Library Services, Resources, and News: Fall 2025
I'm Randy Souther, the library's liaison for Biology & Biotechnology.
This page highlights recent news, as well as some of the library's services and resources available to support faculty teaching and research. It will be updated ahead of each semester, and periodically in-between.
Selected Services and Resources
Reminders of key resources ahead of each semester—see more in Faculty Resources:
Class Instruction
I will meet with you and your class to provide an overview of library resources and research strategies tailored to specific assignments. (Please request at least two weeks in advance.)
Appointments
If you are new faculty and would like a personal overview of what the library offers—or if you've been around a while and would like a refresher—please schedule a time to meet. I also meet with students.
Course Reserves
The library can place both physical and online materials on reserve for your classes. We encourage you to make arrangements prior to the start of each semester or as soon as possible, and email gleesonreserves@usfca.edu with any questions.
Tip: Items previously on reserve must be renewed ahead of every semester that you wish to have them available.
Research Guides
We curate research guides for a variety of disciplines, topics, and classes. Please consider including a link to the Biology or Biotechnology guide on your course canvas pages for your students.
Book Orders
If you would like us to purchase specific books for the library, please contact me via email with the information: randall.souther@usfca.edu. We're happy to partner with you to build a rich and useful collection.
Streaming Videos for Classroom Use
If you’re planning on using streaming videos from the library, we encourage you to make arrangements prior to the start of each semester.
Tip: Even if you’ve made arrangements to license a specific title in the past, please confirm that the license will be active during the upcoming semester. Many of our streaming videos are licensed for only a year at a time, and we want to make sure you have access when you need it.
More information:
Video and Streaming Media for Faculty guide
Open Access Publishing
Learn about open-access opportunities for your work.
Publisher Agreements
See our current agreements with journal publishers to allow USF faculty to publish their articles open access at reduced or no cost to the author.
USF Scholarship Repository
We encourage you to add your publications to the library's repository of USF scholarship for open access and archiving.
News
August 2025
Library Budget Cut
The library budget has been cut permanently by more than $900,000. Some the outcomes of this cut include the following:
Personnel
1 librarian and 1.5 OPE staff positions eliminated (all presently vacant).
Collections (Journal and Database Subscriptions)
Several databases, journal packages, and individual journal subscriptions will be eliminated. A full list will be available on our Cancellations and Withdrawals web page later in the fall semester. This list will include:
- Cambridge Journals (journal package) — more than 400 journals covering a wide variety of disciplines including Computer Science, Engineering, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy.
- Compendex (database)
- Sage Journals (journal package) — more than 1000 journals covering a wide variety of disciplines including Engineering and Life & Biomedical Sciences.
Please reach out to me if you wish to discuss in more detail our cancellations and their impacts.
View Cancellations & Withdrawals
New Administrative Position
The library will be hiring for a newly-created administrative position: Director of Operations & Budget.
The two primary areas this new role will be responsible for include Access Services and library-wide budget (non-collections). This position will be funded from one of the two presently vacant Associate Dean lines (or possibly from other vacant lines).
Scopus AI
We now have access to Scopus AI, a premium addition to our Scopus database subscription. Scopus AI is a generative AI tool that provides topic summaries based exclusively on the peer-reviewed literature (abstracts and metadata from 2003 forward) within the Scopus database. Scopus AI identifies the peer-reviewed sources for the claims in its summaries, and indicates its confidence level in addressing your query.
Tip: Just as general AI tools are not replacements for standard research, Scopus AI is not a replacement for a standard Scopus search and hands-on-review of results; but it can be a useful starting point to explore new or unfamiliar topics.
To use Scopus AI, login to Scopus as usual, and click the "Scopus AI" tab above the main search box.
July 2025
Change to Video Orders
Starting August 1, 2025 Gleeson Library will only accept requests to stream licensed videos which are available on the following platforms: Kanopy, Alexander Street, and Swank Digital Campus. In addition, the library has adopted a cap of $150 for a one year license or $350 for a three year license per title. While the library is unable to purchase video files and host them locally or add new platforms, we will carefully evaluate requests to purchase DVDs as long as they don’t exceed $150 per title. Faculty must use the Video Request Form to submit license or DVD purchase requests.
April 2025
New Library Search Interfaces.
Gleeson Library will launch new, more intuitive interfaces for Fusion and EBSCOhost databases on June 16. The update offers improved design, accessibility, and features.
Users must manually migrate any saved alerts and folders. See the Fusion and EBSCOhost Database Updates guide for more information, FAQs, and a link to preview the new interface.
In addition to Fusion, 77 EBSCOhost databases will implement the new interface, including:
- Business Source Complete
- Environment Complete
New database added: JSTOR Global Plants.
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
February 2025
New transformative agreement with Oxford University Press, and extended agreements with Cambridge University Press and Springer.
Transformative agreements allow you to publish your articles open access with no fees or reduced fees. Our current agreements are with Oxford, Cambridge, Elsevier, Springer, Association for Computing Machinery, and American Chemical Society.
View our Transformative Agreements
January 2025
ProQuest Ebook Central subscription ends February 1, 2025
ProQuest Ebook Central is one of our major ebook providers, and its cancellation will affect more than 250,000 titles in our collection.
If you rely on any specific ebook title for assigned readings in your courses, or for your own teaching or research, please check the ebook status below, and notify me promptly ( randall.souther@usfca.edu ) if the ebook is from ProQuest Ebook Central. Gleeson Library may be able to provide alternate access to frequently used ebooks.
See the link below to check the status of any ebook in question.
October 2024
Anatomical Models
The library has acquired a 2nd "Full Disarticulated Human Skeleton" anatomical model to help with high demand by students in Anatomy classes.
See the News Archive to view past news items for this and selected other disciplines.
Selected New Books in Biology
Book summaries composed with AI-assistance.
The Philosophy of Evolutionary Theory: Concepts, Inferences, and Probabilities
This book by Elliott Sober goes beyond core evolutionary concepts like natural selection and adaptation, to address a wide range of philosophical questions central to evolutionary biology. Sober examines topics such as fitness, altruism, chance, taxonomy, phylogenetic inference, operationalism, reductionism, conventionalism, null hypotheses, instrumentalism versus realism, the principle of parsimony, causality, determinism, and the knowability of past events. Through clear analysis, the book explores key arguments and methods of inference, offering deeper understanding of both Darwinian and contemporary evolutionary theory. It serves as a valuable resource for readers interested in the philosophical foundations of evolutionary biology.
The Evolution of Imperfection: The Science of Why We Aren't and Can't Be Perfect
The Evolution of Imperfection by Laurence Hurst challenges the assumption that evolution is a process of continual improvement by highlighting the many flaws embedded in our genetic makeup. From high rates of genetic disease to seemingly pointless stretches of DNA, Hurst shows how such imperfections arise from two forces: the unique risks of pregnancy and the historically small size of human populations. These factors increase genetic chance, mutation, and incompatibility. Exploring how genetic medicine now addresses some of these vulnerabilities, Hurst argues that embracing imperfection offers a deeper understanding of evolution and a fuller perspective on what it means to be human.
