ART 110: History of Design

Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:

• If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
• If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
• If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
• I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
• Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.

So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link

Customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Gleeson Library subscriptions:

If you are on campus, Google Scholar should recognize you as a USF user and link you to the full text.

If you are working from an off-campus location, you will need to manually activate USF's Full Text Finder in Google Scholar Library Links:

1. Go to the Google Scholar search page.
2. In the upper left corner of the page, press the button made of three horizontal lines to open a new menu.
3. Click "Settings."
4. Select "Library links" and search for "University of San Francisco."
5. Check "University of San Francisco – Full Text Finder" in the search results, then click Save.

When you search Google Scholar, you should now see "Full Text Finder" links to the right of your results. Click on these links to check if USF has access to your article.

Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

On-Campus Link

This comprehensive index from the renowned Frick Art Reference Library of The Frick Collection provides a unique selection of art history periodicals. Journals covered in this index were published in a broad selection of languages that include English, French, Italian, German, Russian, Spanish, Dutch, and Scandinavian.

Content Includes:

Nearly 300 art history periodicals
Coverage from mid-1850 to late 1960s
International range of publications
Western European and American fine arts
Coverage of some decorative arts from the 4th to 19th centuries

On-Campus Link