Gleeson Library: Performing Arts: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Databases

Databases allow us to search across many journals at one time. Below are some databases that specifically cover journals related to the performing arts.

You might also consult a multidisciplinary database or a subject database from another field like psychology or sociology to find contextual information about the topic of your performance.

Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link
Humanities Source
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, and indexing back to 1907.
The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Sourceprovides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

On-Campus Link
JSTOR
Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
On-Campus Link
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Indexes materials from 1921 to the present in academic disciplines such as literature, literary theory and criticism, language, folklore, linguistics, and the dramatic arts.
The MLA International Bibliography provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites.
Project MUSE
Hundreds of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

On-Campus Link

Performing Arts Journals

Gleeson subscribes to several magazines and scholarly journals dedicated to the study of the performing arts such as:

Performing Arts Journal: Covers the directions of new work in performance, video, installations, dance, photography, media, film, and music
Women and Performance: Publishes articles concerned with traditional and nontraditional performance, such as film, theatre, music, dance, and performing art.
Studies and Theater and Performance: Covers methods and results of practical research, and examines experiments in teaching and performance.
Performance Research: Emphasis is on research in contemporary performance arts within changing cultures.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance Art: Covers the directions of new work in performance, video, installations, dance, photography, media, film, and music.
TDR: The Drama Review: Interdisciplinary, intercultural and progressive articles on all aspects of performance, theater, dance, music, film, video, ritual, play, sports and performance in everyday life.

Use Journal Finder to find more journals and magazines related to Performance Art, Music, and Dance. You can search these journals directly, but know that they are also searched through the databases mentioned above, too.

Remember that you can use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles that are not available through Gleeson Library | Geschke Center. Interlibrary loan items arrive within 1-2 weeks but may arrive sooner, and occasionally take longer.

Open Access Journals (no subscription necessary)

Performance-Matters: peer-reviewed, open access on-line journal published bi-annually by Simon Fraser University that focuses on all aspects of performance: what it does, and why it is meaningful

International Journal of Performance Art and Digital Media: draws its contributions from academics and practitioner-researchers at the interface of new media technologies and performance. It acts as a forum for critical scholarship, innovative practice, and creative pedagogy, addressing themes that may be domain-specific (e.g. theatre, dance, music, live art, computer science) or situated at the convergence of two or more disciplines.

Performing Arts

Journal Articles

Databases

Performing Arts Journals

Open Access Journals (no subscription necessary)

Follow Us