Library Services, Resources, and News: Fall 2024
I'm Randy Souther, the library's liaison for Engineering.
This page highlights recent news, as well as some of the library's services and resources available to support faculty teaching and research. It will be updated ahead of each semester, and periodically in-between.
News
September 2024
New Addition: Annual Book of ASTM Standards
We have added the complete 87-volume set: Annual Book of ASTM Standards to our print collections. The set contains more than 12,000 engineering standards.
New Addition: Engineering Standards research guide
Step-by-step guide for searching and retrieving standards from the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, as well as standards from other publishers.
August 2024
Cancellations and Withdrawals
The library has had to cut more than $50,000 from our materials budget this coming year, and larger cuts are likely next fiscal year. See our Cancellations and Withdrawals page for a partial list of cancelled databases and journals.
See Cancellations and Withdrawals
Important cancellations include:
- Link+ — book borrowing and lending service (books can still be borrowed via our Interlibrary Loan service).
- ProQuest Ebook Central — more than 250,000 academic ebook titles.
- Passport GMID — international consumer and industry market research.
- Credo InfoLit — information literacy tutorials and videos
New Information Desk in the Library
The library's Reference Desk has been closed, and reference services have been moved and combined with circulation services at the Information Desk at the entrance of the library. Reference librarians will be on-call — just ask at the Information Desk.
Selected New Books in Engineering
Book summaries composed with AI-assistance.
Archimedes: Fulcrum of Science
Archimedes of Syracuse, revered by scientific giants like Galileo and Newton, was a groundbreaking mathematician and engineer in 212 BCE. Nicholas Nicastro's reimagining dispels the myth of an aloof, physically inept figure, portraying Archimedes as ambitious, competitive, and combative. This ancient polymath challenged an empire with his intellect, possessing knowledge that surpassed Europe's understanding for nearly two millennia. Nicastro presents Archimedes as the world's first truly modern scientist, a genius whose work laid the foundation for transformative discoveries centuries before his intellectual successors reshaped our understanding of the world.
Management Essentials for Civil Engineers: A Practical Guide to Business, Communication, Ethics, and Risk
"Management Essentials for Civil Engineers" is a comprehensive guide that bridges technical expertise with effective project management. The book covers crucial topics such as project management principles, leadership dynamics, risk management, contract law, communication strategies, value creation, and systems perspective. Written by professionals with diverse backgrounds, it offers practical insights and recommendations for civil engineers to enhance their management skills. The text employs a narrative approach to illustrate theoretical concepts, making it easier for readers to apply these principles in real-world scenarios. This resource aims to equip civil engineers with the necessary tools to align their projects with stakeholder objectives and achieve success beyond technical calculations.
Mindless: The Human Condition in the Age of Artificial Intelligence
Robert Skidelsky's book explores humanity's complex relationship with technology, from ancient tools to modern AI. It examines why "machine civilization" developed in certain regions and analyzes the interplay between capitalism, technology, science, and religion in shaping our world. The author highlights growing concerns about automation, surveillance, and AI-driven disasters, contrasting these with past optimism about technological solutions. Skidelsky delves into philosophy, science, economics, and fiction to trace our evolving understanding of technology and its implications for society and politics, offering a comprehensive view of our technological past, present, and potential future.
Cultures of Prediction: How Engineering and Science Evolve with Mathematical Tools
"Cultures of Prediction" explores the evolution of predictive methods in science and engineering over four centuries. Authors Johnson and Lenhard identify four predictive cultures: rational, empirical, iterative-numerical, and exploratory-iterative. They argue that mathematization in prediction is multifaceted, not a uniform process. The book examines pre-computer and computer-age prediction, highlighting how different modes coevolved with technology. This shift challenges traditional views of scientific theories as primarily explanatory, influencing research priorities and funding. The authors emphasize that prediction's history is not a simple triumph of abstract mathematics, but a complex interplay of various predictive cultures.
Annual Book of ASTM Standards
The Annual Book of ASTM Standards is a comprehensive collection of over 12,800 standards published in more than 80 volumes. It covers a wide range of industries and materials, organized into 15 sections. These sections include Iron and Steel Products, Nonferrous Metal Products, Construction, Petroleum Products, Paints, Textiles, Plastics, Rubber, Electronics, Environmental Technology, Energy, Medical Devices, and General Methods. This extensive compilation serves as a crucial reference for various industries, providing standardized testing methods, specifications, and guidelines for materials, products, and processes.
