Politics

PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms (7,366 preferred and 10,175 non-preferred terms), to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.

On-Campus Link

Comprehensive: Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other abstract and index (A&I) database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum. Timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, preliminary findings from millions of conference papers, and the thorough analysis in an expanding collection of books ensure you have the most up-to-date and highest quality interdisciplinary content available.

On-Campus Link

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

On-Campus Link

This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.

On-Campus Link

The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Sourceprovides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

On-Campus Link

Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:

• If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
• If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
• If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
• I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
• Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.

So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link

Includes:

Na­tion­al Journ­al Daily: Your source for everything hap­pen­ing on the Hill.
The Hot­line: The ul­ti­mate in­sider’s source for cam­paign and elec­tion in­form­a­tion.

Al­man­ac: Bio­graph­ic­al and back­ground in­form­a­tion on all fed­er­ally-elec­ted of­fi­cials, state gov­ernors, and con­gres­sion­al dis­tricts.
Day­book: On­line cal­en­dar of the im­port­ant events hap­pen­ing on and off Cap­it­ol Hill.

Race track­er: Cam­paign polling and fin­ance data tool for Pres­id­en­tial, Con­gres­sion­al, and Gubernat­ori­al races.
Present­a­tion Cen­ter: An evolving data­base of copy­right-free, white la­bel Power­Point slides that break down ma­jor polit­ic­al and policy is­sues, as well as ex­plains how Wash­ing­ton works.
Presentation Center Data and Charts: Our re­source for all high qual­ity data sets and charts on pub­lic policy and polit­ics from gov­ern­ment, think tanks and aca­demia.

On Campus LInk

Gleeson Library subscribes to the following disciplines:

Anthropology
Biochemistry
Cell & Developmental Biology
Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
Entomology
Environment and Resources
Genetics
Genomics and Human Genetics
Immunology
Marine Science
Medicine
Microbiology
Neuroscience
Nutrition
Physical Chemistry
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Sociology

On Campus Link

Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, and combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Bibliographies brings to online research the quality assurance and authority that you expect from Oxford University Press. All articles receive multiple peer reviews and editorial board vetting to provide reliable and balanced coverage.

Articles are regularly updated by their authors so that information in this resource is always current and accurate. In addition to updating existing articles, new topic guides are added on a regular schedule to expand the scope and extent of each subject module in the library.

On-Campus Link

Sources include a variety of current and retrospective news media: newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.

Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Access World News includes many California News Sources including the current San Francisco Chronicle.

On Campus Link

National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.

Shepard’s Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789.

Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

On Campus Link

Ethnic NewsWatch is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.