Gleeson Library: Ballot Measures: Finding Information on Ballot Measures

Ballot Measure Databases

Use these resources to find the text of specific ballot measures

San Francisco

San Francisco Voter Information Pamphlet for upcoming or most recent election
Voter information pamphlets for upcoming elections are posted online approximately 5 weeks before Election Day. Contains detailed information about San Francisco's ballot measures.
San Francisco Voter Pamphlets and Propositions - Prior Years
San Francisco Ballot Propositions Database
Ballotpedia - San Francisco Ballot Measures

California

California Voter Guide for upcoming or most recent election
Voter guides for upcoming elections are posted online approximately 4 weeks before Election Day. Contains detailed information for propositions.
California Ballot Measures Database
Contains all California ballot measures (propositions and initiatives) from 1911 to the present.
California Election Results
The Secretary of State's Elections Division contains an archive of past statewide election results.
Ballotpedia - California Ballot Propositions

Ballot Measures for All States

Statewide Ballot Measures Database (National Conference of State Legislatures)
includes all statewide ballot measures in the 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. New measures are added as they qualify for the ballot and are identified by NCSL staff. Results are updated soon after election night.
Vote Smart - Ballot Measures
Ballotpedia
Contains voting results, text of ballot measures, and analysis.

Newspaper, Magazine and Journal Articles

Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link
Access World News
Through nearly 7000 news sources, find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more.

Sources include a variety of current and retrospective news media: newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.

Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Access World News includes many California News Sources including the current San Francisco Chronicle.

On Campus Link
Nexis Uni
Replaces LexisNexis Academic.

More than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.

Shepard’s Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789.

Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

On Campus Link
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage

Ethnic NewsWatch is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.

Ballot Measures

Ballot Measure Databases

San Francisco

California

Ballot Measures for All States

Newspaper, Magazine and Journal Articles

Follow Us