Background Information
North American Multidisciplinary
- Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library. - CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. - SciELO
"SciELO" stands for Scientific Electronic Library Online. This open access database provides access to fulltext articles from over 1,200 Latin American journals on a wide range of subjects (not just science!). Most of the articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, although there is also some English language content.
Global Multidisciplinary
- African Journals OnlineAfrican Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.
- Vietnam Journals OnlineVietnam Journals OnLine (VJOL) is a service to provide access to Vietnamese published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Bangladesh Journals OnlineBanglaJOL is a database of journals published in Bangladesh, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of BanglaJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
- Central American Journals OnlineCentral American Journals OnLine (CAMJOL) is a service to provide access to Central American published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Mongolia Journals OnlineMongolia Journals OnLine (MongoliaJOL) is a service to provide access to Mongolian published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
- Sri Lanka Journals OnlineSLJOL is a database of journals published in Sri Lanka, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of SLJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals, and to the research they convey.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesAlterNative is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal that aims to present scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. AlterNative is a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary journal that publishes scholarship across the Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Health, Business, and Law.
- Journal of Indigenous ResearchThis Journal was created in response to community requests for information about research that has been conducted among their people. The focus of this publication is to obtain articles about research conducted with Native American, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian, Maori populations- written for laypeople. These articles will be published in the Journal of Indigenous Research and will also be sent to local Native newspapers and websites.
Background for Specific Heritages
- Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. - Chicano Database
Chicano Database includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology. - South Asia Archive
Culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within — and about — the South Asian region. Subjects included archaeology, industry, parliamentary debates and concerns, and law case reports. Other reports include a near complete set of the Calcutta riots of 1946 and gazetteers from a range of districts and territories, providing insight into colonial India.
Background for Countries
- Europa World
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. - EIU Viewpoint
Country profiles and economic reports, current economic events for nearly 200 countries or economic territories. - Nations of the World
Noted for its thoughtful, up-to-date, reliable and careful compilation, this completely-updated edition offers political, economic and business information on all the nations of the world in an easy-to-use, single source. - Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistical tables covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Data from as early as 1600, and as late as 2002, with the majority falling between 1790 and 1990. - Statista
Easy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts.
