The Library's special collections are housed in the Donohue Rare Book Room, and feature more than 17,000 items including books, manuscripts, photographs, drawings, engravings, and other artworks.
The Museum Makers
Students work hands-on with renaissance masterpieces from the Library's Special Collections.
Rare and Wonderful
Take a peek at some of the works in the Library's Donohue Rare Book Room.
Access to Collections
Online Access to Collections
These are the collections that are currently online:
- This
- And this
- And certainly this
Special Collections materials are available to students, staff, faculty and the University Community; non-affiliated patrons and researchers may access the collection by calling the Rare Book Room in advance to schedule an appointment.
- Special Collections and University Archives materials do not circulate.
- Only pencils may be used in the Rare Book Room. Pencils are available from staff.
- The Rare Book Room is for use by Library patrons using special collections material and is not intended for study hall use.
- Photocopying of special collections material may be available at a cost of 50 cents per page.
Hours
The Donohue Rare Book Room is on the 3rd floor of the library and is open Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Locating Books
Materials located in the Donohue Rare Book Room are cataloged in the Online Catalog. To request material located in the Rare Book Room, record the title and call number and take it to the Rare Book Room, where staff will retrieve the item for you.
Images
Visit our Flickr page to see additional images.
News
See all Rare Book Room blog posts.