How to Get Help!
There are several ways to obtain assistance with your research. Read on!
The School of Management has a library liaison named Penny Scott, and you can contact her for help.
Her contact information is: email: firstname.lastname@example.org : phone: 415-422-5389
It is best to call or email ahead, or make an appointment, to make sure she is available!
If Penny is not available, or any time you need help, you can always get help, just Ask a Librarian!
Some business-related databases you will come to know and love!
Articles and More
- ProQuest One BusinessA comprehensive business database containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal. Formerly called ABI/INFORM Collection
- Business Source CompleteThis is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Countries and International Business
- EIU ViewpointCountry profiles and economic reports, current economic events for nearly 200 countries or economic territories.
- Europa WorldEuropa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- IBISWorldInformation on over 700 US Industries in the US economy.
- PassportCountry, industry, and consumer statistics and market research: Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.
- Mergent OnlineDetailed company information including 15 years of financial statements.
- Nexis UniUse Search the News section for business news from national and international sources. Use the Get Company Info section for company data.
- PrivCoRegistration Required. See "more" for access information. PrivCo.com is a source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsDirectory information for publicly and privately owned companies in the United States, as well as information about individual consumers. Formerly called Reference Solutions / ReferenceUSA.
- StatistaEasy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts.
Checking out Materials and Reserves
For information on borrowing library materials, see Borrowing & Renewing on the Library’s home page or contact the Access Services Department at 415-422-2662.
Getting Materials From Other Libraries
The Library has a service called Link+ that allows USF patrons to electronically request books that are checked out or that we don’t own and have them quickly delivered to the Library. The time between making a request for an available item and picking up the item is approximately 3-4 business days.
Students, faculty and staff may request books,articles, dissertations, and other materials not available at the Library, using ILLiad.
Study Areas and Group Study Rooms
There are quiet study areas as well as group study rooms available in the library. For more information on how to reserve a group study room online, as well as use other study areas within the library, please visit Group Study Rooms and Silent, Quiet, and Conversation Areas.
Citing Your Sources
Whenever you do research, you will need to cite the information sources that you use. Most business scholars use APA style. Here are some tools that can help you with this task:
Gleeson Library's guide to citations: How? Why? When?
- APA 7th Edition Citations for Business SourcesAn excellent guide to using APA 7th edition style for popular business sources. Scroll through the guide to find an example for the business source you are using in your research. Compiled by librarians Naomi Schemm, Marcia Dellenbach, Zachary Grisham, Marianne Hageman, Natalia Tingle, Matt Trowbridge, and Amanda Wheatley
- Citing Business Databases in APA: Michigan State University GuideThis guide was created to help with citing some common business databases
- Citing Business Databases from the University of North Carolina at GreensboroThis guide has some additional business database examples in APA style.
- MLA Business Citations: Youngstown State UniversityScroll down the page to see citations for specific business web sites, reports, and databases cited in MLA style.
- Purdue OWLOur favorite style guide web site is the OWL from Purdue University.
- RefWorksRefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. Create an account using your USF email address.