Gleeson Library: Art + Feminism Wikipedia Edit-A-Thons: Resources

Library Resources for Editing

Here are some reliable library resources you can use to look for information to add to articles!

Additional Art Books can be found using Ignacio, the library's catalog.

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.

Library Resources on Specific Artists

Heidi Quante [wikipedia]
- Walking the Edge of the Earth
- When old words can't describe new reality
Dionne Lee [wikipedia]
- Dionne Lee: True North
Terry Berlier [wikipedia]
- Earth's in the balance as this art moves; Terry Berlier crafts kinetic views on environment and its perils
Paz De la Calzada [wikipedia]
Melanie Cervantes [wikipedia]
- Empujando tinta: the work and politics of Dignidad Rebelde
- ART WORKS. Hispanic, 08983097, Aug/Sep2009, Vol. 22, Issue 5
Asya Abdrahman [no wikipedia article yet]
- Novato exhibit of Muslim art seeks to cultivate understanding, celebrate creativity
Bessma Khalaf [no wikipedia page yet]
Deborah Childress [no wikipedia article yet]
- Fine living: get a closer look at Greenbrae artist Childress
- Deborah Childress. (Internet Archive free access: Artweek; July 23, 1988, Vol 18 p.8)
Jas Charanjiva [no wikipedia article yet]
- Meet Jas Charanjiva- The entrepreneur on street [graffiti message art]
- For the love of art - Bandra-based artist Jas Charanjiva talks to dna about her love for street art, graffiti festivals and more

Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Oxford Art Online
Authoritative articles on all aspects of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, and photography.
More than 45,000 articles from the printed 34-volume Dictionary of Art, and updated quarterly with new and revised articles, as well as thousands of images, and the content of The Oxford Comanion to Western Art, The Consice Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

On-Campus Link

Art & Architecture Source
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
On Campus Link
Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link

AWARE Archives of Women Artists
Free Art, Design, and Museum Resources
WomenArts
The Feminist Art Project at Rutgers University
Ubu Web
Digital Public Library of America
Archives of American Art
National Museum of Women in the Arts
Archives on Women Artists
NMWA list of online resources
National Women's History Museum
Women's History Sourcebook
MoMA Learning
Women Artists in the MoMA Online Collection
Tate Learning
The Getty Online
New Museum Digital Archive
Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art at the Brooklyn Museum
Brooklyn Museum Feminist Art Base
Arts: Search
Canadian Art Database
n.paradoxa: international feminist art journal
Getty Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
IAM Intense Art Magazine - Women in the fields of visual arts, fashion, design and architecture in Africa.
Canadian Women Artists History Initiative
Women Writers Project (No subscription required in March)
Internet Archive
Google Scholar
Google Books (might only provide previews)

Art + Feminism Wikipedia Edit-A-Thons

Library Resources for Editing

Library Resources on Specific Artists

Follow Us