Gleeson Library: Biology: Biology Resources

Journal Articles

Biological Science Collection
Abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Includes results from Medline (PubMed) and Toxline databases.
Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Tutorials

PubMed Instructional Videos
PubMed Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Comprehensive: Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other abstract and index (A&I) database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum. Timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, preliminary findings from millions of conference papers, and the thorough analysis in an expanding collection of books ensure you have the most up-to-date and highest quality interdisciplinary content available.

On-Campus Link
SciFinder-n
Registration Required — see: "More" below. Citations and abstracts for journal articles from more than 10,000 journals covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more; patents; substance and chemical synthesis information; includes CAS Registry database, Analytical Methods, Formulus, and ChemZent.
Registration Required
You must first register for a personal login in order to access SciFinder:

REGISTER FOR YOUR PERSONAL LOGIN HERE.
(Use myUSF username / password to access the registration page)

After you create your personal login, you can use the first link to SciFinder-n at the top of this entry. Access to SciFinder is available to current USF students, faculty, and staff only.

Help Documentation

SciFinder-n Training Materials
Migrate Your Saved Alerts & Results from SciFinder to SciFinder-n

On Campus Link
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment(back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.

On-Campus Link

Reference Works: Basic information and overviews

Encyclopedias

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
17-volume reference work for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom, detailing animal life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. v. 1. Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes -- v. 2. Protostomes -- v. 3. Insects -- v. 4-5. Fishes I-II -- v. 6. Amphibians -- v. 8-11. Birds I-IV -- v. 12-16. Mammals I-V -- v. 17. Cumulative index
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals
The Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals, Third Edition covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears. This edition provides new content on anthropogenic concerns, latest information on emerging threats such as ocean noise, and impacts of climate change.
Ethology And Behavioral Ecology Of Marine Mammals
7-volume series providing ethological information on the major groupings of marine mammals, including 1) toothed whales and dolphins, 2) baleen whales, 3) eared seals and walrus, 4) true seals, 5) sea otter, marine otter and polar bear, and 6) manatees and dugong, the sirens.

eLS: Citable Reviews in Life Sciences
eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences. eLS articles are written by leaders in the field to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of each subject area.
On Campus Link
Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Microbiology Manuals

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology
Call Number: QR81 .B47 1994
Short general descriptions that encompass all organisms by Groups; shape and size, Gram reaction, other pertinent morphological features, motility and flagella, relations to oxygen, basic type of metabolism, carbon and energy sources, habitat and ecology.

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria
Bergey's is the most complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity. it provides descriptions of the taxonomy, systematics, ecology, physiology and other biological properties of all described prokaryotic taxa.
On campus link

Bibliographies and Reviews

Oxford Bibliographies: Evolutionary Biology
An annotated bibliography of the best scholarship in the discipline.
On Campus Link
Annual Reviews
Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic.
Gleeson Library subscribes to the following disciplines:

Anthropology
Biochemistry
Cell & Developmental Biology
Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
Entomology
Environment and Resources
Genetics
Genomics and Human Genetics
Immunology
Marine Science
Medicine
Microbiology
Neuroscience
Nutrition
Physical Chemistry
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Sociology

On Campus Link

Books

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.
Link+
Search across more than 60 libraries in California and Nevada, and request available books to be delivered to Gleeson Library in 2-4 business days. LINK+ will be cancelled at the end of spring semester 2024. More information.
WorldCat
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Ebooks

EBSCO eBook Collection
More than 165,000 academic ebooks in a wide variety of subjects with unlimited user access.
Using ebooks

On-Campus Link
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central offers more than 140,000 ebooks (with unlimited user access) in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
Using ebooks

Human Anatomy

Visible Body: Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body is an app that visually and interactively engages students in the core concepts of an undergraduate A&P course. Stunning animations review physiology and anatomical function. 3D anatomical models can be rotated, zoomed, and dissected. Quizzes, learning objective checklists, and an intuitive interface help students learn the content at their own pace.
Anatomy & Physiology includes:

50 chapters/modules that use 3D models, illustrations, and animations to present the core content in an undergraduate anatomy and physiology course
80+ 50-second animations that cover core physiology; 85+ 3D illustrations and 500+ 3D models that can be studied from any angle and varying zoom levels
On-screen controls for zooming, panning, rotating, and dissecting 3D models of twelve body systems (Cells and Tissue, Integumentary, Skeletal, Muscular, Nervous, Endocrine, Circulatory, Lymphatic, Respiratory, Digestive, Urinary, and Reproductive)
3D bony landmarks of the axial and appendicular skeleton
Audio pronunciations and definitions for hundreds of structures
65+ multiple choice and dissection quizzes with hundreds of questions
Notecard making feature

On-Campus Link

Anatomical Models

Anotomical models are available for check-out with a 3-hour loan period. Ask at the library circulation desk (front desk). Models are available in the following categories: 1. Skeletal Models; 2. Muscle Models; 3. Organ Models; 4. Sense Organ Models; 5. Pelvic Models. See the Anatomical Models page for more details.

Citation Manager

RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.

cell icon by WEBTECHOPS LLP from Noun Project (CC BY 3.0)

Biology

Reference Librarian