Reference Sources
Consult reference sources for background information on your topics.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political MovementsPublication Date: 2013The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world. Brings together a prestigious editorial team drawn from ten countries and from across four disciplines Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics reflecting significant social and political changes--from the French revolution, to the Chinese Communist Revolution, the global women's movement, to the Arab Spring, and from the American civil rights movement to contemporary environmentalism.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticePublication Date: 2007This encyclopedia is designed to give understanding to the topics, concepts and ideas which have motivated and shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice as well as offering short biographies of all the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced, and continue to influence, the study of activism. With anti-globalization rallies and acts of civil disobedience increasing in the western world, activism and social justice are topics of general public debate in the media. This encyclopedia looks to put into context the history of 20th and 21st century political and social activism and further the debate on social justice.
The Blackwell Companion to Social MovementsPublication Date: 2004The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements is a compilation of original essays by internationally recognized scholars on an array of topics in the field of social movement studies. Includes coverage of historical, political, and cultural contexts; leadership; organizational dynamics; social networks and participation; consequences and outcomes; and case studies of major social movements.
Encyclopedia of American Social MovementsPublication Date: 2015Examines every social movement in American history--from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. With over 1800 entries / 3.5 million words it will define the discipline of sociology for years to come. - Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library. - SAGE Knowledge
More than 300 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies, updated regularly, of the best scholarship in multiple disciplines. Ideal for approaching new/interdisciplinary fields, and to guide faculty to key readings for courses.
