Welcome

This guide will introduce you to Gleeson Library resources that are essential for students and faculty in the PsyD program. It includes links to relevant databases, streaming video, as well as library related instructional tutorials.

Articles/Databases

APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Formerly called PsycINFO.
Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

On Campus Link

PsycINFO Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Sep 6, 2022 243 views this year

PubMed
PubMed provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations primarily drawn from MEDLINE, as well as publisher-supplied citations, in-process and "ahead-of-print" citations.
Tutorials

PubMed Instructional Videos
PubMed Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

PubMed Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated May 23, 2023 234 views this year

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Comprehensive: Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other abstract and index (A&I) database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum. Timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, preliminary findings from millions of conference papers, and the thorough analysis in an expanding collection of books ensure you have the most up-to-date and highest quality interdisciplinary content available.

On-Campus Link

Scopus Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Jul 20, 2022 34 views this year

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for the most used journals in the CINAHL index. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Tutorials:
Basic Searching
Advanced Searching

On-Campus Link

CINAHL Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Jul 20, 2022 171 views this year

APA PsycNet
APA PsycNet provides access to articles from American Psychological Association journals, the full text of APA books, and full text of psychological tests and measures. APA PsycNet searches these databases: APA PsycArticles, APA PsycBooks, and APA PsycTests. Formerly called PsycNET.
On-Campus Link
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

On-Campus Link
PsychiatryOnline
Full text of five American Psychiatric Publishing journals plus Psychiatric News; full text of DSM-5 and related reference publications
On-Campus Link
Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Tests and Measures

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Test in Print Comprehensive Records
For tests covered in both Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, the database provides a single combined comprehensive record that combines Tests in Print Citation with the Mental Measurements Full Text Review.

On-campus link

APA PsycTests
APA PsycTests provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Formerly called PsycTESTS.
Focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available

Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use

All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development

Most records include the actual test instrument.

On Campus Link

Finding Information about Psychological Tests
APA Science Directorate FAQ.
APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests.
TestLink
The Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection.

Dissertations and Theses

SONHP Theses, Projects, and Dissertation Submission Guide
Submission guide for the USF institutional repository.

USF Scholarship Repository
Find USF PsyD dissertations here. The USF Scholarship Repository is an institutional repository service provided by the Gleeson Library | Geschke Center in collaboration with Dorraine Zief Law Library to digitally collect, preserve and provide electronic access to scholarly works and research output by the University of San Francisco community.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Find dissertations and theses from other institutions here. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. You can also search USF Theses Only

Videos and Streaming Media

Counseling & Therapy in Video
This series contains more than 2,500 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
Perhaps the greatest source of anxiety for students in the mental health field is the prospect of working with clients in face-to-face counseling encounters. The five-volume Counseling and Therapy in Video Series provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.

On-Campus Link
psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net training videos bring classroom theories to life with clinical sessions, discussions, and documentaries featuring the field's leading experts, from pioneering legends to contemporary masters, including Yalom, Linehan, Hardy, Hayes, and many more.
See the Platform User Guide for help with using this resource.

On-Campus Link
Films On Demand
Films On Demand delivers more than 90,000 educational online videos ideal for students and faculty.
Thousands of exclusive educational videos from top producers, segmented into easy-to-use clips
Unlimited, simultaneous, 24/7 access, in class or off site

iPad, Android, PC, and Mac friendly

New content added monthly, with more than 1,000 new titles added a year

Closed-captioning and interactive transcripts for thousands of titles

Authenticated HTML embed code that allows direct access to videos from within Canvas, or other LMS

Dynamic citations in Chicago, MLA, and APA styles

Note: There is a known issue creating custom segments, using filters, and paging through results after executing a search. If you run into these issues, please access Films on Demand on-campus:

On-Campus Link

Reference and Encyclopedias

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Kernberg
ISBN: 9780890425558
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by American Psychiatric Association
ISBN: 9780890425763
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.
Apa Dictionary of Clinical Psychology by Gary R. VandenBos (Editor)
Call Number: RC467 .A63 2013
ISBN: 9781433812071
Publication Date: 2012-08-13

DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice.
On-Campus Link

Encyclopedia of Research Design by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: HA29
ISBN: 1412961270
Publication Date: 2010-06-22

Browse or search the online Reference and Encyclopedia Collection

Books

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.

Refworks

RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.

Clinical Psychology (PsyD)