The Network of Life: A New View of Evolution
Evolution is not just a family tree of branching species, but a dynamic network where interconnections—like horizontal gene transfer, interbreeding, and coevolution—shape all life. David Mindell’s The Network of Life explores how this networked view of evolution offers new insights into species health, adaptation, and the impact of climate change and technology. Mindell argues that embracing the complexity of evolutionary networks is essential for safeguarding the health of humans, other species, and ecosystems in a rapidly changing world.
Everything Evolves: Why Evolution Explains More Than We Think, from Proteins to Politics
In Everything Evolves, Mark Vellend explores evolution as a universal force shaping both life and culture. Beyond biology, he argues that evolution—alongside physics—is a fundamental science that explains phenomena from viruses and giraffes to languages, economies, technologies, and artificial intelligence. By broadening the scope beyond Darwin, Vellend shows how principles of evolution drive human innovation, social systems, and solutions to global challenges like food security and AI development. Offering a sweeping tour of natural and social sciences, the book presents evolution as a unifying framework for understanding the modern world and navigating the complexities of the Anthropocene.
Fantastic Fungi: How Mushrooms Can Heal, Shift Consciousness, and Save the Planet
Fantastic Fungi is the richly illustrated companion to Louie Schwartzberg’s acclaimed documentary, which brought global attention to the power of mushrooms and fungi. Edited by renowned mycologist Paul Stamets and featuring contributions from experts like Michael Pollan, Dr. Andrew Weil, and Eugenia Bone, the book explores fungi’s potential to heal the planet, improve human health, and expand consciousness. With over 400 stunning photographs, it highlights the hidden beauty of the mycelial world while presenting groundbreaking research on fungi as medicine, environmental solution, and cultural catalyst—inviting readers to join a transformative movement rooted in nature’s most extraordinary organisms.
Intraterrestrials: Discovering the Strangest Life on Earth
In Intraterrestrials, biologist Karen Lloyd uncovers the hidden world of life deep beneath Earth’s surface. From ocean methane seeps and Arctic permafrost to Andean volcanoes and Central American jungles, she reveals how newly discovered microbes—thriving in boiling water, acid, or even rock—are reshaping our understanding of life’s possibilities. These “intraterrestrials” breathe rocks, endure for millennia, and illuminate early evolutionary pathways. Blending vivid field accounts with cutting-edge science, Lloyd shows how studying Earth’s deep biosphere not only redefines the limits of life on our planet but also guides the search for extraterrestrial life and humanity’s future resilience.
On Muscle: The Stuff That Moves Us and Why It Matters
Bonnie Tsui’s On Muscle, by the bestselling author of Why We Swim, is a wide-ranging exploration of what muscles are and what they mean to us. Blending science, culture, and personal narrative, Tsui examines how cardiac, smooth, and skeletal muscles sustain life, shape health, and influence ideals of beauty and strength. Through stories of athletes, researchers, and her own family, she reveals muscle’s role in resilience, endurance, and identity. From feats of lifting and running to Double Dutch and healing science, Tsui uncovers the surprising connections between body and mind, showing the poetry in our physical being.
Color in Nature
Color in Nature is a richly illustrated exploration of how color shapes life in the natural world and human experience. Drawing on discoveries in neuroscience, evolutionary biology, psychology, and design, it explains the physics, chemistry, and genetics of color, as well as how animals perceive and use it for communication, reproduction, defense, and survival. The book also examines colors invisible to humans, the evolution of visual strategies, and phenomena like color blindness. Bridging science and art, it reveals both nature’s and humanity’s creative uses of color, offering fresh insight into the vibrant patterns that shape perception and behavior.
The Trouble with Ancient DNA: Telling Stories of the Past with Genomic Science
The Trouble with Ancient DNA by Anna Källén examines how scientific methods and cultural forces shape the stories told about our ancient ancestors. While ancient DNA (aDNA) research offers groundbreaking insights, Källén reveals how narratives about migration, appearance, and identity—like those of Cheddar Man—are influenced by politics, media, and popular curiosity. She critiques the ethical risks of sensationalized interpretations and the privileging of certain questions over others, showing how science, storytelling, and power intersect. This thought-provoking work challenges readers to question which genetic histories we accept and the responsibilities scientists bear in shaping them.
Gain of Function
Gain of Function by Nicholas Evans examines the small but controversial subset of life science experiments that enhance viruses with new traits—such as increased transmissibility or lethality—raising concerns for health, security, and ethics. Tracing debates from early 2010s virology studies to the COVID-19 political firestorm, Evans explains what gain-of-function research is, how it’s regulated, and why it provokes intense scrutiny. Blending science, policy, and ethics, he explores the origins of public concern, the limits of regulation, and the stakes for the future of scientific inquiry and public health, offering a clear guide to one of biology’s most contested frontiers.
Extinctions: From Dinosaurs to You
Extinctions by Charles Frankel explores whether past mass extinctions can teach us how to avoid future planetary catastrophe. Using geological history—from asteroid impacts to Ice Age die-offs—Frankel reveals how ecosystems collapse and considers whether such tides could be slowed or reversed. Drawing parallels to today’s climate crisis and loss of biodiversity, he argues that human survival depends on curbing destructive consumption and conserving remaining species. Blending science and history, Frankel offers both a warning and a call to action: life is fragile, but with conscious change, we can shape a new evolutionary future instead of awaiting inevitable disaster.
The Science of Cooking: Understanding the Biology and Chemistry Behind Food and Cooking
The Science of Cooking: Understanding the Biology and Chemistry Behind Food and Cooking (Second Edition) uses the universal language of food to teach core concepts in chemistry, biology, and biochemistry. Designed for both science and non-science majors, it breaks down molecular-level processes into accessible explanations, supported by over 30 hands-on, inquiry-based activities and cooking labs that can be done in classrooms or at home. New chapters on foundational chemistry and biochemistry, real-world recipes paired with scientific insights, and enhanced learning tools make it ideal for future chefs, dietitians, scientists, and curious learners seeking to connect culinary practice with scientific understanding.
Where Biology Ends and Bias Begins: Lessons on Belonging from Our DNA
Where Biology Ends and Bias Begins by geneticist and anti-racism educator Shoumita Dasgupta delivers a science-based challenge to misconceptions about human difference. Drawing on history, current events, and cutting-edge research, Dasgupta dismantles myths about the genetic basis of race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, and class. She reveals how biology is often misrepresented—by doctors, scientists, and the public alike—to justify bias, and offers tools for interpreting science responsibly. With an intersectional lens, the book disentangles fact from prejudice, showing that our identities are shaped far more by society than by DNA—an empowering resource for combating misinformation and fostering equity.
Victorian Nightshades: How the Solanaceae Shaped the Modern World
Victorian Nightshades traces the 19th-century rise of the Solanaceae—a plant family long feared in England for its poisonous and psychoactive traits—into cultural and economic prominence. From the ominous belladonna and bittersweet to potatoes, tobacco, petunias, peppers, eggplants, and tomatoes, Campbell explores how these plants shifted from symbols of witchcraft and danger to staples of beauty, cuisine, and commerce. Through the lens of science, medicine, evolutionary theory, and popular culture, the nightshades’ story reveals Victorian tensions between superstition and knowledge, morality and desire—ultimately reflecting the era’s transformation from fear of the unfamiliar to embrace of modernity.
