From library instruction and research guides, course reserves and interlibrary loan, databases and open education resources, we're excited for you to take a look at what we have to offer!
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The library provides a campus subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education—the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and administrators.
Library Liaisons
Your department or program has a personal librarian, and you can find them here. Our liaisons support students, faculty teaching and research, and enhance the library’s instruction and collection development programs.
Publisher Agreements for Open Access
Find which journal publishers allow USF faculty to publish their articles open access with reduced or no author fees.
Teaching Support
Resources and services to support your students and classes.
Librarian Assistance
-
Library Instruction
Have your students get to know the library and its resources. You can request a librarian to come teach an instruction session that covers how to do research using library resources, developing topics, ethically using information, and more.
-
Library Liaisons
Library liaisons are your personal contacts in the library. The Library Liaison program pairs a librarian subject specialist with each academic department or program to support students, faculty teaching and research, and to enhance the library's instruction and collection development programs.
Course Resources and Information
-
Course Reserves
How to set-up reserved materials for your classes: both online and print / physical items.
-
Open Access & Open Education
Learn about Open Access and how to use Open Educational Resources in your classes.
-
Affordable Textbook Options
Options for selecting free and low-fee readings for your classes.
-
Copyright at USF
Learn about copyright as it impacts your teaching and publishing, including best practices, and our copyright specialists at the library.
Research Support
Resources and services to support your research activities.
Research Assistance
-
Library Liaisons
Library liaisons are your personal contacts in the library. The Library Liaison program pairs a librarian subject specialist with each academic department or program to support students, faculty teaching and research, and to enhance the library's instruction and collection development programs.
-
Meet With a Librarian
Librarians are available by appointment to assist you with your research needs, including overviews of library resources.
-
Proxies
Designate your student assistant as your faculty proxy who will be authorized to borrow library materials for your use.
Research Databases and Guides
-
Research Guides
Curated guides to library databases and other resources by discipline and special topics.
-
Journal Finder
Does the library subscribe to this journal? Use the Journal Finder to look up full-text availability for journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
Databases A to Z
Complete list of over 300 library databases, alphabetically and by subject/discipline.
Featured Databases
-
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. -
Very Short Introductions
Full text of over 700 short books in the Oxford University Press series "Very Short Introductions." Books in this series offer concise overviews to a wide range of academic subjects. -
Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies, updated regularly, of the best scholarship in multiple disciplines. Ideal for approaching new/interdisciplinary fields, and to guide faculty to key readings for courses. -
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators
Research Services
-
Borrow & Renew
See our general borrowing provisions as well as specific borrowing guidelines for faculty.
-
Interlibrary Loan
If Gleeson Library does not have an article, book, or other item that you need, you can request it through ILLiad, and we will get it for you from another library.
-
Document Delivery
A library service that will scan and provide electronic delivery of print materials from the Gleeson Library collections, as well as home-delivery of physical materials.
-
Recommend a Purchase
Faculty members are encouraged to request materials for the library collection which support their teaching and research needs.
-
Videos & Streaming Media
Your guide to using and requesting videos and streaming media for your classes.
-
Jesuit Library Passport
You have on-site library borrowing privileges at all 28 Jesuit institutions in the United States. Contact the Access or Circulation department at the institution you'll be visiting for more information.
Publication Support
Learn about open access opportunities for your work.
Publication Resources
-
Publisher Agreements
Agreements with journal publishers to allow USF faculty to publish their articles open access at reduced or no cost to the author.
-
USF Scholarship Repository
The Library's open-access repository of USF scholarship. We encourage you to add your publications for archiving and open-access.