Gleeson Library: COMS 336: Rhetoric of Law: Legislation and Statutes

Legislation and Statutes

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is especially useful for performing legislative histories and locating Congressional documents. It is also very useful for tracking legislation and major public policy issues, locating recent Congressional documents and related material in full text, and learning more about Congress and the legislative process.

ProQuest Congressional provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting of Congressional publications, CIS legislative histories, and bill tracking. It includes the full text of Congressional reports, documents, prints, bills, the Congressional Record, selected testimony in hearings before Congress, Public laws, Statutes at Large, the United States Code Service, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. It also provides information about members of Congress, Congressional committees, and recent legislative activities and public policy issues in the news.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications, but allows the user to do a Search Within from that very page that searches the full text of all the associated publications with one-click.

Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous. Other full-text publication types are included in our legislative histories to provide users with background material are committee prints, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications. Presidential signing statements are also included.

Congress.gov
Full-text database useful for tracking legislation in Congress, produced by the Library of Congress.

more... less...

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
United States Code (Office of the Law Revision Counsel)
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
United States Code (Government Publishing Office)
Contains the text of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
National Survey of State Laws
Richard Leiter’s National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most frequently sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. This database is derived from the print edition’s convenient chart format and enables users to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Useful for finding full text of Congressional documents.

more... less...

It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

California Legislation and Statutes

California Legislative Information
Status, history, votes, analyses, etc., of California legislation. Includes California Code.
California Code
The California Codes are 29 legal codes enacted by the California State Legislature, which together form the general statutory law of California.

All States

State Legislature Websites
This directory provides the website for the legislature of every state, territory, and the District of Columbia.
NCSL Legislation Databases
Track bills across all 50-states in the National Conference on State Legislature's searchable bill tracking databases. Select a topic to find complete bill information. The status of bills listed in these databases is updated every week. Search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, to governor, etc.) or enter keywords to identify bills.
BillTrack50
BillTrack50 is a free service for citizens to look up information about federal and state bills and legislators. Register for a free account to start searching right away.

more... less...

LegiNation, the company behind BillTrack50, was founded with the goal of making state level legislation more readily available to the professionals who need it, and even more importantly to the public at large.

"BillTrack Basic" is available for everyone to research state and federal legislation and legislators any time, for free. Additional services are offered to subscribers. Gleeson Library does not have a subscription to any of these services.
LegiScan
Tracks state and federal legislation. Gleeson Library does not have a subscription to LegiScan, but you can use the "National Legislative Search" database without an account. Additionally, you can register for a free service called "One Vote."

more... less...

One Vote is a public service for concerned individuals tracking their home state and Congress. Personal monitoring list with saved searches from the national legislative search engine and private RSS feeds to stay informed. Receive monitored email alerts, create simple dynamic reports sharable with friends and colleagues.

COMS 336: Rhetoric of Law

Legislation and Statutes

California Legislation and Statutes

All States

San Francisco Legislation and Statutes

Follow Us