PsycINFO Search Help
PsycINFO fields
PsycINFO records are divided into fields, which makes searching the database easier. What goes into each field varies depending on the type of literature being documented. Title, author, source of article or chapter, publication type, methodology are just a few of the fields you will find in a PsycINFO record.
This guide on the APA web site lists all the fields, plus an explanation of what each field is or does: Guide to the Fields in APA Database Records
Above the HTML table, there is also a printer-friendly version of the fields guide in PDF format. Searchable fields are the ones that display in the database search box drop-down menu.
PsycINFO Classification Categories and Codes
Every record in the PsycINFO database receives a classification code, which is used to categorize the document according to the primary subject matter. These classification codes can help you target your search even more, by allowing you to restrict retrieval to a specific category.
Classification codes are grouped by broad categories and then refined by more specific sub-categories.
Some examples are:
2300 Human Experimental Psychology
2343 Learning & Memory
2380 Consciousness States
2800 Developmental Psychology
2820 Cognitive & Perceptual Development
2840 Psychosocial & Personality Development
2860 Gerontology
The Classification Codes selections can be found on the Limit Your Results menu that displays when you click on Show More in the left side menu under Limit To.
See the whole list of categories and codes on the APA website: PsycINFO Classification Categories and Codes
There is also a printable PDF version on the page.
Methodology field values
APA provides descriptions of the various methodologies assigned to abstracts of articles in PsycINFO. When you are reviewing the records retrieved in a PsycINFO search, you will want to know what is meant by the values displayed in the Methodology field.
See complete list on the APA website: APA Databases Methodology Field Values
A printable PDF version is also available.
The APA website has much more information on the Help and Training Center web site