Starlings: The Curious Odyssey of a Most Hated Bird
Starlings by Mike Stark chronicles the European starling’s controversial journey in America. Released in Central Park by an aristocrat hoping to enrich birdlife, the species spread nationwide within sixty years, reaching over 200 million. Reviled for crop damage and urban invasions, starlings faced an eccentric war involving dynamite, bounties, fake owls, and more—yet persisted through remarkable adaptability. While many saw them as pests, others admired their dazzling aerial murmurations, mimicry of sounds from birds to car alarms, and survival instincts. Blending history, science, and irony, Stark offers a love-hate portrait of one of America’s most notorious—and misunderstood—avian invaders.
Smithson's Gamble: The Smithsonian Institution in American Life, 1836-1906
Smithson’s Gamble by Tom D. Crouch traces the Smithsonian Institution’s first 60 years, from James Smithson’s unlikely bequest to its rise as the world’s largest museum and research complex. Evolving from a small, focused entity into a leader in disciplines from astrophysics to zoology, it shaped America’s identity, advanced conservation, and even birthed the national weather service. Through political intrigue, controversy, and scientific triumphs, Crouch’s account reveals how curiosity and exploration drove progress, fueled by dedicated researchers and citizen scientists. Rich with characters, drama, and innovation, it captures how Smithson’s vision became a cornerstone of American cultural and scientific life.
Shimmer: Flying Fox Exuberance in Worlds of Peril
In her final book before her death in 2018, Deborah Bird Rose reflects on years of research with flying‑foxes, blending multispecies ethnography, wildlife conservation, and Aboriginal knowledge in eastern Australia. Immersed in the beauty, complexity, and vulnerability of these creatures, she witnesses both hope and heartbreak in efforts to save them from extinction. Through encounters of passion, cruelty, generosity, and wild wonder, Rose reveals how living with flying‑foxes illuminates urgent questions about life on Earth. She advocates for an “ethics of attention” — a mindful, everyday practice of care — rooted in connection, transformation, and the shimmering interdependence of all life.
Sex Is a Spectrum: The Biological Limits of the Binary
Sex Is a Spectrum by Agustín Fuentes challenges the binary view of sex, revealing that human biology and identity are far more complex than simply male or female. Drawing on evolutionary biology, anthropology, and current science, Fuentes explores the diverse ways sex exists in nature and throughout human history, from our ancestors’ varied gender roles to today’s lived experiences. Addressing debates in sports, medicine, and culture, he explains why XX or XY chromosomes don’t fully define us. This engaging, evidence-based work argues for embracing a biocultural spectrum of human variation, showing that rigid binaries misrepresent—and can harm—our understanding of humanity.
Feminism in the Wild: How Human Biases Shape Our Understanding of Animal Behavior
Feminism in the Wild by Ambika Kamath and Melina Packer explores how dominant cultural biases—such as sexism, racism, capitalism, and ableism—have shaped the study of animal behavior. The book critiques how scientists often project human norms onto animals, reinforcing oppressive systems by labeling them as “natural.” Drawing on feminist, antiracist, queer, disability justice, and Marxist thought, the authors challenge assumptions in evolutionary biology and propose more inclusive, critical approaches. Blending science with social critique, this collaborative work invites readers to rethink how we study animals—and why it matters for creating a more just world.
The Concise Book of the Moving Body
The Concise Book of the Moving Body, Second Edition is a fully illustrated guide to human anatomy, focusing on the musculoskeletal system, joints, and nerves. With over 500 color drawings and detailed charts, it’s ideal for students, therapists, and athletes. Organized into nine accessible chapters, it covers bones, muscles, tissues, and functional movement in daily life. New to this edition are chapters on the peripheral nervous system and the musculoskeletal system in motion, including everyday activities like walking and running. Designed for beginners in anatomy, it’s a valuable resource for bodywork, physical therapy, yoga, Pilates, and more.
Virality Vitality
Virality Vitality examines the history and present of virology, highlighting how viruses challenge our definitions of life and blur boundaries between self and other. Drawing on Derrida and biodeconstruction, the book explores the intertwined agency of viruses and living beings, questioning established scientific and philosophical concepts. It offers a fresh perspective on the relationship between the living and the nonhuman, showing how the borders between them are artificial, shifting, and open to interpretation—inviting new ways of thinking in science, philosophy, and ecocriticism.
Understanding and Addressing Misinformation about Science
In today’s digital age, misinformation about science spreads rapidly, making it difficult for individuals to discern accurate information. This issue poses risks at personal, community, and societal levels. Understanding and Addressing Misinformation About Science analyzes how misinformation arises—both intentionally and unintentionally—and its wide-ranging impacts. It emphasizes the importance of improving access to reliable scientific information to counteract misinformation. It offers evidence-based guidance on interventions and policies, considering the broader historical and social context. Ultimately, it provides a comprehensive framework for tackling misinformation and fostering trust in science across diverse populations.
Epigenetics in Ecology and Evolution
Epigenetics in Ecology and Evolution traces the history and molecular mechanisms of epigenetics, highlighting its growing importance in biology, medicine, and agriculture. The book explores how epigenetic processes influence ecology and evolution in plants and animals, and their broader societal impacts. By examining epigenetics at cellular, organismal, and ecosystem levels, it makes complex concepts accessible to students, professionals, and curious readers alike. The goal is to foster a critical, informed understanding of how genetics and epigenetics interact to shape life across diverse scales and applications.
The Risks and Ethics of Human Gene Editing: A Philosophical Guide to the Arguments
The Risks and Ethics of Human Gene Editing: A Philosophical Guide to the Arguments explores the ethical and philosophical challenges of editing the human germline—heritable changes to embryos or germ cells. The book maps the current scholarly debate, critically examines key arguments, and considers whether germline editing is uniquely problematic or justifiable in certain cases. Applying an ethics of risk perspective, it advocates for a morally cautious approach to human gene editing. This guide is essential for anyone seeking a clear, balanced overview of the complex risks and ethical questions surrounding the future of human genetic modification.
Seaweeds of the World: A Guide to Every Order
Seaweeds of the World is a richly illustrated guide exploring the diversity of seaweeds, from tiny microscopic forms to giant kelps. Highlighting their vital ecological roles and uses in food and fuel, the book explains their biology, distinguishing the three main groups—red, green, and brown algae—and their complex life cycles. With nearly 250 color photos, diagrams, and maps, it covers every major family and genus, offering an accessible and comprehensive introduction to these fascinating, often overlooked marine organisms.
Stand Out with Your Scientific Poster: A Step by Step Approach
This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to making a scientific poster that has real impact. Are you a researcher who struggles when it comes to creating scientific posters? Or do you simply want to get better at it? This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to making a poster that has real impact to ensure you stand out from the crowd at your next poster fair. A practical guide that gives you answers to questions like: what to put on a poster (and mainly: what not to)? How do you come up with a title that immediately grabs people's attention? What are the best images to use? How many words can you include on your poster? And much, much more... Everything you need to get started step-by-step and quickly achieve the best result.
