Gleeson Library: Museum Studies: Articles

Articles

Multisubject Databases

Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is among the most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

On Campus Link
JSTOR
Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
On-Campus Link
Project MUSE
Hundreds of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

On-Campus Link

Subject Databases

You can search for subject databases by looking in the A-Z Database list.

Here are a couple of other databases that might be good for this particular assignment:

Bibliography of the History of Art (this is an index, and does not always provide full text of articles. If you find what appears to be a useful article, please feel free to order it from ILL).

Oxford bibliographies (this is an index, and does not always provide full text of articles. If you find what appears to be a useful article, please feel free to order it from ILL).

Wiley Online Library (full text. Includes ebooks and articles)

Database Search Strategies

Too many results?

Make use of the limiters in databases. For example, remember to limit your search to journal articles and use date limiters to limit your results to recent scholarship, published within the last few years, if necessary.
Link keywords with AND -- the database should return ONLY those results that contain ALL of the keywords linked with AND, therefore limiting your results.
Try doing a subject search instead of keyword search. Subject searches are more targeted searches, and may increase the relevancy or usefulness of your results.

Too few results?

Experiment with different keywords that you haven't used yet.
Use an asterisk as a wild card. Example: sustainab* searches for sustainable, sustainability, etc.
Link synonyms with OR. For example: architecture OR design OR building. The database should return results that contain ANY of the keywords linked by OR, therefore expanding your search.

Additional reminders

Put short phrases in quotations to search for the phrase exactly. Example: "museum studies" searches for that exact phrase, rather than the words museum and studies separately.
In most databases, there is an option to limit to peer reviewed journal articles.

How Do I Find the Full-Text of Articles?

Click on the USF Find Full-Text link or button to see if we have access to the full-text (usually a pdf) of the article at USF. This will help you determine whether the article is available at USF through another database, other online subscriptions, or the the library’s print holdings. For more information, watch the tutorial Using USF: Find Full-text.
Use the Document Delivery portal to request articles USF owns or to request articles that USF does not own.

Stuck? Try Ask a Librarian: www.usfca.edu/ask

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to find specific, individual journals and magazines related to Museum Studies. These journals and journal articles are searchable through databases listed above, but sometimes it is helpful to go directly to the journal to search or browse.

Museum Studies

Articles

Follow Us