, cosmology, consciousness, and artificial intelligence, the author presents a compelling argument for the interdependence of theories of everything and theories of mind.
Her Space, Her Time: How Trailblazing Women Scientists Decoded the Hidden Universe
"Her Space, Her Time" by Shohini Ghose celebrates overlooked women physicists and astronomers who revolutionized science and society. The book explores various scientific topics, highlighting how women like Henrietta Leavitt, Margaret Burbidge, Mary Golda Ross, Marietta Blau, Hertha Wambacher, and Bibha Chowdhuri made groundbreaking discoveries in areas such as the Big Bang, cosmic calendar, space exploration, and subatomic particles. Ghose weaves together their stories of scientific innovation and overcoming invisibility, showcasing their contributions to physics, astronomy, and the advancement of women in science. This accessible and inspiring book illuminates the critical roles played by these trailblazing women in shaping our understanding of the universe.
Dialogue on the Two Greatest World Systems
Galileo's "Dialogue on the Two Greatest World Systems" is a seminal work defending the Copernican theory that the Earth orbits the Sun. This new translation presents Galileo's lively Italian prose in clear modern English, making it accessible to contemporary readers. William Shea's introduction and notes provide context on Galileo's career and the scientific and philosophical background of the text. This Oxford World's Classics edition offers a comprehensive package for an informed reading of Galileo's masterpiece, including accurate text, expert introduction, helpful notes, and up-to-date bibliographies.
Grace in All Simplicity: Beauty, Truth, and Wonders on the Path to the Higgs Boson and New Laws of Nature
"Grace in All Simplicity" is a captivating exploration of humanity's quest to understand the physical world. Authors Cahn and Quigg interweave tales of inspiration, tragedy, and triumph, connecting recent discoveries like the Higgs boson, dark matter, and dark energy with revolutionary findings from centuries past. The book takes readers on a journey from the infinitesimal to the infinite, showcasing how scientists push the boundaries of knowledge through innovative instruments and original thinking. It celebrates the curiosity, diligence, and daring of both past and present scientists, offering a thrilling voyage through the world of physics and astronomy.
A Quantum Life: My Unlikely Journey from the Street to the Stars
A Quantum Life chronicles Hakeem Muata Oluseyi's extraordinary journey from a troubled youth in impoverished neighborhoods to becoming a renowned astrophysicist. Born James Plummer, he navigated poverty, violence, and racism while nurturing his genius IQ and passion for science. Adopting the persona of a "gangsta nerd," he balanced street life with academic pursuits. At Stanford, he confronted personal demons and institutional barriers, ultimately embracing his African heritage and seizing his dream in astrophysics. This inspiring memoir showcases the power of perseverance and intellect in overcoming adversity.
Superheavy: Making and Breaking the Periodic Table
"Superheavy" explores the fascinating world of creating new elements beyond uranium. This challenging process involves using massive machines to fuse atomic nuclei, with success rates so low it's like hitting a needle in a haystack with a bullet. The book delves into the history, politics, and scientific breakthroughs surrounding superheavy elements, including their role in atomic bombs and the race to discover new ones. From Cold War rivalries to modern international collaborations, it reveals the human stories behind these elemental quests, showcasing how nuclear science has shaped our world and pondering its future implications.
In a Flight of Starlings: The Wonders of Complex Systems
Giorgio Parisi's "In a Flight of Starlings" explores complex systems through the lens of bird flocks. The Nobel Prize-winning physicist uses this unconventional approach to illuminate principles applicable to various fields, from atoms to human societies. Parisi reflects on his scientific journey, emphasizing the role of serendipity in discovery and the interconnectedness of physics with other disciplines. He advocates for the importance of scientific inquiry in society and brings the practice of science out of the laboratory and into everyday life. The book combines scientific insights with personal reflections, offering readers a unique perspective on the wonders of the natural world.
Quantum Supremacy: How the Quantum Computer Revolution Will Change Everything
As microchips approach atomic scales, traditional computing faces limitations. Enter quantum computers, which harness atomic properties for unprecedented computational power. These revolutionary machines promise to transform industries, from automotive design to medical research. Their potential applications are vast: cracking encryption, enabling a second Green Revolution, developing super batteries, designing fusion reactors, and unraveling protein folding for disease treatment. Quantum computers may even help solve the mystery of the universe's origin. Dr. Michio Kaku, a quantum theory expert, enthusiastically explores this scientific frontier and its implications for humanity's future in his book.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
This encyclopedia explores the role of theories in STEM disciplines, examining how they shape understanding and learning in these fields. It delves into the construction, evolution, and significance of theories, highlighting their importance in unlocking the mysteries of the world. The work features over 200 expert-authored articles, organized thematically with a Reader's Guide. Each entry includes further readings, cross-references, and a Resource Guide listing key books, journals, associations, and websites. This comprehensive reference provides valuable insights into the theoretical foundations of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
The Lost Scientists of World War II
This book tells the stories of scientists from Germany and other European countries who vanished during World War II. These erudite scholars contributed to diverse scientific fields and were associated with some of the world's leading universities and research institutions. Despite their proficiency, they all sought help from agencies to relocate to the UK in the 1930s, but were unable to secure the necessary assistance.The Lost Scientists of World War II explores the fascinating narratives of thirty of these scientific refugees, delving into the reasons behind the unavailability of aid and presenting fresh insights into the tragic fates or astounding survival experiences of these individuals.
