Databases for Magazine and Journal Articles
- Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
- Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
You may see a screen prompting you to register or personalize your account. You are not required to do so and can click the 'Continue' button to access the site. Similarly, if you encounter a “Welcome to Scopus” screen asking you to create an account or sign in, click 'X' in the upper right to close the window.
- Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic.
- Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews, and indexing back to 1907.
- A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. You may see a screen prompting you to register or personalize your account. You are not required to do so and can click the Continue button to access the site. Does not support Safari browser.
- Engineering Source is a database for professionals and researchers across all engineering disciplines, including biomedical, civil, electrical, mechanical, environmental and software. It includes hundreds of full-text engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, plus books, conference papers and more.
- Inspec (1898-present) is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering.
- The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications, offering online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers. Gleeson Library provides access to the Journals and Proceedings only.
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
- Registration Required — see: "More" below. Citations and abstracts for journal articles from more than 10,000 journals covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more; patents; substance and chemical sysnthesis information; includes CAS Registry database.
- Registration Required. See "more" below for more information. The American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges.
- Digital Library of the CommonsThe Digital Library of the Commons (DLC) is a gateway to the international literature on the commons. The DLC provides free and open access to full-text articles, papers, and dissertations.
- GeoScience WorldGeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive resource for research and communications in the Earth Sciences. You can use their website without a subscription to access citations and abstracts. Full text is sometimes available.
- Citations and abstracts of research publications on transportation issues.
- Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click "more" below to customize Google Scholar to access USF library journal subscriptions.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Regional and Indigenous Scholarship Databases
The following databases and journals promote research from communities of scholars around the world. The goal of these databases is to ensure that the research produced in these regions and countries can be readily found and shared. Some of these databases were developed in conjunction with The Journals Online Project.
- "SciELO" stands for Scientific Electronic Library Online. This open access database provides access to fulltext articles from over 1,200 Latin American journals on a wide range of subjects (not just science!). Most of the articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, although there is also some English language content.
- African Journals OnLine (AJOL)African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.
- Vietnam Journals OnLine (VJOL)Vietnam Journals OnLine (VJOL) is a service to provide access to Vietnamese published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Bangladesh Journals Online (BanglaJOL)BanglaJOL is a database of journals published in Bangladesh, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of BanglaJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
- Central American Journals OnLine (CAMJOL)Central American Journals OnLine (CAMJOL) is a service to provide access to Central American published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Mongolia Journals Online (MongoliaJOL)Mongolia Journals OnLine (MongoliaJOL) is a service to provide access to Mongolian published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Nepal Journals Online (NepJOL)Nepal Journals OnLine (NepJOL) is a service to provide access to Nepalese published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Sri Lanka Journals Online (SLJOL)SLJOL is a database of journals published in Sri Lanka, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of SLJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
- RedalycThe Redalyc project is a bibliographic database and a digital library of Open Access journals. Redalyc was conceived in the South and for the South, but is open now to all journals from around the globe that work for an inclusive, equitable and sustainable scholarly research communication ecosystem.
- The Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)CEEOL rovides access to scholarly Journals, eBooks and Grey Literature documents in Humanities and Social Science s from and about Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe. Gleeson Library does not have a subscription, but individuals can create an account to download open access content. To create your individual CEEOL user account, complete and submit the registration.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal that aims to present scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. AlterNative is a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary journal that publishes scholarship across the Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Health, Business, and Law.
- Journal of Indigenous ResearchThis Journal was created in response to community requests for information about research that has been conducted among their people. The focus of this publication is to obtain articles about research conducted with Native American, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian, Maori populations- written for laypeople. These articles will be published in the Journal of Indigenous Research and will also be sent to local Native newspapers and websites.