This guide will introduce you to a set of authoritative, as well as some full text, resources that are available to you free of cost. It includes links to select databases, as well as tutorials and guides.
Literature and Clinical Trials
PubMed provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations primarily drawn from MEDLINE, as well as publisher-supplied citations, in-process and "ahead-of-print" citations.
ClinicalTrials.gov provides patients, their family, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
Consumer and Public Health Resources
MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information on diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in a language your patients will understand.
Resources from the San Francisco Public Library
Your local library offers free online resources, below is a list of SFPL resources, a library card is required to access the materials remotely. If SFPL is not you local library, check out your local library to discover the resources available near you.
Consumer Health Complete
Health and wellness coverage from mainstream medicine to the perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Topics include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, men & women’s health, etc.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
In-depth, authoritative health information from a variety of sources from 1980 - present. Full text available.
Physicians’ Desk Reference for Prescription Drugs
Search over 2,300 drug names to view trusted, reliable drug guides written for the patient.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods from nearly 400 journals from 1965 - present. Full text available.
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.
Covering the connections between the environment and the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health, and technology, with indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and full text for 13,000 records.