Welcome to this research guide on health communication. This guide is an introduction to some of our resources on health communication. For more in-depth research, contact us and a librarian can help you with your research.
As you search in databases, book catalogs, and on the web, always think about the words you are using in your search and see if you can use other words that mean similar things. For example:
Health and Communication
In addition to using "health" try other words like "doctors" "nurses" "physicians" "patients" "hospitals" "medical personnel" etc.
In addition to using "communication" try words like "discourse" or "talk" or "conversation" etc.
Scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources
- Communication SourceCommunication Source is the premier source for finding articles in the field of communication and related fields
- CINAHL UltimateCINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for the most used journals in the CINAHL index. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations primarily drawn from MEDLINE, as well as publisher-supplied citations, in-process and "ahead-of-print" citations.
- APA PsycInfoPsycINFO has a large amount of communication articles.
- Google ScholarArticles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
- Ignacio: Library CatalogThe library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials. Alumni and visitor access.
- Link+Search across more than 60 libraries in California and Nevada, and request available books to be delivered to Gleeson Library in 2-4 business days.
Overviews and background information
Encyclopedias can be good sources for basic background information
This is a small sample of some of the ebooks available in the library catalog
- The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care byPublication Date: 2014
- The Handbook of Global Health Communication byPublication Date: 2012
- Evidence-Based Health Communication byPublication Date: 2006
- Health Communication byPublication Date: 2013