Welcome
Welcome to this research guide for the study of Islam. There is a large amount of information and research about Islam available from Gleeson Library and on the web. This guide is an introduction to some of those resources. For more in-depth research, contact us and a librarian can help you with your research.
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Full-text content is included for more than 425 journals. - Google Scholar
Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
- Index IslamicusIndex Islamicus is a printed Index/bibliography of writings on Islam and the Muslim world. It is available on the lower level of Gleeson Library, with the call number BP40 .I53
Books
Searching Ignacio, the USF Library's catalog, gives you access to books here at USF. Searching Link+ gives us access to millions of books in other libraries that you can request. You can do keyword searches like Islam and Indonesia or you can search subject terms like Qur'an.
- Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials. - Link+
Search across more than 60 libraries in California and Nevada, and request available books to be delivered to Gleeson Library in 2-4 business days. LINK+ will be cancelled at the end of spring semester 2024. More information.
The Qur'an
There are translations and commentaries of the Qur'an on the lower level of Gleeson Library, with call numbers from BP100-BP135.
The Qur'an by Call Number: BP109 .D76 2013Publication Date: 2013
Reference Sources
- Qurʾānic Studies Online
Qurʾānic Studies Online consists of the Encyclopedia of the Qurʾān, the Dictionary of Qurʾanic Usage, and the Qurʾān Concordance, all of which can be search together. - Early Western Korans Online
This remarkable collection demonstrates the impact of the holy book of Islam in Europe. Long before printing with movable type became common practice in the Islamic world, Korans had been printed in Arabic type in several European cities. The collection includes Korans and Koran translations, printed between 1537 and 1857, and is of interest to book historians, theologians, philologists, and scholars of Islamic Studies alike.
Selected ebooks from our collection
Essential Islam by Publication Date: 2009
An Introduction to Islam in the 21st Century by Publication Date: 2013
Islam by Publication Date: 2003
