Background Information
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
Provides access to comprehensive information regarding the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, automobile emissions, food safety, and environmental disasters. - Oxford Bibliographies: Environmental Science
An annotated bibliography of the best scholarship in the discipline. - Annual Reviews
Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic. - Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
- Major Environmental Laws and Regulations
Provides summaries and full text of major U.S. federal laws concerning the environment. - The Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Environmental EncyclopediaCall Number: ebook available onlinePublication Date: 2011-06-07Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Comprehensive Renewable EnergyCall Number: ebook available onlinePublication Date: 2012-06-17Encompasses the entire field of renewable energy, and unites the different areas of research through deep foundational reviews.
Energy: Supplies, Sustainability, and CostCall Number: EbookPublication Date: 2009-04-10Presents the latest information on U.S. energy consumption and production, compared with years past. Controversial issues such as the U.S. dependence on foreign oil, the possibility of exhausting fossil fuel supplies, and the harm done to the environment by mining, drilling, and pollution are explored.
Pollution A to ZCall Number: ebook available onlinePublication Date: 2004264 articles written by scientists, professors, educators, and laypeople, integrating key concepts, current issues, research, and legislation in several global and local areas, including pollution of air, land, space, and water.Discusses timely issues such as asbestos and ecoterrorism; chemistry such as carbon monoxide and CFCs; and social movements and organizations such as Earth First and the Green Party.
For additional online environmental science encyclopedias, see Gale eBooks - Environment