Latin* Students in Engineering: An Intentional Focus on a Growing Population
"Latin* Students in Engineering" explores the underrepresentation of Latin* individuals in engineering education and the workforce. The book examines current challenges and opportunities for Latin* students in engineering, considering both theoretical and empirical perspectives. It addresses institutional and social barriers to their success and retention, while also highlighting emerging efforts to improve their educational experiences. The volume concludes by discussing future research directions, policy recommendations, and practical strategies to enhance opportunities for Latin* students in engineering. This work is crucial for meeting the growing demand for engineering skills in the U.S. workforce and promoting equity in the field.
Soft Power for the Journey: The Life of a Stem Trailblazer
Dr. Sandra K. Johnson's inspiring journey as an African American woman in STEM is chronicled in this book. From humble beginnings in the segregated South, she became the first Black woman to earn a Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering from Rice University in 1988. Despite personal challenges, her innate abilities, discipline, and resilience led her to become an IBM Chief Technology Officer and a global technology leader. Dr. Johnson's story showcases her innovative contributions to high-performance computing, numerous patents, and technical publications. This compelling narrative highlights her triumph over adversity, demonstrating the power of persistence, faith, and soft power in achieving success in a challenging field.
Ethics and Engineering: An Introduction
As the global population grows and pursues higher living standards, we face increasing energy demands and climate change threats. Engineers are crucial in addressing these challenges, inevitably encountering ethical dilemmas in their work. This book explores ethical issues in engineering, focusing on their impact on assessment, design, sustainability, and globalization. It examines recent examples like the Fukushima disaster, Dieselgate, airport scanners, and biofuel production. Designed for both advanced students and professional engineers, the book provides an accessible yet comprehensive guide to identifying and addressing ethical problems in engineering practice.
Indigenous Engineering for an Enduring Culture
Indigenous Australians have engineered their landscape for millennia using sophisticated knowledge systems that integrate understanding of topography, geology, natural cycles, ecology, hydrology, and resources. This approach enables sustainable resource management and demonstrates a developed society capable of maintaining and refining accumulated knowledge. The book acknowledges Indigenous engineering's ingenuity, grounded in principles of sustainability, reciprocity, respect, and diversity. It challenges Western engineering perspectives and provides examples of collaboration between Western and Indigenous engineering principles. The work aims to integrate Indigenous knowledge into Australian engineering curricula, aligning with the Australian Council of Engineering Deans' 2017 position statement.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
This encyclopedia explores the role of theories in STEM disciplines, examining how they shape understanding and learning in these fields. It delves into the construction, evolution, and significance of theories, highlighting their importance in unlocking the mysteries of the world. The work features over 200 expert-authored articles, organized thematically with a Reader's Guide. Each entry includes further readings, cross-references, and a Resource Guide listing key books, journals, associations, and websites. This comprehensive reference provides valuable insights into the theoretical foundations of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Nourishing Tomorrow: Clean Engineering and Nature-Friendly Living
This book explores sustainable nourishment for people and the planet, featuring insights from 24 global experts across various fields. It addresses crucial aspects of human and environmental well-being, including food security, clean water, energy, healthcare, and resilient communities. The volume examines how to create environments where all life can thrive, covering topics from agriculture and biodiversity to waste management and disaster recovery. It serves as a comprehensive resource for professionals in biological science, agriculture, and sustainability, as well as for readers interested in understanding the complexities of global nourishment.
Inventor of the Future: The Visionary Life of Buckminster Fuller
Alec Nevala-Lee's "Inventor of the Future" is a comprehensive biography of Buckminster Fuller, the visionary designer and futurist renowned for the geodesic dome. The book explores Fuller's revolutionary approach to design problems, his concept of Spaceship Earth, and his influence on sustainability and technology. Nevala-Lee delves into Fuller's most famous inventions, his relationships with notable figures, and his tumultuous personal life. Drawing from extensive research and interviews, the biography offers a nuanced portrait of Fuller's career, challenging the myth of him as an otherworldly generalist. It highlights Fuller's enduring legacy and the continued relevance of his ideas in today's rapidly changing world.
