Secondary Sources: Magazine and Journal Articles
- Political Science CompletePolitical Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product.
- SciELO"SciELO" stands for Scientific Electronic Library Online. This open access database provides access to fulltext articles from over 1,200 Latin American journals on a wide range of subjects (not just science!). Most of the articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, although there is also some English language content.
- HAPIThe Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Our coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American StudiesThe Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
You may see a screen prompting you to register or personalize your account. You are not required to do so and can click the 'Continue' button to access the site. Similarly, if you encounter a “Welcome to Scopus” screen asking you to create an account or sign in, click 'X' in the upper right to close the window.
- FusionFusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Secondary Sources: Periodicals
Here are some of the key journals and news sources available at USF either in print or online. Use Journal Finder for detailed holdings information.
- Comparative Political Studies
- Comparative Politics
- Development and Change
- Foreign Affairs
- International Feminist Journal of Politics (not available at USF)
- Inter Press Service
- Journal of Democracy
- Journal of Latin American Studies
- Journal of Third World Studies
- Latin American perspectives
- Latin American politics and society
- Latin American Research Review
- NACLA report on the Americas
- New Political Science
- Peace Review
- Political Science Quarterly
- Women and Politics
- World Development
- World Politics
Secondary Sources: Books
- Ignacio: Library CatalogThe library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials. Alumni and visitor access.
- Link+Search across more than 60 libraries in California and Nevada, and request available books to be delivered to Gleeson Library in 2-4 business days.
Primary Sources: Newspaper Articles
- Access World NewsThrough nearly 7000 news sources, find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more.
- Nexis UniReplaces LexisNexis Academic.
More than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage
- Newspaperindex.comProvides links to newspaper websites from around the world, arranged by country.
Primary Sources: Statistics
- StatistaEasy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightThe database includes complete tables and abstracts for publications that include statistical information.
- Inter-American Development Bank StatisticsWith a history dating back to 1959, the Inter-American Development Bank is the leading source of development financing for Latin America and the Caribbean.
- UNdataUNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international agencies into one single internet environment. The innovative design allows a user to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
Additional Primary Sources
Resources Focusing on Latin America
- Political Database of the Americas - no longer updated?
- Upside Down World - no longer publishing new content as of October 2018.
- Washington Office on Latin America
- Non-governmental Organization SearchA custom Google search of non-governmental organization websites.
- Intergovernmental Organization SearchA custom Google search of intergovernmental organization websites.