Evidence Based Practice Databases
Databases that contain primary and secondary nursing and health sciences research.
- CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for the most used journals in the CINAHL index. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
- PubMed
PubMed provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations primarily drawn from MEDLINE, as well as publisher-supplied citations, in-process and "ahead-of-print" citations.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care resources.
- APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Formerly called PsycINFO.
Summaries of Primary Evidence
The following clinical reference tools and journals provide summaries of individual primary research articles and systematic reviews. Many provide an assessment of the quality and strength of the evidence and its relevance to clinical practice. These are good resources for Critically Appraised Research Studies.
Databases Containing Evidence Summaries
- DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice.
Journals Featuring Evidence Summaries
- Evidence Based NursingAn individual journal that reports on research highly relevant to the field of nursing. Content is critically appraised then the most relevant articles are summarized into a succinct expert commentary focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice.
- ACP Journal ClubACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies.
- National Institutes for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) PathwaysEverything the UK's National Institutes for Health and Care Excellence has to say on a topic in an interactive flowchart
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Multidisciplinary Guidelines
- Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario Best Practice GuidelinesBrowsable and searchable database of nursing clinical guidelines created by the RNAO.
Subject Specific Guidelines
Books and Tutorials on Evidence Based Practice
Tutorials
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice tutorialThis tutorial from Duke University is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Practice.
Books
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by Call Number: RT42 .M44 2015ISBN: 9781451190946Publication Date: 2014-09-24
Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare by Call Number: RT42 .M45 2016ISBN: 9781940446424Publication Date: 2016-06-01
