- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicMusic Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
- Oxford Bibliographies: MusicAn annotated bibliography of the best scholarship in the discipline.
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
Journals for World Music and Ethnomusicology
By clicking on the links to these academic journals, you can find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles within the disciplines of music, ethnomusicology, media and popular culture studies.
- Asian MusicJournal of the Society for Asian Music.
- EthnomusicologyThe Society for Ethnomusicology holds its Annual Meeting each fall, organizes ten regional chapter conferences each winter/spring, publishes Ethnomusicology and the SEM Newsletter, and offers a wide range of resources on its website,
Coverage: 1953-2019 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 63, No. 1)
- Ethnomusicology ForumProvides a dynamic forum for the presentation of new thinking in the field of ethnomusicology, defined broadly as the study of "people making music", & encompasses the study of all music, including Western art music & popular music.
- Ethnomusicology ReviewEstablished as Pacific Review of Ethnomusicology in 1984, Ethnomusicology Review is the graduate student publication of the UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology. It is edited by graduate students and refereed by a faculty advisory board. Funding for the journal is provided by GSA Publications at UCLA.
Ethnomusicology Review publishes an annual selection of scholarly articles in the Current Issue section of its website and posts essays, book reviews and blogs in its Sounding Board section. Scholars interested in contributing to one or both of these forums are invited to look through the submission guidelines below.
- The Journal of Popular CultureEssays and book reviews on popular culture in all areas of the arts, humanities, social sciences and physical sciences.
- The World of Musicthe world of music (new series) is an international scholarly journal dedicated to reporting and reflecting current theoretical perspectives on and research in the field of the world's music and dance.
The Journal Finder Tool will help you determine if Gleeson Library has a subscription to a specific journal.
Search the following databases to find relevant journal and magazine articles, reports, and dissertations. Find more databases at the Databases A-Z list.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is among the most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThe Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 860,400 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Humanities SourceHumanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, and indexing back to 1907.
- JSTORFull text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection. To support online learning, JSTOR has made additional journal and primary source archival collections, 26 public health journals and over 6,000 articles related to COVID-19, openly accessible through June 30, 2023.
- Project MUSEHundreds of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences.