Consumer Behavior, Attitudes, Overviews: U.S. and International
- Passport
Country, industry, and consumer statistics and market research: Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.
To view a quick search guide for Passport, click here.
- Statista
Easy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts. - StatistaConsumer Market Outlook: Use this section of Statista to view consumer trends in a variety of industries. Click on Outlooks > Consumer Market Outlooks, then click on your industry category to view statistics and reports.
- Think with GoogleThis free resource contains analysis done on trends, digital communications, consumers, and marketing by using data from Google searches. presented in visuals and interactive reports. Can do keyword searching or browse topics.
- Facebook IQ Insights to GoProvides consumer insights in the form of data, reports, and other information. Search by Region, People, Industry, or Marketing Platform, and these can be combined in a search. Information is from interactions on Facebook platforms.
- Nielsen InsightsIncludes reports on various consumer groups. Insights link at the top leads to shorter news articles, and for longer reports scroll down to Perspectives or Reports, or listen to Podcasts.
- Nielsen Diverse IntelligenceReports on consumers based on race, sexual orientation, and more.
Consumer News: U.S. and International
- ProQuest One Business
A comprehensive business database containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal. Formerly called ABI/INFORM Collection - Business Source Complete
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage
Consumer Demographics: U.S.
- Data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. It replaces the American FactFinder website, which was retired in 2020.
- Racial and Ethnic Groups Data LinksIncludes specific links highlighting demographic and business data on racial and ethnic groups. From the US Census Bureau.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Claritas: My Best SegmentsThis web site groups consumers into general categories, with brief descriptions and demographic information. Use the Zip Code Look-Up to get information about consumers in a particular area in both descriptions and graphs. There are three categories of information for consumers; PRIZM, P$YCLE, which describes the financial status of consumers, and ConneXions, which describes the level of technology use and connectivity of consumers. Use Segment Details to view descriptions of all of the consumer segments on the web site. Use the Narrow Segments button in the middle of the screen to search for consumer groups by age, income, and other categories.
- Pew Research CenterA non-partisan research group that collects and presents data, opinions, and reports on American attitudes, activities, and trends. Browse by topic, or type in your search.
- Social Explorer
Create a personal account, or use USF guest account information: email: guest@usfca.edu password: guest Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. - PolicyMap
Thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. In addition, students can upload unlimited amounts of their own address-based data, and can share these maps with others. - IBISWorld
Select consumer information can be found within the US Business Environment Profiles. To find them, click on Industry Research > US > US Business Environment Profiles OR US Business Environment State Profiles. To view the categories available, look under the headings Consumer Behavior, Demographics, and Other Indicators. These are brief but useful reports, and they mention the sources and organizations from which the information came, which can lead you to more information. - Sports Market Analytics
The database combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by Miller Freeman, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.
American Attitudes by ISBN: 9781933588209Chronicles the changes and consistencies in the attitudes of the American public on numerous social topics over the past thirty years.
American Buyers by ISBN: 9781940308449American Buyers includes weekly and quarterly buying data for hundreds of items organized into 10 chapters apparel, entertainment, financial, food and alcohol, gifts, health care, household operations, shelter and utilities, transportation, and a chapter encompassing personal care, reading, education, and tobacco.
American Incomes by ISBN: 9781937737245Explores the economic status of Americans and provides data on the wealth of American households. Examines household income trends by age, household type, race and ethnicity, education, region of residence, and work status. Also focuses on the poverty population.
The American Marketplace by ISBN: 9781937737214Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth
American Men and Women by ISBN: 9781940308050Examines the multidimensional lives of today's American men and women to help track and understand their evolving lifestyles. Contains demographic data on the number of males and females, their changing age distribution, rising educational attainment, and diversifying racial composition. It also examines changing attitudes, use of time, and the latest labor force projections
Best Customers by Based on data collected from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2013 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report analyzes the demographics of household spending on hundreds of products and services. Identifies which households spend the most on those products and services, and which control the largest share of spending. Also included is a product-by-product analysis of spending trends before and after the Great Recession, and a prediction of future trends
Household Spending by ISBN: 9781940308951Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2013 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services, all organized by demographics. It discusses who is buying what, and how much they spend. Also included in this edition is a comparison of spending trends before and after the Great Recession
Consumer Demographics: International
GenderStats
This gender data portal is a one-stop shop for gender information, catering to a wide range of users and providing data from a variety of sources. Data at the country level are organized under six thematic headings, including economic opportunities, health, education, decision-making, and more.
United Nations Demographic and Social Statistics
Includes information on demographics of countries, income and consumption, and more.
US Census Bureau International Data Base (IDB)
Statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
International Statistical Agencies
Statistical web sites for countries and areas of the world, compiled by the government of each.
- PassportCountry, industry, and consumer statistics and market research: Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.
Consumer Demographics: California/San Francisco Bay Area
- Data.census.govData.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. It replaces the American FactFinder website, which was retired in 2020.
- Claritas: My Best SegmentsThis web site groups consumers into general categories, with brief descriptions and demographic information. Use the Zip Code Look-Up to get information about consumers in a particular area in both descriptions and graphs. There are three categories of information for consumers; PRIZM, P$YCLE, which describes the financial status of consumers, and ConneXions, which describes the level of technology use and connectivity of consumers. Use Segment Details to view descriptions of all of the consumer segments on the web site. Use the Narrow Segments button in the middle of the screen to search for consumer groups by age, income, and other categories.
- PolicyMapThousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. In addition, students can upload unlimited amounts of their own address-based data, and can share these maps with others.
- Social ExplorerCreate a personal account, or use USF guest account information: email: guest@usfca.edu password: guest Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
Citing Your Sources
Whenever you do research, you will need to cite the information sources that you use. Most business scholars use APA style. Here are some tools that can help you with this task:
Gleeson Library's guide to citations: How? Why? When?
- APA 7th Edition Citations for Business SourcesAn excellent guide to using APA 7th edition style for popular business sources. Scroll through the guide to find an example for the business source you are using in your research. Compiled by librarians Naomi Schemm, Marcia Dellenbach, Zachary Grisham, Marianne Hageman, Natalia Tingle, Matt Trowbridge, and Amanda Wheatley
- Citing Business Databases in APA: Michigan State University GuideThis guide was created to help with citing some common business databases
- Citing Business Databases from the University of North Carolina at GreensboroThis guide has some additional business database examples in APA style.
- MLA Business Citations: Youngstown State UniversityScroll down the page to see citations for specific business web sites, reports, and databases cited in MLA style.
- Purdue OWLOur favorite style guide web site is the OWL from Purdue University.
- RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.
Getting Help!
There are several ways to obtain assistance with your research. Read on!
The School of Management has a library liaison named Penny Scott, and you can contact her for help.
Her contact information is: email: plscott@usfca.edu * phone: 415-422-5389
It is best to call or email ahead, or make an appointment, to make sure she is available!
If Penny is not available, or any time you need help, you can always get help, just Ask a Librarian!