Phenology
Phenology explores the timing of seasonal events in plants and animals—like leafing, blooming, migration, and hibernation—and how these patterns are shifting due to climate change. Theresa Crimmins explains how everyday observations connect us all to the science of phenology, highlighting both visible and hidden seasonal changes. The book emphasizes the importance of tracking these events, not only for personal enjoyment and mental health, but also to contribute valuable data that supports climate action. Ultimately, it encourages readers to become “everyday phenologists” and help document nature’s changing rhythms.
Infinite Life: The Revolutionary Story of Eggs, Evolution, and Life on Earth
“Infinite Life” by Jules Howard explores the often-overlooked significance of eggs in Earth’s biological history. Eggs are the origin of 90% of Earth’s organisms, found from deep-sea volcanoes to space. Howard argues that eggs deserve more attention in evolutionary studies, as they can provide unique insights into Earth’s history and natural selection. The book examines eggs from their earliest forms to fossilized discoveries, covering topics like yolk evolution, dinosaur eggshells, and animals that both lay eggs and give birth to live young. Through this comprehensive exploration, Howard highlights the diversity and impact of eggs on life on Earth.
Do Plants Know Math?: Unwinding the Story of Plant Spirals, from Leonardo Da Vinci to Now
“Do Plants Know Math?” explores the fascinating world of botanical spirals and the scientists who studied them. From Darwin to da Vinci to Turing, great minds were captivated by Fibonacci patterns in nature. The book delves into the history of this obsession, presenting a new geometrical solution to explain regular and irregular spiral patterns in plants. It covers related plant geometries like fractals and leaf folding, accompanied by stunning illustrations. The book aims to inspire readers to see botanical patterns with fresh eyes, offering hands-on activities and recipes to engage with these intriguing natural phenomena.
One Man in his Time: A Memoir
Nicholas Borodin, a prominent Russian microbiologist, navigated a successful career during Stalin’s era, cooperating with the Soviet regime and even the Secret Police. However, during a 1948 UK trip, he became acutely aware of the intellectual suppression in his homeland. This realization led him to commit treason by renouncing his Soviet citizenship. “One Man in his Time” chronicles Borodin’s journey from a revolutionary childhood through his scientific pursuits amidst the purges, offering a candid portrayal of life under totalitarianism and his collaboration with Soviet authorities.
Into the Great Wide Ocean: Life in the Least Known Habitat on Earth
“Into the Great Wide Ocean” explores the mysterious world of open ocean life and the scientists who study it. Sönke Johnsen describes how marine organisms adapt to unique challenges like darkness, pressure, and finding food and mates in this vast environment. The book highlights the diverse creatures inhabiting this realm, from giant squid to bioluminescent anglerfish. Johnsen intertwines scientific insights with personal stories of researchers, emphasizing the joys and difficulties of studying this alien world. The author also addresses the threats facing this ecosystem due to human activity, underlining the urgency of understanding and preserving this crucial part of Earth’s biosphere.
Macroevolutionaries: Reflections on Natural History, Paleontology, and Stephen Jay Gould
“Macroevolutionaries” by Bruce S. Lieberman and Niles Eldredge pays homage to paleontologist Stephen Jay Gould through a series of essays on natural history. The authors, who were Gould’s colleagues and friends, explore major evolutionary concepts like punctuated equilibria and mass extinctions. They connect paleontology to popular culture, philosophy, and the history of science, while also sharing personal anecdotes about Gould. The book demonstrates the continued relevance of Gould’s perspective on evolutionary theory and its place in contemporary life, offering an engaging blend of scientific insight and cultural commentary for readers interested in paleontology and evolutionary biology.
The Light Eaters: How the Unseen World of Plant Intelligence Offers a New Understanding of Life on Earth
“The Light Eaters” by Zoë Schlanger explores the hidden world of plants, revealing their remarkable abilities to communicate, remember, and adapt. This groundbreaking work challenges our understanding of intelligence and consciousness in the plant kingdom. Schlanger takes readers on a global journey, examining cutting-edge botanical research and the scientists behind it. The book highlights plants’ ingenious survival methods, from mimicry to social behavior, and questions our place in the natural hierarchy. It also delves into the ethical implications of these discoveries, prompting readers to reconsider their relationship with the green world. This critically acclaimed bestseller offers a fresh perspective on plant life, blending scientific insight with captivating storytelling.
The Song of the Cell: An Exploration of Medicine and the New Human
“The Song of the Cell” by Siddhartha Mukherjee is a critically acclaimed book that explores the history and significance of cellular biology. It traces the discovery of cells in the 1600s by Robert Hooke and Antonie van Leeuwenhoek, and how this revolutionized our understanding of living organisms. Mukherjee explains how cells form the basis of human physiology and how cellular dysfunction leads to various diseases. The book also delves into modern cellular therapies and their potential to transform medicine. With vivid storytelling and scientific depth, Mukherjee presents a comprehensive view of cellular biology and its impact on human health.
Dr. Calhoun's Mousery: The Strange Tale of a Celebrated Scientist, a Rodent Dystopia, and the Future of Humanity
“Dr. Calhoun’s Mousery” by Lee Alan Dugatkin explores the fascinating work of John Bumpass Calhoun, an ecologist who conducted experiments on rodent populations to study the effects of overpopulation. Calhoun’s “Mouse Universe 25” and other rodent cities initially provided utopian environments but eventually devolved into chaotic, dysfunctional societies. His research gained widespread attention, influencing urban planning, literature, and discussions on human overpopulation. The book delves into Calhoun’s rise to scientific stardom, his concept of “behavioral sinks,” and the cultural impact of his work during the 1960s and 1970s. Dugatkin’s biography offers a compelling look at Calhoun’s life, the changing nature of scientific research, and the potential lessons animal behavior can teach us about human society.
What's in Your Genome?: 90% of Your Genome Is Junk
“What’s in Your Genome?” explores the human genome’s composition, highlighting that only 10% consists of functional elements like genes and regulatory regions. The book argues that 90% is junk DNA, comprising broken genes, transposons, and viral remnants. It examines the controversial debate surrounding this conclusion, addressing misconceptions in scientific literature and popular media. The author, Laurence A. Moran, traces the concept of junk DNA to the 1960s, explaining how nearly neutral theory and genetic drift support the idea of genomes containing non-functional DNA. The book aims to provide an accurate, up-to-date understanding of the human genome’s content.
The San Joaquin Kit Fox: Biology, Ecology, and Conservation of an Endangered Species
The San Joaquin Kit Fox, a small wild canid native to central California, faces significant conservation challenges due to habitat loss from development. Brian L. Cypher’s book synthesizes biological and ecological data on this endangered species, detailing its evolutionary history, distribution, habitat preferences, and mortality sources. The author explores the complex relationship between the fox, humans, and land use, documenting historical and contemporary conservation efforts. This accessible and illustrated reference serves as a valuable resource for students, researchers, and conservationists working to secure the future of this charismatic creature and similar species.
Life As No One Knows It: The Physics of Life's Emergence
“Life as No One Knows It” by Sara Imari Walker presents a groundbreaking scientific theory on the nature and emergence of life. Walker argues that current definitions of life are inadequate and proposes a new paradigm to understand life’s origins and potential forms beyond Earth. The book explores the work of innovative scientists tackling this complex problem and introduces a novel theory for identifying and classifying life universally. Walker’s approach aims to bridge the gap between physics and biology, offering a fresh perspective on one of science’s most challenging questions.
The Biology Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained
“The Biology Book” is a comprehensive guide that explores key discoveries and theories in biology. Part of the Big Ideas series, it presents complex topics in an accessible format through vibrant graphics and diagrams. The book covers over 95 crucial ideas in biology and life sciences, including DNA, genetic inheritance, vaccines, cloning, neuroscience, human evolution, and gene editing. It introduces influential scientists like Linnaeus, Lamarck, Darwin, and Mendel. With its visual approach and easy-to-follow text, this book serves as an excellent resource for both novices and experts, offering a fresh perspective on biology and its core concepts.
The Secret Life of the Universe: An Astrobiologist's Search for the Origins and Frontiers of Life
“The Secret Life of the Universe” by Nathalie A. Cabrol explores humanity’s quest to find extraterrestrial life. This comprehensive guide delves into the origins of life on Earth, the potential for life on Mars and icy moons in our solar system, and the search for habitable exoplanets. Cabrol, an astrobiologist and director of the Carl Sagan Center at SETI, presents cutting-edge research and recent astronomical discoveries that suggest the possibility of widespread life in the universe. The book offers an authoritative and awe-inspiring journey through the cosmos, addressing one of humanity’s most profound questions: Are we alone?
Transformer: The Deep Chemistry of Life and Death
Nick Lane’s “Transformer” explores the Krebs cycle, a fundamental metabolic process, as the key to understanding life and death. The book challenges the focus on genetic information in biology, emphasizing the importance of our inherited metabolic network. Lane argues that the same simple chemistry driving the Krebs cycle both sustains life and leads to our demise. He investigates how this cycle, operating in reverse, created the building blocks for life’s origin, while its forward operation powers our cells and contributes to aging. “Transformer” connects cellular metabolism to broader questions about life’s origin, aging, and consciousness, presenting metabolism as the deep logic underlying biological phenomena.
The Catalyst: RNA and the Quest to Unlock Life's Deepest Secrets
“The Catalyst” by Thomas R. Cech highlights RNA’s pivotal role in biology, challenging DNA’s dominance as the “secret of life.” The book explores RNA’s significance in life’s origins, human uniqueness, and health. Cech traces RNA’s journey from a passive DNA servant to a central player in cellular reactions. He discusses its involvement in aging, diseases, and groundbreaking therapies like CRISPR and mRNA vaccines. The author presents RNA as key to understanding life’s mysteries and shaping the future of medicine, offering insights into potential life-extending technologies.
The Story of Nature: A Human History
“The Story of Nature: A Human History” by Jeremy Mynott explores humanity’s evolving relationship with the natural world from prehistory to the present. The book traces our understanding of nature through various eras, from cave paintings to the Romantic period’s landscape discovery, culminating in today’s climate crisis. Mynott examines how human perceptions of nature have shaped our interactions with it, revealing deep-rooted desires to control the environment. As we face ecological challenges, the author suggests that human imagination and wonder can play a crucial role in restoring our connection to nature and understanding its significance in our lives.
Serendipity: The Unexpected in Science
“Serendipity” by Telmo Pievani explores the role of unexpected discoveries in scientific progress. The book delves into the concept’s origins, presents a taxonomy of serendipitous findings, and examines the conditions that foster such discoveries. Pievani argues that serendipity is not mere luck but a combination of curiosity, sagacity, and imagination. He illustrates this through various examples beyond common ones like penicillin or X-rays. The author emphasizes that serendipity reveals the vastness of human ignorance and highlights how the human brain, evolved within the world it investigates, is uniquely suited to make these unexpected connections.
The Genetic Book of the Dead: A Darwinian Reverie
Richard Dawkins' new book presents a novel perspective on living organisms, viewing them as documents describing ancient worlds. He argues that an animal's body, behavior, and genes can be read like a book, revealing its ancestral history. This approach allows scientists to decode the evolutionary past of species, uncovering how they adapted to their environments and developed similar solutions to life's challenges. Dawkins illustrates this concept with examples like a camouflaged lizard whose skin "paints" its ancestral landscape. The book offers a groundbreaking exploration of Darwinian evolution's power to illuminate the past, providing a vivid and nuanced view of evolutionary history.
Lost Frogs and Hot Snakes: Herpetologists' Tales from the Field
"Lost Frogs and Hot Snakes," edited by Martha L. Crump, offers a captivating glimpse into the world of herpetology through 50 field biologists' essays. From Peru's beaches to China's mountains, readers experience the excitement and challenges of studying amphibians and reptiles in their natural habitats. The collection recounts mishaps, discoveries, and rare encounters, providing insight into the daily life of field biologists. With warmth and humor, these stories highlight the importance of engaging with nature and underscore the critical role of amphibians and reptiles in our planet's ecosystem.
The Scientific Legacy of Har Gobind Khorana: Total Synthesis and the Genetic Code
Har Gobind Khorana's scientific biography traces his remarkable journey from rural poverty in India to becoming a Nobel Prize-winning chemist in the United States. The book chronicles his education in Britain and Switzerland, followed by his career in Canada and the US. It details Khorana's groundbreaking achievements, including deciphering the genetic code, synthesizing the first functional gene, contributing to PCR technology, and studying the structure-function relationship of biological macromolecules in membranes. The biography emphasizes Khorana's unwavering dedication to science and explores his enduring legacy, offering inspiration for future generations of scientists.
From Chromosomes to Mobile Genetic Elements: The Life and Work of Nobel Laureate Barbara Mcclintock
Barbara McClintock (1902-1992), a Nobel Laureate in cytogenetics and evolutionary biology, is the subject of this comprehensive biography. The book traces her scientific journey from her early years through her groundbreaking discovery of transposable elements in the mid-1940s, which eventually earned her the Nobel Prize. It contextualizes McClintock's life and work within the social and scientific landscape of her time, debunking myths and misinterpretations surrounding her career. The biography covers her family background, education, research in Nazi Germany, and her significant contributions to the field long before her Nobel-winning discovery. It offers a well-documented, demystified account of McClintock's life and her lasting impact on genetics.
Of Cockroaches and Crickets: Learning to Love Creatures That Skitter and Jump
Entomologist Frank Nischk's book challenges our perceptions of "nasty" insects, particularly cockroaches. Through humorous and captivating anecdotes, he reveals the fascinating world of these often-misunderstood creatures. Nischk's journey from hummingbird research to cockroach studies leads to surprising discoveries about their resilience, parenting skills, and adaptability. His adventures in Ecuador's insect-rich jungles and encounters with various species showcase the diversity and importance of insects in our ecosystem. The book offers a fresh perspective on bugs, encouraging readers to appreciate their beauty and significance in the natural world.
The Monarch Butterfly Migration: Its Rise and Fall
Each fall, millions of monarch butterflies embark on a 3,000-mile migration from Canada to Mexico, captivating butterfly enthusiasts along the way. This book explores the monarch's incredible journey, its rise to public attention following a 1976 National Geographic article, and the subsequent conservation efforts. The author, Monika Maeckle, delves into the butterflies' history, current challenges, and the community of scientists and advocates working to protect them. The book also examines broader issues of climate change and the balance between advocacy and scientific accuracy, encouraging readers to appreciate and preserve the natural wonders around them.