The Alladi Diary: Memoirs of Alladi Ramakrishnan
Alladi Ramakrishnan's autobiography chronicles the life of this renowned physicist and son of Sir Alladi Krishnaswami Iyer, a key figure in drafting India's Constitution. The book details Ramakrishnan's upbringing in colonial Madras and his establishment of MATSCIENCE, inspired by Princeton's Institute for Advanced Study. It recounts his directorship at MATSCIENCE, global academic travels, and scientific contributions in various fields, including Probability, Stochastic Processes, and Special Relativity. The narrative is enriched with historical photographs and documents, offering a vivid portrait of a remarkable scientific journey set against the backdrop of India's transition from colonial rule to independence.
Schrödinger in Oxford
Erwin Schrödinger, a Nobel Prize-winning physicist, spent a tumultuous period at Oxford's Magdalen College in the 1930s. Sir David Clary's book offers a detailed account of Schrödinger's life during this time, drawing from unpublished manuscripts and personal accounts. The narrative explores Schrödinger's sudden departure from Berlin in 1933, his arrival in Oxford, and his subsequent escapes from Nazi-occupied territories. The book highlights Schrödinger's interactions with other refugee scientists, including Einstein and Born, and provides insight into his relationship with the traditional Oxford College environment. Clary's work offers a comprehensive look at this pivotal period in the life of one of history's most influential scientists.
Sharing Our Science: How to Write and Speak STEM
"Sharing Our Science" by Brandon Brown is a comprehensive guide for STEM professionals seeking to improve their written and oral communication skills. The book addresses the growing need for scientists and engineers to effectively convey their work through various media. Brown covers fundamental writing principles, scientific-specific considerations, and social aspects of communication. Drawing from his experience as a scientist and writing instructor, he provides practical advice on crafting engaging narratives, conveying complex ideas, and presenting information across different formats. This accessible handbook is an invaluable resource for STEM practitioners aiming to enhance their communication abilities and share their work with both technical and general audiences.
Being Human in STEM: Partnering with Students to Shape Inclusive Practices and Communities
This book presents the Being Human in STEM Initiative (HSTEM), a model for creating inclusive environments in undergraduate STEM education. Born from student protests at Amherst College, HSTEM challenges assumptions about who belongs in STEM fields. The authors provide a framework for developing HSTEM courses, evaluating inclusive change initiatives, and adapting the model to various institutions. The book offers strategies for making any course more inclusive through active listening, validation, and reflective practice. It emphasizes the importance of institutional culture shifts and provides resources for educators to implement these changes. Each chapter includes reflective questions and practical exercises to foster inclusivity in STEM classrooms and laboratories.
Nonlinear Field Theories and Unexplained Phenomena in Nature
This book explores unresolved questions in modern physics, astrophysics, geophysics, and cosmology that challenge standard approaches. It addresses enigmas such as unexplained magnetic fields of celestial bodies, atmospheric puzzles, ball lightning, nuclear force saturation, spiral galaxy properties, cosmological singularity, and dark matter and energy. To tackle these phenomena, the book presents new nonlinear generalizations of classical field theories and advanced methods for solving the resulting nonlinear equations. By offering innovative theoretical approaches, it aims to provide fresh insights into these long-standing scientific mysteries and advance our understanding of complex natural phenomena.
How to Derive a Formula
This book argues for the continued importance of scientific formulae alongside AI advancements. It explores the process of deriving formulas, emphasizing their role in understanding nature's laws. The authors aim to make mathematics more accessible to physical science students by focusing on practical skills and intuition rather than technical knowledge. The book uses relevant examples from various scientific fields, incorporating historical facts and humor to engage learners. It offers a fresh approach to mathematics education, addressing common obstacles students face and demonstrating the subject's relevance and applicability.
Interstellar: The Search for Extraterrestrial Life and Our Future in the Stars
Avi Loeb, renowned Harvard astrophysicist and author of "Extraterrestrial," presents a compelling case for humanity's interstellar future in his new book. Loeb argues that becoming an interstellar species is crucial for our survival and outlines a practical approach to prepare for potential contact with extraterrestrial civilizations. The book challenges science fiction narratives, offering a realistic blueprint for alien encounters. Loeb discusses ongoing scientific efforts, debates surrounding Unidentified Aerial Phenomena, and the implications of interstellar travel. By combining cutting-edge science, physics, and philosophy, "Interstellar" revolutionizes our approach to searching for and potentially interacting with extraterrestrial life, emphasizing the importance of scientific curiosity for humanity's future.
Book summaries composed with AI-assistance.