Finding bibles in print at Gleeson Library
Most English language bibles in print at Gleeson Library can be found on the lower level of the library, beginning with the call number BS185 - BS198. You can browse the stacks in that area to find specific bibles.
This is an advanced search to find Bibles in the Ignacio Catalog (Gleeson Library's collections)
You can add keywords to this search to find specific bibles.
Some Selected Bibles
Ebook Bibles
The Holy BibleISBN: 9781775411994Publication Date: 2009-01-01The King James Bible for ebook readers, desktops, tablets and phones. Including Old Testament and New Testament, this is a wonderful tool that keeps the scriptures at your fingertips. The translation that became the Authorized King James Bible was begun in 1604 and in 1611 was published by the Church of England, under the direction of King James. The translation was done by forty-seven Church of England scholars, the New Testament coming from the Greek Textus Receptus (Received Text), the Old Testament from the Masoretic Hebrew text, and the Apocrypha from the Greek Septuagint (LXX), except for two Esdras from the Latin Vulgate.
New American BibleISBN: 9781935302742Publication Date: 2011-11-01New American Bible translated from the original languages with critical use of all the ancient sources / authorized by the Board of Trustees of the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, and approved by the Administrative Committee of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.
Print Bibles
- Anchor Bible/Anchor Yale BibleCall Number: BS192.2 A1 Vols.1-26Publication Date: 1956 - ongoingA multivolume set with extensive notes and commentary, in contemporary English.
Jerusalem BibleCall Number: BS195 .J4 1966aPublication Date: 1966In contemporary English- The New Scofield Reference BibleCall Number: BS185 1967 .N4Publication Date: 1967King James Translation (Shakespearean English)
- New Oxford Annotated BibleCall Number: BS191.5 .A1 1994Publication Date: 1994"New Revised Standard" translation (contemporary English)
The New Jerusalem Bible by Call Number: BS195 .N375 1999Publication Date: 1999In contemporary English
The Catholic Study Bible by Call Number: BS192.3.A1 1990 .N48Publication Date: 1990The New American Bible translation (contemporary English)
Ignatius Bible (2nd Catholic Edition)Call Number: BS191.A1 2006 .S26Publication Date: 2006The Revised Standard Translation (a revision of the King James translation)
The Jewish Study Bible by Call Number: BS895 .J4 2004Publication Date: 2004In contemporary English
Bible Commentaries
There are many bible commentaries in Gleeson in the stacks on the lower level. Commentaries for the entire bible have call numbers beginning BS485 - BS491. You can browse the stacks to find different commentaries. If you are looking for commentaries just on one specific book in the bible, you can search our library catalog with the subject Bible [name of the book you are looking for] commentaries and that will show you commentaries just on that book in the bible.
The New Jerome Biblical Commentary by Call Number: BS491.2 .N485 1990Publication Date: 1989
International Bible Commentary by Call Number: BS511.2 .I57 1988Publication Date: 1998
Bible Dictionaries and Atlases
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: BS 440. A54 1992Publication Date: 1998
The Cultural Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: BS440 .P653 1999Publication Date: 1999
The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary by Call Number: BS 440 .H235 1996Publication Date: 1996
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: BS 440 .N443 2006Publication Date: 2009
Oxford Bible Atlas by Call Number: BS 630 .096 1984Publication Date: 1985
Bible Atlas by Call Number: G 2230 .A2 1993Publication Date: 1993
Bible Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
EBR offers the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in Judaism and Christianity. EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions, as well as in literature, art, music, and film.
Articles in journals and magazines
You can search for articles about the Bible in this database, which contains the contents of New Testament Abstracts and Old Testament Abstracts. You can search by topics, like Social Justice and Jesus, or search a specific verse, like "John 3:16"
Bible concordances
A Bible concordance is an alphabetical list of the principal words used in the Bible, listing where in the Bible they are used.
Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by Call Number: BS425 .S8 2001bPublication Date: 2001
Nelson's Complete Concordance of the New American BibleCall Number: BS425 .E4Publication Date: 1977