Dissection Photography: Cadavers, Abjection, and the Formation of Identity
In "Dissection Photography: A Cultural History," the author explores a shocking genre of late 19th and early 20th-century photography where medical students posed with cadavers. The book unveils previously unseen images and anecdotes, examining the visual culture of death in anatomy labs from both photographic and medical viewpoints. It delves into how these photographs became an expression of student identity and evolved into a transgressive ritual that eventually superseded the act of dissection itself. This unique cultural history sheds light on a little-known aspect of medical education and the complex relationship between death, science, and photography during this period.
Octopus Biology and Ecology
"Octopus Biology and Ecology" offers a comprehensive exploration of these remarkable creatures, covering their origins, life cycles, behaviors, and habitats. The book features detailed accounts of 21 species worldwide, accompanied by vibrant images. It delves into the potential impacts of climate change on octopuses and highlights emerging research areas, including cognition, citizen science, and deep-sea studies. This invaluable resource serves marine biologists, students, and professionals in fisheries and aquaculture. As octopuses become increasingly important for human consumption, the book provides crucial information to support sustainable exploitation and conservation efforts.
Slippery Beast: A True Crime Natural History, with Eels
Ellen Ruppel Shell's "Slippery Beast" explores the enigmatic world of eels, blending true crime, natural history, and economics. The book delves into the eel's 200-million-year history, their recent population decline, and their culinary appeal as unagi. Shell investigates the mysterious life cycle of eels, their valuable elvers, and the billion-dollar illegal trade surrounding them. She follows the eel's journey from Maine to the Sargasso Sea, uncovering poaching operations and exploring potential solutions like America's first commercial eel farm. This captivating narrative offers a unique perspective on an often-overlooked creature that reveals as much about human nature as it does about eels themselves.
Annelida
Annelida is a comprehensive reference work on segmented worms, expanding on the classic Polychaetes (2001) to include Clitellata, Sipuncula, and Thalassematidae. It reflects recent research advancements and uses annelids as model organisms for evolutionary and ecological studies. The book provides an introduction to the phylum, taxonomy, collection methods, and anatomy. It features 77 updated taxonomic chapters based on the latest molecular phylogenomic evidence. Richly illustrated with high-resolution color images and SEM micrographs, it showcases the diversity and beauty of annelids. This definitive work serves annelid biologists and appeals to a broader audience of invertebrate zoologists and systematists.
Female Biology
USF professor Jennifer Dever's textbook derives from a course called "Female Biology" developed over 20 years ago to address a gap in undergraduate biology education. The course focuses on the evolutionary aspects of being female and women's specific health issues, topics often overlooked in traditional male-centric biology textbooks. It highlights the unique biological aspects of females, inequities faced by female scientists, and covers topics such as sex evolution, gender identity, sexuality, reproduction, anatomy, and physiology. The course also addresses healthcare disparities among marginalized female and transgender populations, aiming to provide a more comprehensive and inclusive approach to biology education.
A Sea Full of Turtles: The Search for Optimism in an Epoch of Extinction
"A Sea Full of Turtles" is an inspiring adventure story that explores marine life and offers hope amidst the ongoing mass extinction. Set in Mexico's Gulf of California, the book focuses on successful sea turtle conservation efforts while addressing broader environmental challenges. The author argues that optimism and a changed relationship with nature are crucial in combating the extinction crisis. By blending travel narrative with environmental activism, the book aims to inspire readers to take action and fight for Earth's biodiversity. It serves as a powerful reminder that hope and positive change are possible in the face of seemingly insurmountable ecological challenges.
Unnatural Habitat: The Native and Exotic Wildlife of Los Angeles
Craig Stanford, a field biologist and conservationist, explores the diverse wildlife coexisting within Los Angeles in his book. Highlighting over 150 native and introduced species, Stanford's vivid accounts reveal the ecological wonders of Southern California, from sagebrush to skunks and mountain lions. His work, praised by the Los Angeles Times, emphasizes the importance of appreciating and supporting urban biodiversity amidst urbanization. Through engaging storytelling and research, Stanford urges readers to recognize the natural world within cityscapes and warns of the dangers threatening these ecosystems. This insightful guide showcases the beauty and necessity of harmonious urban-nature coexistence.
Eve: How the Female Body Drove 200 Million Years of Human Evolution
"Eve" by Cat Bohannon offers a groundbreaking perspective on human evolution, centering on the female body's role over 200 million years. This New York Times bestseller challenges traditional evolutionary biology narratives, exploring why women live longer, are more prone to Alzheimer's, and experience menopausal symptoms. Bohannon's witty and erudite approach covers a range of topics, from academic performance differences between genders to the evolutionary implications of sexism. The book provides a comprehensive "user's manual" for the female mammal, filling a crucial gap in our understanding of human development and modern medicine. "Eve" promises to revolutionize readers' comprehension of evolution and Homo sapiens' success as a species.
Radical by Nature: The Revolutionary Life of Alfred Russel Wallace
Alfred Russel Wallace, a Victorian-era naturalist and co-discoverer of natural selection, led an extraordinary life marked by scientific brilliance and social advocacy. James Costa's biography "Radical by Nature" explores Wallace's expeditions to Amazonia and Southeast Asia, his groundbreaking contributions to evolutionary biology, and his complex relationship with Charles Darwin. The book delves into Wallace's humble origins, his self-taught expertise, and his controversial pursuits in spiritualism and socialism. Costa draws on personal documents to paint a comprehensive picture of Wallace as both a revolutionary scientist and a passionate advocate for social causes, highlighting his enduring legacy in the natural sciences and beyond.
Selected New Books in Biotechnology
Book summaries composed with AI-assistance.
Plant Biotechnology and Genetics: Principles, Techniques, and Applications
The latest edition of Plant Biotechnology and Genetics offers an authoritative introduction to the science and applications of plant biotechnology. Covering basic plant biology, genetics, and key biotechnological methods, the text explores advances that improve yield, nutrition, and resistance while shaping modern agriculture. Fully updated, it includes new chapters on genome editing, chloroplast engineering, and synthetic biology, with expanded coverage of genomic selection and haploid production. Featuring discussion questions, summaries, and a companion website, this edition is an essential resource for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and professionals interested in the future of food production and agricultural innovation.
Navigating the Business Side of Biomedicine and Biotechnology
Navigating the Business Side of Biomedicine and Biotechnology bridges the gap between biomedical science and finance, offering an accessible introduction to how business and financial principles shape healthcare delivery and drug development. The book explains essential financial concepts, business models, and industry terminology, helping readers understand the dynamic relationship between scientific innovation and commercial strategy. Covering topics across ten chapters, it is designed for biomedical professionals, healthcare managers, researchers, policymakers, and anyone interested in the financial underpinnings of the biotech and healthcare industries. This guide addresses the evolving challenges of biotechnology, alternative business models, and patient access.