Design for Resilience: Making the Future We Leave Behind
Stuart Walker's "Design for Resilience" presents a visionary framework for transformative design addressing climate change and global inequalities. The book combines research with practical examples to offer a hopeful approach to resilient design across all aspects of life. Walker's work decolonizes design thinking, aiming to fundamentally change design practice and its impact on our lives, communities, and industries. By asking "How should we live?," the book tackles high-priority issues, proposing paradigmatic changes for a sustainable future. This timely work provides both inspiration and pragmatic solutions for designers, policymakers, and individuals seeking to create lasting positive change.
Sustainable Civil Engineering: Principles and Applications
This comprehensive reference text explores the integration of clean technologies and sustainable materials in small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). It covers a wide range of topics including clean technologies, climate change impacts, sustainable buildings, smart cities, and innovative construction practices. The book delves into sustainability in road construction, geosynthetic applications, and environmental policies. Aimed at students, researchers, and professionals in civil engineering and infrastructure planning, it serves as a valuable resource for those seeking to develop sustainable infrastructures. By consolidating diverse concepts of sustainable civil engineering practices, this volume offers a holistic approach to creating environmentally responsible and resilient infrastructure systems.
Hidden in Plain Sight: The History, Science, and Engineering of Microfluidic Technology
Albert Folch's book explores the hidden world of microfluidics, a technology that underpins many essential devices in our daily lives. From inkjet printers to DNA sequencers, Folch reveals the stories behind these miniature fluidic marvels. He traces the development of key inventions, explaining both the technical aspects and the human efforts that made them possible. The book covers a wide range of applications, including organs-on-chips for drug testing, at-home pregnancy tests, cancer detection, and 3D printing. With engaging storytelling and over 100 color illustrations, Folch makes the invisible world of microfluidics accessible to non-specialists.
Teaching and Collecting Technical Standards: A Handbook for Librarians and Educators
Technical standards are crucial guidelines for product design, manufacturing, and testing. Universities are integrating standards into curricula to prepare students, especially in engineering, for workforce demands. Standards information literacy, which includes understanding standardization processes, identifying standards types, and effectively using standards, is essential but often overlooked. Libraries and librarians play a vital role in standards education, not only through curation but also by developing and teaching standards information literacy. This book provides librarians with background on technical standards, collection development practices, and a model for building a standards information literacy curriculum to help students succeed in their fields.
The Philosopher of Palo Alto: Mark Weiser, Xerox PARC, and the Original Internet of Things
Mark Weiser, Xerox PARC's first CTO and "father of ubiquitous computing," envisioned a future where technology seamlessly enhances our intuition without demanding attention or exploiting data. John Tinnell's biography explores Weiser's philosophical approach to computing, his groundbreaking experiments at PARC, and his growing concerns as tech leaders embraced his ideas. The book highlights Weiser's struggle to initiate a new computing era and his desire for technology to foster deeper connections. Tinnell presents a critical history of the Internet of Things through the lens of Weiser's life and innovative vision, contrasting it with today's smart device landscape.
How Things Work: The Inner Life of Everyday Machines
Theodore Gray has become a household name among fans, both young and old, of popular science and mechanics. He's an incorrigible tinkerer with a constant curiosity for how things work. Gray's readers love how he always brings the perfect combination of know-how, humor, and daring-do to every project or demonstration, be it scientific or mechanical. In How Things Work he explores the mechanical underpinnings of dozens of types of machines and mechanisms, from the cotton gin to the wristwatch to an industrial loom. Filled with stunning original photographs in Gray's inimitable style, How Things Work is a must-have exploration of stuff--large and small--for any builder, maker or lover of mechanical things.
How Technology Works: The Facts Visually Explained
"How Technology Works" is a comprehensive guide that demystifies the inner workings of everyday objects and cutting-edge innovations. From simple tools like zip fasteners to complex technologies such as driverless cars, the book explores a wide range of inventions that have shaped our world. It covers historical breakthroughs like the internal combustion engine and potential future solutions for global challenges. Using clear explanations and original graphics, the book breaks down complex devices into easily understandable components. Organized by application areas such as home, transportation, and computing, it offers readers a user-friendly exploration of STEM concepts, making it an ideal resource for curious minds seeking to understand the mechanics of the modern world.
