Articles

Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Questions and Answers:

Does Fusion include everything the library has?
No, but it includes so much of what the library has that it will almost always be a good place to start a search.

When would Fusion not make sense as the first place to search?
Some examples:
- If you’re interested in finding only books, or a specific book title, then our library catalog Ignacio might be a more appropriate place to begin.
- If you’re looking specifically for statistical data, or encyclopedia/dictionary entries, or images, it would be better to use databases devoted to those specific types of information.
- If you're looking for a specific Journal title, you should use our Journal Finder.
- I’m very proficient using the subject-specific databases in my field. Is there any reason I should use Fusion?
- Because Fusion will have such broad coverage, it may locate relevant materials published in other fields that you wouldn’t otherwise find in a subject-specific database.
So then why would I want to choose a subject-specific database anymore—can I just use Fusion instead?
Fusion is not replacing any of our subject-specific databases. These databases offer valuable advanced searching capabilities tailored to their subject areas.

On-Campus Link

Watch this Fusion Tutorial to get started.
Don’t forget to use the limiters on the left-hand side of the interface to target your search!
Tools on the right can help you save, print, and generate citations for sources!

Journal Finder

You can use Journal Finder to find out which individual journals, magazines and newspapers we have at USF. Journal Finder also tells you if we have the journal in print or online or both, and which databases provide access to the journal. Finally, journal finder also shows the dates we have for each title.

To use Journal Finder, just type in the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper into the search box. (Note: don't type in the title of the individual article!) If we have access to the journal, you will see links to USF's print and/or online holdings. If we don't have access to the journal, you will see "0 records retrieved..."

You can also type in words such as Museum or Museums Studies to search for journals with those words in their titles. Remember, in many cases, access to these journals are provided by databases, so when you are searching in a database, you are searching across many journals at one time. Sometimes it's nice to go directly to a journal, though -- Journal Finder can help us do so!

Multidisciplinary Database options for finding journal articles

You can also search for information in other multidisciplinary or subject databases by looking in the A-Z Database list. Use the search box on the right to search for specific database, such as Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary database covering journals from a variety of fields) or Art & Architecture or ProQuest One Business (subject databases covering journals in Art and Business fields, respectively).

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is among the most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

On Campus Link
JSTOR
Full text of older issues of journals. Access includes Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business I Collection, Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
On-Campus Link
Project MUSE
Hundreds of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

On-Campus Link

MCLC Recource Center for Modern Chinese Literature

Fusion (Discovery Search, Very Broad): Fusion allows you to search, in one place, almost ALL of the library’s books, journal articles, videos, etc.

Watch this Fusion Tutorial to get started.
Don’t forget to use the limiters on the left-hand side of the interface to target your search!
Tools on the right can help you save, print, and generate citations for sources!

Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles that are not available at Gleeson. Articles will be scanned and delivered to your ILL account. We will send you an email to let you know that the article is ready for you to read! ILL requests for journal articles usually take less than a week!

CHIN 355 - Chinese Literature in Translation

Librarian

Articles

Journal Finder

Multidisciplinary Database options for finding journal articles

Follow Us