Gleeson Library: Faculty Resources: Faculty Resources

The librarians, staff, and resources of Gleeson Library are here to support your teaching, research, and publication activities.

From library instruction and research guides, course reserves and interlibrary loan, databases and open education resources, we're excited for you to take a look at what we have to offer!

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The library provides a campus subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education—the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and administrators.

Library Liaisons

Your department or program has a personal librarian, and you can find them here. Our liaisons support students, faculty teaching and research, and enhance the library’s instruction and collection development programs.

Transformative Agreements at USF

Find which journal publishers allow USF faculty to publish their articles open access with reduced or no author fees.

Teaching Support

Resources and services to support your students and classes.

Librarian Assistance

Library Instruction
Have your students get to know the library and its resources. You can request a librarian to come teach an instruction session that covers how to do research using library resources, developing topics, ethically using information, and more.

Library Liaisons
Library liaisons are your personal contacts in the library. The Library Liaison program pairs a librarian subject specialist with each academic department or program to support students, faculty teaching and research, and to enhance the library’s instruction and collection development programs.

Course Resources and Information

Course Reserves
How to set-up reserved materials for your classes: both online and print / physical items.

Open Access & Open Education
Learn about Open Access and how to use Open Educational Resources in your classes.

Affordable Textbook Options
Options for selecting free and low-fee readings for your classes.

Copyright at USF
Learn about copyright as it impacts your teaching and publishing, including best practices, and our copyright specialists at the library.

Research Support

Resources and services to support your research activities.

Research Assistance

Meet with a Librarian
Librarians are available by appointment to assist you with your research needs, including overviews of library resources.

Proxies
Designate your student assistant as your faculty proxy who will be authorized to borrow library materials for your use.

Research Databases and Guides

Research Guides
Curated guides to library databases and other resources by discipline and special topics.

Journal Finder
Does the library subscribe to this journal? Use the Journal Finder to look up full-text availability for journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Database List
Complete list of over 300 library databases, alphabetically and by subject/discipline.

Featured Databases

Scopus
Scopus provides robust resources for identifying the top journals in a discipline, and citation tracking and metrics for both individual faculty researchers as well as institutions. Of course Scopus is also a great search engine for scholarly literature across disciplines.
Comprehensive: Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other abstract and index (A&I) database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum. Timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, preliminary findings from millions of conference papers, and the thorough analysis in an expanding collection of books ensure you have the most up-to-date and highest quality interdisciplinary content available.

On-Campus Link
Very Short Introductions
Full text of over 700 short books in the Oxford University Press series "Very Short Introductions." Books in this series offer concise overviews to a wide range of academic subjects.
On-Campus Link
Credo InfoLit
Credo InfoLit is a set of more than 100 learning objects — online videos, tutorials, and quizzes — that help librarians and faculty teach information literacy concepts such as finding relevant and reliable research materials; formulating appropriate, workable research questions; and synthesizing information into a research paper, including appropriate citations.
Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies, updated regularly, of the best scholarship in multiple disciplines. Ideal for approaching new/interdisciplinary fields, and to guide faculty to key readings for courses.
Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, and combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Bibliographies brings to online research the quality assurance and authority that you expect from Oxford University Press. All articles receive multiple peer reviews and editorial board vetting to provide reliable and balanced coverage.

Articles are regularly updated by their authors so that information in this resource is always current and accurate. In addition to updating existing articles, new topic guides are added on a regular schedule to expand the scope and extent of each subject module in the library.

On-Campus Link

Research Services

Borrowing & Renewing
See our general borrowing provisions as well as specific borrowing guidelines for faculty.

Interlibrary Loan
If Gleeson Library does not have an article, book, or other item that you need, you can request it through ILLiad, and we will get it for you from another library.

Document Delivery
A library service that will scan and provide electronic delivery of print materials from the Gleeson Library collections, as well as home-delivery of physical materials.

Requesting New Materials
Faculty members are encouraged to request materials for the library collection which support their teaching and research needs.

Videos & Streaming Media
Your guide to using and requesting videos and streaming media for your classes.

Jesuit Library Passport
You have on-site library borrowing privileges at all 28 Jesuit institutions in the United States. Contact the Access Services department for more information (x2662).

Publication Support

Learn about open access opportunities for your work.

Publication Resources

Transformative Agreements at USF
Agreements with journal publishers to allow USF faculty to publish their articles open access at reduced or no cost to the author.

Scholarship Repository
The Library's open-access repository of USF scholarship. We encourage you to add your publications for archiving and open-access.

Faculty Resources

Library Collections