Voting Rights
- Election Protection: Know Your Rights as a Voterfrom Vote.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, nonpartisan voting registration and get-out-the-vote (GOTV) technology platform.
- Know Your Voting Rights (from whenweallvote.org)Provides information and resources to help ensure your voice is heard in each and every election.
- The State Voting Rights TrackerUse this site, created by the Voting Rights Lab, to explore existing laws and pending legislation on voting rights in all 50 states. The Voting Rights Lab is a nonpartisan organization that brings state advocacy, policy, and legislative expertise to the fight for voting rights. They work in partnership with organizations across the country to build state legislative campaigns aimed at securing, protecting, and defending the voting rights of all Americans.
- Voting and Election LawsU.S. election laws date back to Article 1 of the Constitution. This gave states the responsibility of overseeing federal elections. Many Constitutional amendments and federal laws to protect voting rights have been passed since then. This government website provides information on relevant state and federal laws.
- State Voting Laws (Brennan Center for Justice)The Brennan Center tracks voting legislation around the country, keeping an eye on measures to restrict or expand voting access, restore voting rights, and improve security.
- Felon Voting Rights (National Conference of State Legislatures)Provides basic information on state laws regarding voting rights for incarcerated or formerly incarcerated people.
- Congress and the Voting Rights Act of 1965Provides a brief history of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and links to primary sources.
- Black Women's Suffrage Digital CollectionThe Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts. - Women's Suffrage: Campaign for the 19th AmendmentThis set of primary sources from the Digital Public Library of American contains photos, advertisements, maps, and other documents, shedding light on that struggle toward the Nineteenth Amendment.
- 15th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Primary Documents in American HistoryRatified in 1870, the 15th Amendment granted African American men the right to vote. This guide provides access to digital collections at the Library of Congress, external websites, and print materials related to the amendment.
