Gleeson Library: Jewish Studies & Social Justice: Jewish Studies and Social Justice

Welcome

Welcome to this research guide for Jewish Studies & Social Justice. Here we introduce you to some of the resources available to you from Gleeson Library and on the open web. For more in-depth research, contact us and a librarian can help you with your research.

Scholarly journals and magazines

Starting your search with these databases could help you find articles on Jewish Studies topics.

EBSCO Religion
Ebsco Religion allows you to search the following databases simultaneously:
ATLA Religion Database
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Index to Jewish Periodicals
New Testament Abstracts
Old Testament Abstracts
On-Campus Link
JSTOR
Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
On-Campus Link
Project MUSE
Hundreds of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

On-Campus Link
Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies
An annotated bibliography of the best scholarship in the discipline.
On Campus Link
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Full-text content is included for more than 425 journals.
Includes indexing from the Catholic Periodical and Literature Indes (CPLI).

On-Campus Link
Google Scholar
Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
Customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Gleeson Library subscriptions:

If you are on campus, Google Scholar should recognize you as a USF user and link you to the full text.

If you are working from an off-campus location, you will need to manually activate USF's Full Text Finder in Google Scholar Library Links:

1. Go to the Google Scholar search page.
2. In the upper left corner of the page, press the button made of three horizontal lines to open a new menu.
3. Click "Settings."
4. Select "Library links" and search for "University of San Francisco."
5. Check "University of San Francisco – Full Text Finder" in the search results, then click Save.

When you search Google Scholar, you should now see "Full Text Finder" links to the right of your results. Click on these links to check if USF has access to your article.

U.S. and International News Articles

Nexis Uni
Replaces LexisNexis Academic.

More than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.

Shepard’s Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789.

Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

On Campus Link
Access World News
Through nearly 7000 news sources, find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more.
Sources include a variety of current and retrospective news media: newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.

Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Access World News includes many California News Sources including the current San Francisco Chronicle.

On Campus Link
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage
Ethnic NewsWatch is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.

Books

Search Ignacio, the USF Library catalog, to find books and videos in print and electronic format.
Search Link+ for access to millions of books in other libraries that you can request, free.

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.

Videos

In addition to books, the library offers a rich collection of fiction and nonfiction video content, in streaming format and DVD.

Search the catalog or browse the collection for Jewish studies-related video.

Link+
Search across more than 60 libraries in California and Nevada, and request available books to be delivered to Gleeson Library in 2-4 business days. LINK+ was cancelled at the end of spring semester 2024. More information.

Internet Reference Sources

Jewish Language Research Website
Includes links to dictionaries, courses, music, video, literature archives and much more.
Sefaria Project: A Living Library of Jewish Texts
A free, open source digital library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation.

Tanakh, Rabbinical Literature, and Jewish Law

The foundational Jewish texts and commentaries in many translations are available on the lower level of Gleeson Library. A few of these are listed below. Search the catalog for more.

Early and modern translations and interpretations of the Tanakh (Old Testament) are at BS701-BS1830. Talmudic literature is found at BM495-BM518. Halacha (Jewish law) is at BM520-BM523.7, and Kaballah is found at BM525-BM526.