Introduction to CRISPR-Cas9 Techniques: Strategies for the Laboratory and the Classroom
This textbook offers a comprehensive introduction to CRISPR-Cas9 technology, covering its fundamentals and applications across various biological model systems. Edited by experts in molecular biology and education, it guides students in understanding and ethically using CRISPR-Cas9 in research and classroom settings. Designed for undergraduates and advanced high school students in molecular biology, genetics, genomics, and bioengineering, the book serves as an ideal resource for both learners and instructors, providing clear explanations and practical teaching tools for integrating CRISPR-Cas9 into the curriculum.
The Risks and Ethics of Human Gene Editing: A Philosophical Guide to the Arguments
The Risks and Ethics of Human Gene Editing: A Philosophical Guide to the Arguments explores the ethical and philosophical challenges of editing the human germline—heritable changes to embryos or germ cells. The book maps the current scholarly debate, critically examines key arguments, and considers whether germline editing is uniquely problematic or justifiable in certain cases. Applying an ethics of risk perspective, it advocates for a morally cautious approach to human gene editing. This guide is essential for anyone seeking a clear, balanced overview of the complex risks and ethical questions surrounding the future of human genetic modification.
Crop Biofortification: Biotechnological Approaches for Achieving Nutritional Security under Changing Climate
Crop Biofortification provides a current, comprehensive overview of strategies to enhance crop nutrient levels—using plant breeding, agronomic practices, and biotechnology—to address global hunger. The book details advanced methodologies, omics technologies, and climate change impacts on biofortified crops, aiming for sustainable food production. It guides researchers, policymakers, and students in agronomy, plant sciences, and biotechnology, offering practical approaches to increase food’s nutritional value and support a 70% boost in global food production by 2050. This timely resource is vital for anyone committed to combating malnutrition and food insecurity worldwide.
Biotechnology, Gestation, and the Law
Biotechnology, Gestation and the Law offers the first comprehensive ethico-legal analysis of emerging gestational technologies like uterus transplantation and ectogestation. Elizabeth Chloe Romanis explores how these innovations challenge traditional concepts of gestation, parenthood, and gender, using a framework grounded in ontology, phenomenology, politics, and law. The book examines ethical and legal questions about access, parenthood, and the classification of procreative technologies, highlighting how such advances could reshape gender roles and reproductive rights. Romanis calls for legal and social reform to address the harms of gendered assumptions in procreation and considers the future of reproductive technology regulation.
Mushroom Biotechnology for Improved Agriculture and Human Health
This book explores the transformative potential of mushroom biotechnology in addressing global food insecurity and health challenges. It highlights recent advances in using mushrooms for sustainable agriculture, enhanced nutrition, pest and disease management, and the discovery of novel bioactive compounds with pharmaceutical applications. The volume offers practical, adaptable methodologies and detailed insights into maximizing the benefits and profitability of mushroom biotechnology. An essential reference for researchers in agriculture, microbiology, biotechnology, and pharmaceutical sciences, the book demonstrates how mushrooms can drive innovative, sustainable solutions for food, health, and environmental sectors.
Patenting Life: Tales from the Front Lines of Intellectual Property and the New Biology
Patenting Life explores how the rise of genetic engineering in the 1970s transformed biologists into inventors and entrepreneurs. Goldstein recounts legal battles over patented organisms, crops, and gene-editing technologies like CRISPR, as well as issues of ownership and access to life-saving treatments. The book highlights both the benefits and controversies of biotechnology patents, from breakthrough drugs to genetically modified crops and global medicine access. With firsthand stories and expert analysis, “Patenting Life” offers a compelling look at how patent law shapes scientific innovation and is essential reading for those interested in biotechnology, innovation, and the law.
Microbial Colorants: Chemistry, Biosynthesis and Applications
Microbial Colorants: Chemistry, Biosynthesis and Applications offers a comprehensive overview of microbial pigments, detailing their sources, chemistry, biosynthesis, and wide-ranging applications in food, cosmetics, textiles, and technology. The book addresses extraction methods, production enhancement, environmental sustainability, and regulatory issues, highlighting microbial colorants as eco-friendly alternatives to synthetic dyes. Covering both scientific and practical aspects, it provides valuable insights for researchers, students, and industry professionals seeking sustainable solutions and innovations in pigment production and use. This volume is an essential resource for anyone interested in the science and industry of natural colorants.
Diatom Cultivation for Biofuel, Food and High-Value Products
Diatom Cultivation for Biofuel, Food and High-Value Products explores the scientific, economic, and technical aspects of harnessing diatoms for sustainable solutions. It examines innovative cultivation reactors, harvesting methods (e.g., chitosan flocculation, “bubble farming”), and genetic engineering tools like CRISPR-Cas9 to boost lipid yields for biofuels. The book also highlights diatom applications in bioremediation, functional foods, and industrial materials, alongside challenges in scaling production and ethical considerations. With insights into stress-induced lipid enhancement, nano-biorefineries, and heavy metal cleanup, this guide is a vital resource for researchers in phycology, bioengineering, environmental science, and nutrition seeking eco-friendly energy and product innovations.
Applied Biotechnology and Bioinformatics: Agriculture, Pharmaceutical Research and Environment
Applied Biotechnology and Bioinformatics: Agriculture, Pharmaceutical Research and Environment is a comprehensive reference exploring the latest technologies and multidisciplinary advances in biotechnology and bioinformatics. Covering applications in agriculture, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, and environmental management, the book highlights gene editing, drug development, crop improvement, and bioremediation. It emphasizes the crucial role of bioinformatics in analyzing complex biological data for innovation in disease management, sustainable agriculture, and clean energy. Ideal for researchers and professionals in biotechnology, bioinformatics, and related fields, this book provides practical insights into next-generation solutions for real-world challenges.
Stand Out with Your Scientific Poster: A Step by Step Approach
This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to making a scientific poster that has real impact. Are you a researcher who struggles when it comes to creating scientific posters? Or do you simply want to get better at it? This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to making a poster that has real impact to ensure you stand out from the crowd at your next poster fair. A practical guide that gives you answers to questions like: what to put on a poster (and mainly: what not to)? How do you come up with a title that immediately grabs people's attention? What are the best images to use? How many words can you include on your poster? And much, much more... Everything you need to get started step-by-step and quickly achieve the best result.
Our Future Is Biotech: A Plain English Guide to the Next Tech Revolution
“Our Future is Biotech” posits biotechnology as the next revolutionary industry, poised to address humanity’s most pressing biological challenges. The book highlights biotech’s potential to solve major health issues, enhance quality of life, and tackle environmental problems. It showcases the industry’s achievements in developing breakthrough treatments and emphasizes its future impact on various aspects of human existence. The authors aim to raise awareness about biotech’s progress and opportunities, positioning it as the successor to the tech revolution in driving human advancement and offering potential for investment.
DNA Logic Design: Computing with DNA
DNA computing uses DNA strands to solve computational problems, storing information in bases A, T, C, and G instead of binary 1s and 0s. This approach offers advantages like dense data storage, parallel computation, and energy efficiency. The book “DNA Logic Design: Computing with DNA” explores this field, covering basics, fundamental operations, and translating various logical designs into DNA computing. It discusses arithmetic and combinational circuits, sequential circuits, memory devices, programmable logic devices, and nano processors. The book also includes heat and speed calculation techniques, providing a comprehensive overview of this innovative intersection between biology and computer science.