The Things We Make: The Unknown History of Invention from Cathedrals to Soda Cans
"The Things We Make" by Bill Hammack explores the universal "engineering method" that has driven human progress for millennia. This hidden process, used in everything from agriculture to microchip design, follows consistent steps to solve problems and create innovations. Hammack, an award-winning professor and YouTuber, reveals how this method has shaped our world, from ancient cathedrals to modern soda cans. The book offers a fascinating perspective on human ingenuity, celebrating past achievements and future potential while changing how readers view the world around them.
Elon Musk
Elon Musk's biography by Walter Isaacson reveals a complex innovator shaped by childhood trauma and his father's influence. The book explores Musk's journey from a bullied child in South Africa to the world's richest man, detailing his contributions to electric vehicles, space exploration, and AI. Isaacson, who shadowed Musk for two years, provides an intimate look at the entrepreneur's risk-taking nature, mood swings, and intense drive. The biography examines Musk's compulsion for drama and his acquisition of Twitter, questioning whether the same demons that drive him are necessary for innovation and progress.
Long Hard Road: The Lithium-Ion Battery and the Electric Car
"Long Hard Road" chronicles the development of the lithium-ion battery from academic labs to its pivotal role in electric cars. It details the battery's journey through Japanese corporate culture, highlighting the race between Asahi Chemical and Sony to create a suitable anode. The book explores how lithium-ion technology overcame previous battery limitations, revolutionizing the electric car industry. It traces the evolution from early failures to AC Propulsion's innovative use of small lithium-ion cells, which eventually led to mainstream adoption by major automakers. The author emphasizes that the battery's creation was a collective effort of numerous scientists and inventors, rather than the work of a single individual or small group.
Sharing Our Science: How to Write and Speak STEM
"Sharing Our Science" by Brandon Brown is a comprehensive guide for STEM professionals seeking to improve their written and oral communication skills. The book addresses the growing need for scientists and engineers to effectively convey their work through various media. Brown covers fundamental writing principles, scientific-specific considerations, and social aspects of communication. Drawing from his experience as a scientist and writing instructor, he provides practical advice on crafting engaging narratives, conveying complex ideas, and presenting information across different formats. This accessible handbook is an invaluable resource for STEM practitioners aiming to enhance their communication abilities and share their work with both technical and general audiences.
Being Human in STEM: Partnering with Students to Shape Inclusive Practices and Communities
This book presents the Being Human in STEM Initiative (HSTEM), a model for creating inclusive environments in undergraduate STEM education. Born from student protests at Amherst College, HSTEM challenges assumptions about who belongs in STEM fields. The authors provide a framework for developing HSTEM courses, evaluating inclusive change initiatives, and adapting the model to various institutions. The book offers strategies for making any course more inclusive through active listening, validation, and reflective practice. It emphasizes the importance of institutional culture shifts and provides resources for educators to implement these changes. Each chapter includes reflective questions and practical exercises to foster inclusivity in STEM classrooms and laboratories.
Selected Services and Resources
Reminders of key resources ahead of each semester—see more in Faculty Resources:
Class Instruction
I will meet with you and your class to provide an overview of library resources and research strategies tailored to specific assignments. (Please request at least two weeks in advance.)
Appointments
If you are new faculty and would like a personal overview of what the library offers—or if you've been around a while and would like a refresher—please schedule a time to meet.
Course Reserves
The library can place both physical and online materials on reserve for your classes. We encourage you to make arrangements prior to the start of each semester or as soon as possible, and email gleesonreserves@usfca.edu with any questions.
Research Guides
We curate research guides for a variety of disciplines, topics, and classes. Please consider including a link to the Engineering guide on your course canvas pages for your students.
Book Orders
If you would like us to purchase specific books for the library, please contact me via email with the information: randall.souther@usfca.edu. We're happy to partner with you to build a rich and useful collection.
Streaming Videos for Classroom Use
If you’re planning on using streaming videos from the library, we encourage you to make arrangements prior to the start of each semester:
Even if you’ve made arrangements for a specific title in the past, please confirm that the license will be active during the semester. Many of our streaming videos are licensed for only a year at a time, and we want to make sure you and your students have access when you need it. License expiration dates, when applicable, are indicated in the “Access Restrictions” note in the catalog record for the video.
You can search our streaming video collection in the library’s catalog. For additional information, please see our Video and Streaming Media for Faculty guide, or contact me for help.