Bioresources and Bioprocess in Biotechnology for a Sustainable Future
This volume reviews achievements in bioprocess and biosystems engineering, biosynthesis, food, agriculture, and biotechnology-related issues. Considering the fact that biological alternatives can replace harmful chemical products in order to maintain ecosystems for a sustainable future, the book covers the role of biotechnology in industrial products, environmental remediation, and agriculture biotechnology, with updated research and case studies.
Trends in Plant Biotechnology
This book offers a comprehensive overview of plant biotechnology advancements, focusing on molecular biology techniques that enhance conventional breeding methods. It explores tools for developing resilient and biofortified plants, and covers various aspects of secondary metabolite production in medicinal plants. The text delves into topics such as pathway engineering, transformation, elicitation, and bioreactor scaling. It also addresses often-overlooked factors in developing stress-tolerant plants and specialized plant products. This resource serves as an up-to-date reference for researchers, students, and professionals in agriculture and pharmaceuticals, providing valuable insights into modern plant biotechnology applications.
Algal Biotechnology: Current Trends, Challenges and Future Prospects for a Sustainable Environment
This comprehensive book explores the multifaceted world of microalgae and algal biotechnology. It covers key topics such as bioremediation, nanotechnology applications, and the use of algae as biofertilizers and sources of bioactive compounds. The text delves into algal-omics, large-scale bioprocesses, and environmental impacts. It highlights algae's potential in sustainable practices, including bioplastic production and phycoremediation. The book addresses cultivation challenges and is tailored for graduate students and researchers in fields like biotechnology, renewable energy, and environmental science.
Medicinal Plants: Biodiversity, Biotechnology and Conservation
This comprehensive volume explores the current status, sustainable use, and conservation of endangered medicinal plants. It covers conventional and biotechnological approaches to biodiversity preservation, addressing the decline in plant diversity due to human activities and environmental factors. The book provides in-depth reviews on ecology, species diversity, and genetic diversity, as well as assessments of threats to medicinal plants. It also discusses advancements in conservation research and future perspectives. With contributions from recognized scientists, this 25-chapter work is valuable for students, researchers, policymakers, and industries involved in medicinal plant research and biodiversity conservation.
Superconvergence: How the Genetics, Biotech, and AI Revolutions Will Transform Our Lives, Work, and World
In "Superconvergence," futurist Jamie Metzl explores the transformative impact of emerging technologies like AI, genome sequencing, and gene editing on our world. Metzl argues that these rapidly advancing and interconnected technologies have immense potential to improve lives but also pose significant risks. He highlights the critical challenge of our time: the gap between our exponentially growing technological capabilities and our limited ability to understand and manage their implications. Metzl's interdisciplinary approach offers a unique perspective on our technological future, providing readers with a comprehensive overview of the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.
Mutant Ecologies: Manufacturing Life in the Age of Genomic Capital
Mutant Ecologies explores how capitalism is reshaping life through advancements in genomic science and biotechnology. The book maps the changing landscapes of capital accumulation driven by innovations like CRISPR crops, genetically modified animals, and humanized organisms. These developments, emerging from corporate and academic labs, aim to enhance capital flows across sectors such as agriculture and pharmaceuticals. While hailed as a new epoch in life sciences, the authors argue these technologies perpetuate capitalist competition and exploitation. Capitalism now designs the internal metabolism of living organisms, driving a biological revolution that impacts global ecosystems and everyday life.
The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race
Walter Isaacson's book chronicles Jennifer Doudna's journey from a curious sixth-grader to a Nobel Prize-winning scientist who co-discovered CRISPR, a revolutionary gene-editing tool. Despite discouragement, Doudna pursued her passion for understanding nature and making groundbreaking discoveries. The book explores the intense competition in scientific research and the moral implications of CRISPR technology. Isaacson highlights how this innovation marks the beginning of a life-science revolution, potentially allowing us to cure diseases, create vaccines, and even enhance human traits. The author also delves into the ethical questions surrounding these advancements, making it a compelling read about science and its impact on society.
Building Backwards to Biotech: The Power of Entrepreneurship to Drive Cutting-Edge Science to Market
"Building Backwards to Biotech" by Stephanie A. Wisner demystifies the process of creating successful biotechnology startups. Wisner introduces the concept of "Building Backwards," a strategy that increases the likelihood of success, guides capital raising, strengthens clinical and scientific strategies, and mitigates risks from the outset. The book explains how medicines and vaccines enter the market, why they're expensive, and how biotech startups can thrive. Wisner emphasizes the potential of entrepreneurship to drive cutting-edge science to market, ultimately saving and enriching lives by addressing previously untreatable diseases. This guide aims to make biotech entrepreneurship more accessible to those interested in bringing innovative medical solutions to the world.
Breaking Through: My Life in Science
Katalin Karikó's memoir "Breaking Through" chronicles her remarkable journey from a humble upbringing in communist Hungary to becoming a Nobel Prize-winning biochemist. Despite facing numerous obstacles, including derision from colleagues and threats of deportation, Karikó persevered in her research on messenger RNA. Her unwavering belief in mRNA's potential led to the development of COVID-19 vaccines, saving millions of lives. The book highlights Karikó's determination, resilience, and dedication to science in the face of adversity. It serves as an inspiration and a testament to the power of perseverance in scientific research, while also critiquing the culture of prestige and privilege in academia.
Editing Humanity: The CRISPR Revolution and the New Era of Genome Editing
Kevin Davies' "Editing Humanity" explores the revolutionary gene-editing technology CRISPR, which allows scientists to modify DNA with unprecedented precision. The book delves into CRISPR's potential to eradicate hereditary diseases and disabilities, while also addressing the ethical concerns and risks of misuse. Davies provides an engaging narrative that follows scientists at the forefront of CRISPR research and patients whose lives could be transformed by this breakthrough. He examines the far-reaching implications of this technology, from the controversial "CRISPR babies" in China to its potential impact on future generations.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
This encyclopedia explores the role of theories in STEM disciplines, examining how they shape understanding and learning in these fields. It delves into the construction, evolution, and significance of theories, highlighting their importance in unlocking the mysteries of the world. The work features over 200 expert-authored articles, organized thematically with a Reader's Guide. Each entry includes further readings, cross-references, and a Resource Guide listing key books, journals, associations, and websites. This comprehensive reference provides valuable insights into the theoretical foundations of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Being Human in STEM: Partnering with Students to Shape Inclusive Practices and Communities
This book presents the Being Human in STEM Initiative (HSTEM), a model for creating inclusive environments in undergraduate STEM education. Born from student protests at Amherst College, HSTEM challenges assumptions about who belongs in STEM fields. The authors provide a framework for developing HSTEM courses, evaluating inclusive change initiatives, and adapting the model to various institutions. The book offers strategies for making any course more inclusive through active listening, validation, and reflective practice. It emphasizes the importance of institutional culture shifts and provides resources for educators to implement these changes. Each chapter includes reflective questions and practical exercises to foster inclusivity in STEM classrooms and laboratories.